Ratings based on 3,173 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Santa Margarita Ca.

A little History lesson in Gaslamp.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: We really liked the old pictures and decor it was truly an history lesson on early 1900's San Diego.
Cons: Front desk and Dining Room employees are not the best trained when it comes to customer service, the two gentleman running Valet were awesome !
Location: shopping, eating, drinking, partying.
We loved this hotel despite its small room nature, everything we needed to be comfortable was provided and how could you not be happy when you are right in the middle of Gaslamp ? The Hotel Dining Room staff could use some training but overall we really enjoyed our stay in this very historic 1880's era hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about some of the staff issues and will be addressing that with their managers.We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The old shines again

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The historic grandness.
The historic appearance of the interior was simply amazing. The hotel was originally built in something like 1885. It was upgraded in the 1980's and they did a wonderful job. You get the feel of going back in history without the expected deterioration. It all looked great. And then the plumbing in the rooms was modern and nicely integrated with the historic rest of the room. The air conditioning worked in the room worked great but was invisible unlike the usual hotel air conditioner or heater.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
John, Thank you for taking the time to write and great review about the hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed all the different parts of our hotel. We hope you get some time to come see us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo, UT

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
High value antique hotel with renovated rooms/bathrooms. Within walking distance to everything downtown, including the train to get anywhere else you'd want to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Stephanie, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see you enjoyed the renovations we have done. Please come back and see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Best location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Best location, such a cute room and hotel would definitely stay here again, what a unique fun experience and the staff was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Emily, We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and the decor. It makes us smile when we see guest enjoyed the staff. We hope you can come visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Never Needed to Drive

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: 19th century charm and style, local history and impressive courtyard. High ceilings in guest rooms, very accommodating. Nice folks working valet!
So much going on in the Gaslamp District. Everything in walking distance, even the Midway Museum if you don't mind a longer stroll. Seaport Village, air races, it was terrific.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Chet, Thank you for the great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and see us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hidden treasure in downtown San Diego

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The front desk staff was extremely helpful and frjiendly. The hotel itself was a nice old victorian style building. The old style commode in the bathroom was an interesting surprise. This is close to the trolley line, which was pretty convenient for me. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how much you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. We hope you get some time to come back soon and enjoy some more time with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

really nice hotel and good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Lovely end to a great weekend, really nice, quirky hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, we are so glad we could help end your weekend on a high note. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely coming back

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel because everything is walking distance and close by. There's so many bars and restaurants close by to eat and drink at. The hotel staff was friendly and check in was very quick. I chose this hotel to celebrate my birthday and I'm very glad I made that decision. The room was very spacious. I would recommend staying in the grand room. Would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, We are so glad to see you enjoyed our location and our staff. Happy Birthday! We feel so lucky you spent it with us. We hope to see you next you for another birthday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Our room was wonderful. The location was perfect, once we found a spot for the car, we didn't get back into it for the rest of the weekend. We walked to seaport, little italy, a Ralph's nearby, etc. The view from our balcony was amazing, so we spent most of our time in the room out there. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon and take another vacation with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The beds are so comfy and comfortable.
Cons: Customer service, the lady attending me was being rude and it was my first time checking in to a hotel and was asking questions about the process.
Location: Bars, eating ares, and stores.
It's in a great location surrounded in the end of the bars, eating areas, and stores. My only concern was during the weekends the hotel is next to a club and it's loud but if you are out partying it shouldn't matter lol
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by NFulton, Hotel Management
Cindy, We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the check in and will speak with them regarding this. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.