Ratings based on 2,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great hotel up in mid city, great pool and friendly helpful staff. Easy transport links to downtown & fashion city. Great restaurants across the road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

A few days in San Diego

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The old school charm and hotel staff were great.
Cons: The air conditioner in our room was very noisy.
Location: There was not a whole lot near by, but we were able to get around San Diego easily.
We stayed at The Lafayette for a few days to end our vacation down the Pacific Coast Highway. While the Lafayette is not in the Gaslamp district, it was easy to get around from there. We were able to walk to the zoo and Uber everywhere else for around $5.00 a trip. The Lafayette was clean and had adorable decor in the lobby area. The room and bathroom were small, but they were plenty of room for us. Parking was plentiful, and the staff was always helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Quick visit to San Diego

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Nice room with gorgeous shared spaces - lobby, pool, etc. Pool area sells memberships so it was a bit of a party scene.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torrance, ca

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: very unique in its character, good job with the interiors, the kids loved the giant board game figurines and checkers in the lobby.
Cons: pleaaaaase !!! wipe the bathroom floors ! also, the Carpet might need a good shampooing, maybe you should also include a free light breakfast.
Location: very close to Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, located in the Downtown area. Location, location, location.
location is everything, unfortunately the infrastructure per se is what it is, old, and prices are not going down. however you can see why this hotel is sought after, given the unique and unusual character of it, something college kids, thirty year olds and up will definitely enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Everything was great the staff were really friendly n very nice made our stay much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hessen

Romantisches Hotel aber grauenhafter Pool/Lärm

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Nur das freundliche und hilfsbereite Personal.
Cons: Hinweis auf Partyhotel geben und die Wahrheit über den Pool schreiben!
Location: Wie in USA üblich, man muss mit dem Auto fahren, aber es ließ sich gut im Dennys (5 min. Fußweg) frühstücken.
Schon beim Einchecken bekamen wir den ersten Schreck. Hochzeitsgesellschaft! Man verstand kein Wort in der Rezeption. Das Personal war sehr nett und wir erhielten auch ein Upgrade auf eine Familiensuite, obwohl wir Standard Doppelzimmer gebucht hatten. Der zweite Schreck kam abends, als eine Poolparty stattfand. Wir erfuhren später, dass in diesem Hotel Samstags, Sonntags und Montags Poolparties gefeiert werden. Dementsprechend war auch sehr viel Lärm bis spät abends zu hören. Wir hatten kein Frühstück im Zimmerpreis und sind deshalb außerhalb ins Dennys frühstücken gegangen, da die Preise im Hotel sehr hoch waren. Lächerlich fanden wir ebenfalls, dass wir für einen Vermuth auf Eis, 2 USD extra für das Eis zahlen mussten! Der Pool, der zum Tagespreis von 20 USD auch öffentlich zugänglich war, war viel zu klein und stank extrem nach Chlor. Es gab eine kleine Betonfläche um den Pool, wo sich Liegen befanden, aber auch gleichzeitig die Terassenfläche der Zimmer. Wir hatten unser Zimmer im Nebengebäude, aber mit Sicht auf den Pool und bei dem Partylärm empfand man die Musikanlage direkt unter der Zimmertür. Alle Angestellten waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit, auch die Zimmer wurden täglich hergerichtet mit frischen Handtüchern. Hier ein klares Plus, ansonsten, alles in allem sehr enttäuschende Anlage. Für Kinder und Leute, die auch etwas Ruhe am Pool genießen wollen, gänzlich ungeeignet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Loved this unique hotel, clean and comfy.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Old school feel. The pool was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Underground parking included.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: Good location close to gaslamp district, balboa park, stadium.
Loved the pool, felt like a resort. Loved the unique old school feel. Great decor and lobby with artifacts from yesteryears. The rooms themselves are very clean and beds are comfy. The bathroom needs updating but was clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Cockroach Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: PEST control and updating the carpet and bathrooms.
When we got there a wedding photo shoot was being taken on the front steps and had to circle the building several times to find meter parking to go check in. The front desk employees were friendly enough. After unloading our luggage we were confused how to get to our room. Housekeeping walked us there, very nice gals, but lead us through the pool area (with our three children) that smelled like someone was smoking weed. Only one of our room keys worked, so we had trouble getting into our room at first... should have taken it as sign. The carpets felt dirty, the bathrooms smelled musty and I questioned the cleanliness of my room. We had people outside our room partying all night and chatting by our windows. I woke up in the morning and gave my children their breakfast in our FAMILY suite room only to step on a COCKROACH with my barefoot. I wanted to leave right away. The other family I traveled with found a cockroach in their tub. We immediately went to the front desk to tell them. They offered us another room on the other end, which the family I traveled with was on the other end... were they going to switch us? The front desk seemed like this was nothing new. When we asked they said it is common in their rooms by the pool, the FAMILY suites, to have cockroaches. This is by NO means a family oriented place and should be considered a 21+ establishment and they need to replace carpeting, update bathrooms and seek pest control.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel has cockroaches

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Stayed one night and woke up to cockroaches in my room. It's definitely a party hotel, had people outside my room all night talking and drinking. If you are looking to party, yeah it's the place to be. But not for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Pretty hotel, nice big room
Cons: Communication. if we'd been told the hotel was not family friendly in the first place, we would have gone elsewhere.
Location: Location is not nice. But it didn't matter as we had a car.
The Lafayette hotel was a really nice looking hotel, but the parties during the day were just so loud. We were not warned about this, so from midday to 5pm our kids could not use the pool. It could be noisy during the night, mainly due to people coming home late (thankfully no late parties at the hotel). Wifi was appalling, don't expect to use it for more than 1 minute (or less) before it drops out. Very frustrating. Also one night there was a wedding and we couldn't access reception, had to walk around the hotel. We were never told of what was going on at the hotel, so it was a very frustrating 4 days.