Ratings based on 2,735 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Old, out of date hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Lobby had character and a great location to everything.
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms and above and below rooms need to be improved. Get curtains that block out the light. Fix all air conditioners.
Location: Great location to ball park and all bars and restaurants.
Very noisy from room to room, heard people above walking around all night and the water from shower and toilet multiple times throughout the night. Our air conditioning didn't work and the guy came twice to fix and it broke again 5 minutes after he left each time. Had to sleep in 80+ degree weather first night as no other rooms available. Finally got a new room second night. Both rooms had a funny or mildew smell to them although they were very clean. Also heard everyone going home from bars after last call. Hotel does not hide sound well and was old and broken down. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradable Hotel Histórico

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Con ambiente de tradición, esmerado servicio de calidad, un hotel del pasado con todas las comodidades del presente.
Cons: Tal vez los elevadores y algunos pisos que crujen, pero es parte del ambiente de historia y leyenda.
Location: Al cruzar la calle un pequeño centro de yoga, a unos pasos tiendas de todo tipo y muy cerca animados bares, restaurantes y teatros.
Muy cómodo hotel histórico cerca del muelle turístico, bares y restaurantes. Estadio de beisbol y mucho más en el centro de San Diego. Habitación con sábanas suaves, amplio y limpio baño. Cada área del hotel parece contar algo del pasado.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Splendid hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Attended here for a large conference at a hotel by the convention center. The Horton's peace and style made a welcome break for the rare hours I wasn't at the conference. Perched on the edge of old town, it was a joy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of great restaurants and ball park

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Charming, close to train, restaurants and ball park
Location: Talking train to SDSU was easy and convenient
Check in women less than friendly. Horton theater is charming and enjoyed the musical.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The location is perfect ! The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel in the heart of the gaslamp

Posted Jul 11, 2016
I really liked this hotel. It was old but in great condition for an old hotel. I had a 2 queen room so it was very spacious. The woman I checked in with could have been nicer and more welcoming, but whatever. Parking was $38/night which seems steep. All in all, I liked the hotel and it's very convenient and within walking distance to everything in the Gaslamp. If you don't care about a modern hotel, I highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The design and the friendliness was great! Also the location.
Cons: New beds, and better room service.
Location: At the edge of Gaslamp it is close to great restaurants, nightlife, shopping at seaport village, Petco stadium and the convention center.
The hotel was beautiful and the staff fantastic. The bed is super lumpy and slanted so by back was sore in the morning but the charm of the place was worth it. The room service for breakfast was terrible or I would have given 5 stars! We ordered two omelet breakfasts, one omelet had shrimp but that was not in the ingredient list, they didn't give the potatoes with one of the omelets, completely forgot the toast for both and i requested a carafe of coffee....but got two cups of coffee without cream. Unfortunately when i told the front desk they said they would notify the staff but never offered to remove any charge. For spending so much for two nights i expected a bit more courtesy on that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Every thing there was not in noise from kids

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Only thing parking just cost to much on the parking I like the wooding toilets that was different
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Hotel should have self park parking for their guests, I had to pay additionally for valet parking.... That was very inconvenient for me
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Very clean. Attentive service. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Parking cost is excessive.Bar prices out of control.
Overall very nice. Great location. Balcony great for breakfast