Ratings based on 2,751 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Nice historic hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Great location. Very quiet during the week. Rooms were very clean. Good a/c.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the a/c. We hope you come back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente

Horton in the Gas Lamp

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The Horton is a beautiful historic hotel in the heart of the Gas Lamp, I was able to walk to various restaurants and bars in the area..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We hope you come and visit soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. An easy walk to the marina and a short ride to Balboa Park. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Marie, thank you for the great review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you come visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Hotel close to Gaslamp District

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful antique room
Location: Seaport Village, Gaslamp District, Little Italy
Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, excellent location in walking distance to Seaport Village, Gaslamp District, and Little Italy (for a bit of a walk). Elevators are a little slow because the building is old, but just take the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. we hope you come back and visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Business trip

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Centrally located. Many dining and entertainment options. Walkable.
Cons: They satisfied all my needs.
Location: Located in the Gaslamp district. Walkable, lots of dining choices.
Needed three rooms for a one night business trip. Price was reasonable and the hotel is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and visit soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Old, out of date hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Lobby had character and a great location to everything.
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms and above and below rooms need to be improved. Get curtains that block out the light. Fix all air conditioners.
Location: Great location to ball park and all bars and restaurants.
Very noisy from room to room, heard people above walking around all night and the water from shower and toilet multiple times throughout the night. Our air conditioning didn't work and the guy came twice to fix and it broke again 5 minutes after he left each time. Had to sleep in 80+ degree weather first night as no other rooms available. Finally got a new room second night. Both rooms had a funny or mildew smell to them although they were very clean. Also heard everyone going home from bars after last call. Hotel does not hide sound well and was old and broken down. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradable Hotel Histórico

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Con ambiente de tradición, esmerado servicio de calidad, un hotel del pasado con todas las comodidades del presente.
Cons: Tal vez los elevadores y algunos pisos que crujen, pero es parte del ambiente de historia y leyenda.
Location: Al cruzar la calle un pequeño centro de yoga, a unos pasos tiendas de todo tipo y muy cerca animados bares, restaurantes y teatros.
Muy cómodo hotel histórico cerca del muelle turístico, bares y restaurantes. Estadio de beisbol y mucho más en el centro de San Diego. Habitación con sábanas suaves, amplio y limpio baño. Cada área del hotel parece contar algo del pasado.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Gracias por estar con nosotros, estamos tan contentos de ver que haya disfrutado de su estancia con nosotros. Esperamos que visite de nuevo pronto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Splendid hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Attended here for a large conference at a hotel by the convention center. The Horton's peace and style made a welcome break for the rare hours I wasn't at the conference. Perched on the edge of old town, it was a joy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the different areas of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of great restaurants and ball park

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Charming, close to train, restaurants and ball park
Location: Talking train to SDSU was easy and convenient
Check in women less than friendly. Horton theater is charming and enjoyed the musical.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry to hear about the check in. We will look int what happen with that. WE hope you join us again soon and see that this is not typical check in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The location is perfect ! The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Nick F Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, we hope you come back soon.