Ratings based on 1,990 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Just too noisy...

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Bed
Cons: Sound insulation
Location: Cute
A bit run down, which is reflected on the price. Bed comfy, but main problem is NOISE: from corridoor, staff moving furniture ( giant chess pieces) outside, people from above....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Outstanding atmosphere.

Posted May 24, 2016
Hotel with a great story to tell. Fantastic restaurant and bar. Friendly, helpful and professional service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canton, Ohio

Great charm, history and personnel.

Posted May 24, 2016
Awesome, Retro poolside fashion show on Sunday afternoon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nagoya, Japan

For the nostalgic!

Posted May 14, 2016
Beautiful in a location easily accessible by public transportations. The pool was amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clovis, Ca

Retro hotel with lots of character

Posted May 7, 2016
This hotel is very unique and definitely reminds you of old Hollywood. The decor is very cool and interesting and seems like a nice place to hang out and have fun. We came with a toddler so we were in town to see SeaWorld, the zoo, etc. The hotel still served our purpose but it might be better for those traveling without small children. The room was fairly small and with two queens there was not much room left. We loved the fridge and microwave, and they even gave us a pack n play style bed for our little one to sleep in. Here is an area where there is some room for improvement as the bottoms insert was just very hard cardboard and as soon as I tried to place my baby down in it to sleep she was so uncomfortable she would scream. Other than that, the location is great, the staff is nice and helpful, and we always felt safe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great nostalgic hotel!!

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Very nicely updated rooms while keeping that 1950's feel around the hotel!
Cons: The food in Hope 46 restaurant was very good but the service was slow every day, regardless of the number of guests.
Had a great stay here! When you walk in, you feel like you have stepped back into the early '50's and the era of Hollywood glamour and fun!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
We stay at The Lafayette twice a year. The hotel is clean and has what we need. The staff is very accomodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Hollywood with memorabilia and period music

Posted May 2, 2016
Staff was helpful and friendly. We loved the Red Fox lounge, live jazz and old world decor. Drinks were strong and service friendly. Morning coffee was nice in the lobby. Very close to Balboa park and everything we wanted to do. Secure garage was a nice feature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Very old style glamour hotel. Loved it!

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: I liked the ambiance of the hotel
Cons: update the bathrooms
The staff was very accommodating to our needs. I was on crutches, so they moved us to a first level room by the pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but nice

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Built in the 40's but has been remodeled. Decent size room, small bathrooms. Good restaurant and fun game courtyard with chess/checkers. We were there 2 days. First day the pool was filled with 20 something's enjoying drinks and the sun. Second day was families, which was as we were traveling with our son. We had a 2 room suite, our sons room had a bit of road noise. Overall good hotel for the price.