Ratings based on 2,939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very nice and helpful. The very spacious lobby and adjoining public rooms are just beautiful. There are some old artefacts on display in the adjacent area with a great display of old area photographs. Rooms are very comfortable. Macy's department store is a couple of blocks away, with the trolley stop a couple of blocks away. The Hop on Hop off bus stop just around the corner.
Cons: Everything was just fine. We were very happy with the location - just 2 blocks from the Embarcadero.
Location: Great location. Heaps of restaurants and Macy's nearby. Gaslamp is a great area to stay in. Trolley bus stop just and Hop on Hop off close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful, small alternative

Posted Nov 13, 2016
If you're staying in San Diego for a scientific meeting, like me, the big hotels are often the draw: its where the meeting is, large facilities and a very busy, impersonal atmosphere. The Horton Grand is a beautiful Victorian Hotel just a couple of blocks away from the main venues: convention center, Convention hotels, but in a cool, accessible part of the gaslamp district. The rooms are loaded with antiques, ceiling fans, old-style water closets and gas fireplace that actually work. The dining room, food, service was spectacular. The only drawback is that there is no exercise facility, but you're in San Diego, so go for a run or stroll around the lovely town and get some exercise that way. Oh, a non-trivial aside is that the price of the hotel was less than 1/2 of the conference hotel, and I enjoyed it to much more! Please put the Horton Grand on your "get away from sterile huge hotels to see some of the town and still be close to everything" list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Great location, cozy room for 2BD with nice fireplace, great staff, nice indoor patio to chill.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Excellent Stay!!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: I was very pleased from the moment I walked in. The evening front desk gentleman was friendly and very helpful. On my way to my room I noticed the hallways where well lit and very clean, a contrast to many other places I've stayed. The room was also clean and the bed comfortable. A well kept charming hotel with some old style character.
Cons: The bathroom was a little on the small side but it was just me so no problem.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the convention center and many different types of restaurants and entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
We walked to all restaurants as they were about 50 to choose from within 3 blocks. Area is quiet in daytime and very hip st night. Hotel beautifully adorned with Victorian furnishings. Highly recommend the Horton.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I loved that the restaurants is walking distance

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not being quiet p
Location: Love the location
Love the room space the restroom love the vintage look
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gran hotel, muy bonito, limpio y cómodo

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Hay restaurantes, bares, clubes, muchas opciones para escoger
Está en una zona muy buena del centro de San Diego, el hotel está en muy buenas condiciones, muy bonito y cómodo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Center of San Diego

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Stayed for 3 days for a conference. Had a wonderful experience, great staff, large room, perfect location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Lobby, antique furnishings

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, and affordable! The whole hotel was filled with antique furnishings that were fascinating to look at1
Cons: Nothing! We enjoyed everything about this hotel . Who wouldn't like a beautiful hotel within walking distance to all the charm of San Diego!
Location: Downtown San Diego, shops, restaurants, bars, and the great marina.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gaslamp Gem

Posted Nov 3, 2016
My daughter and I stayed at the Horton because the price was right, the awesome Gaslamp district food, and most importantly, it was close enough to tour the local colleges. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!!