Ratings based on 6,541 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls Mn

Great hotel in a very nice location!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The Dana Inn was a very central location to the fun San Diego sites-my favorite part was the pool and the Bay View-also nice and quiet at night. I especially enjoyed sitting in the outdoor restaurant area at the fire pit tables-great experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a "resort style" motel.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This hotel has very small rooms. If you are on the 2nd floor, note there are no elevators for your heavy luggage. The location is near to Mission/PB and Sea World.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
1st impression was not all that good. Tight rooms, older facility, but the people and the atmosphere really grow on you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, Helpful Staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, courtesy.
Cons: Clarify which rooms have a view and/or veranda included in the price.
Location: Central location. We rented bikes and toured Ocean Beach, Mission Beach, and Pacific Beach. It could not have been more convenient!
The hotel was clean and quiet. The weekend buffet was tasty. I had thought we'd have a better chance at a room with a view but alas, we had no veranda or otherwise. Luckily, we were out enjoying the sites most of the day. We put the hot tub and pool to good use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Add resort charge to the rate for the real cost!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: This is a great location close to Sea World and the beach.
Cons: There should be no extra charge for Wifi and parking. Pillows and mattress should be less poofy.
Location: Surfing was a 5 minute drive. Sea World is a 2 minute drive. There is a boardwalk and many restaurants within five minutes drive.
I'm not sure if its Expedia or the resort but this is the second time I've been mislead by a hotel description on Expedia. When reviewing this resort listing on Expedia the quoted rate does not include the mandatory resort fee, which causes the rate to appear favorably compared to the other hotels in the area. These kinds of tricks are insulting and should warrant a much lower rating, but I'm not sure that it is the resort which is at fault. Overall, we found the room quality and comfort average. My son and I neither slept well in our beds. Only some of the vending machines worked. The pool and hot tub were convienient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Very nice family hotel, great location!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
My family (2 kids- 10 & 7 yrs) visited San Diego for 1st time for spring break. Hotel was great, from the staff to the grounds, the heated pools w/kids movies every night. The rooms are a little small and carpet needs updating but the location is wonderful, beautiful bay, off the beaten path but still close to everything. We would definately stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mission Bay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable; got coupons for a complimentary breakfast, which was very good -- a real breakfast.
Nice place on Mission Bay, convenient to many of San Diego's attractions and activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort in a convenient location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Dana. Besides being in a very convenient location, the resort itself added to our vacation. We stayed in a room that overlooked the bay and it was beautiful. Our room was cleaned spotless every day, and the bed was very comfortable. The pools were always clean and at a great temperature. The staff was not only friendly but went out of their way to help in any way they could. I would highly recommend this resort, and we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Good location and clean hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel was great. Bed was not very comfortable. Great running/walking trail just outside hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Excellent location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Just enjoyed the location of the Dana close to seaworld, Belmont park and the Beach all favorable location near the hotel as well as the bay behind the hotel A 5⭐️hotel, my family and I will be to this hotel once again.