Ratings based on 2,526 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Super friendly staff. Our stay was really pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1940's hotel -- many great pictures to look at. A

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Ambience.
Cons: NA
Location: NA
Very comfortable, old-time rooms. But neat and clean and swimming pool area was excellent. Couldn't do any ratings on the review, because I couldn't bring them up. Sorry.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Beautiful, classic, and modern vintage

Posted Mar 26, 2017
A group of friends and I came for spring break and it was the perfect place to relax and not far from nightlife! Such a cute hotel and would definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Nice room, restaurants and amenities. Great location convenient to Balboa Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whistler BC

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Loved it!! Great staff, amazing lobby, large rooms and a pool to die for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Bed was fine, although it was a bit squeaky when trying to get comfortable. Shower was great. Everything was clean. There were random light switches that didn't belong to lights, that was odd. Always something happening for entertainment here-would have been nice if the hotel provided an event list. There was a beer tasting event happening one night while I was there that I had no idea about until it was ending. Location is further from coast and happening area, but there is some things to do around hotel. It's less than two miles to zoo and an easy walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Shabby Chic great deal

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I loved the view of the pool from our room. The pools was heated and i played the giant checkers in the morning while drinking the lobby coffee. I had a great 1 night stay. Great rate and not in a bad location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: alcohol and drunks
Location: homeless people evrywhere
checked into hotel nothing but people drinking and parting.. tried to sleep drunk people fighting loud seemed like it was on our balcony. all night till 2 am . finally got to sleep around 3 am had to get up at 6am lousy place unless your going to party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay area, California

Nice hotel in a central location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: comfortable, location
Cons: maintenance
Location: close to restaurants
A nice hotel with a nice restaurant/bar and very nice pool. The room was a little small for the 2 queen size beds in it, and the shower was dripping. Otherwise it was very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Loud party hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The pictures of the rooms when booking are not recent, our room was run down, loud and nothing like the pictures. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurants are ok but not worth the money. The pool is very nice but unless you get up at the crack of Dawn there is nowhere to sit. Overall I felt this hotel with the exception of the amazing staff was was sub par at best.