Ratings based on 3,133 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The beds are so comfy and comfortable.
Cons: Customer service, the lady attending me was being rude and it was my first time checking in to a hotel and was asking questions about the process.
Location: Bars, eating ares, and stores.
It's in a great location surrounded in the end of the bars, eating areas, and stores. My only concern was during the weekends the hotel is next to a club and it's loud but if you are out partying it shouldn't matter lol
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Disappointing for a 4-Star Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything.
The architecture was awesome but the hotel itself, including the room was beyond disappointing - I have no idea how it's ranked a 4-star hotel. Everything inside is extremely old, even the chair in the room looked like it had been there, uncleaned, for 100 years. Front desk staff wasn't impressively nice, but not terrible. I made my booking more than three months in advance and my room had a view of the alley way, including the wall of the next building which looked like it was within arms reach. Overall, would never recommend this hotel to anyone - so many better options in Gaslamp. Not to mention the valet scratched my car and took responsibility for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

location is wonderful

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We rented the suite with a kitchenette. While it had forks and knives, it had no plates and wine corkscrew. When we asked for some, we were told we had to buy that ourselves. Staff was very non helpful. We rented bicycles and asked for a spot to leave them overnight. We were told we could not bring them to the hotel. The inside courtyard which is featured on their website had no tables and chairs in. For the price we paid, it was very disappointing. We are going to San Diego again next next year but will definitively not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place for a downtown stay

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: I liked the historical atmosphere. It felt like a luxury hotel at an affordable price
Cons: The ice machine was a bit far from our room
Location: It is in the gas lamp district, but we were mainly there for the harbor attractions such as the USS Midway and dinner on the harbor.
It was a great stay. It was close to everything we wanted to do in downtown, and the staff was very accommodating. My wife and I slept very soundly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel close to convention center

Posted Mar 23, 2017
the location is close to convention center. the bath room is small, and the smell is not fresh inside the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Excellent service. We showed up at 9am and we're offered a room right away due to Expedia gold status. Hotel is a historical site with many historical features, like windows were original in our room, bathroom, furniture. Everything looks updated and fresh and clean. Loved the service. Breakfast was every good-eggs Benedict and freshly squared orange juice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great in every way.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Rooms with high ceilings and appointed with old world charm and comfort, friendly staff, and a great restaurant. There's no good reason to stay at a national chain when a gem like this is available!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, Mi.

Great location.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfortable bed.
Cons: WiFi service
Location: Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Petco Park is also nearby.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Horton Grand. The location was perfect for my needs and was right on the border of the Gaslamp Quarter. The only drawback was that the WiFi internet service was intermittent at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great location. Nice staff.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Close to beaches. Walking distance to great restaurants. Room could use upgrades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Loved this place!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
With all the ghost stories I read about, I was a little scared to be staying 3 nights alone. But that soon passed once I walked in. It's a beautiful hotel and the rooms are great! A balcony to wake up to, and a gas fireplace for the evening. Lots of pubs and restaurants, I had the time of my life! I will be back.