Ratings based on 1,303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The Hotel staff is always busy on the phone, so it is hard to get any information from them. Don t count on the WiFi as the signal is really unstable and weak. The location is not great as you are far from any attraction San Diego has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Good location, not great for families

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: separate kids suite, location
Cons: warnings about the adult pool parties and room maintenance.
Location: great location, close to zoo and downtown.
We booked this hotel because of the separate kids room and while it was great to shut the door on the kids at night- and give them their own bathroom, the hotel atmosphere was not very kid friendly. There was rowdy pool parties all day everyday (they did respect a quiet time after 9ish though.) The rooms were fairly clean but were in disrepair, our safe didn't work and the bathroom door wouldn't close. The location in town was great and easy to get around from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really funky hotel with a personality.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
We only stayed 1 night as a stop over so didn't really notice the proximity to anything. Great party vibe by the pool and restaurant but didn't hear any loud noise from our room (might want to request some distance from pool to guarantee quiet). The 3 bedroom family room is actually a small house, loads of room and very clean. Really happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Great amenities. Room could have been a little cleaner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Too Much Noise/Too many Parties

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Cons: Red Flag warning that Pool Parties can be intense and to check the schedule of events before you book, especially the Pool Side Rooms.
Rented a Pool Side Room, months in advance, for August 13th to August 17th. Thought we were gonna sit outside our room and enjoy the pool. We knew that the Lafayette had "pool parties" as we had stayed a year ago in Suzy Suite with family and, also, had stayed in a Pool Side @ Christmas time; but didn't expect the parties to be as "intense" as they were this time. Didn't expect event attendees to take over the sitting area in the landing of our Pool Side Room doors. Saturday afternoon party the Bass was maxed out, to the extent that Security was using a sound meter through-out the party and speakers were being adjusted to keep decibels within allowed limit. Pool and pool ladders were packed with people partying, not swimming. Too many people. Too much noise. Really shouldn't have to leave your hotel to escape from all of the noise and partying, but that's what we did. I really feel that advising hotel guests to use the pool facilities before and after the parties really defeats the purpose of having a pool side room so that one can enjoy the pool. Especially, when you go out to eat and when you get back, there's a new party (Dive-In Movie this time) in full swing. By 8 p.m. Saturday evening we had had enough of the noise and of the people right outside of our doors, especially when there was another "Special Event" scheduled for Sunday. We checked-out @ 9 p.m. Saturday and drove 8 hours to get home. Obviously, Pool Side Rooms are all about the party on weekends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

In serious need of an update.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: It is relatively inexpensive.
Cons: See above. The place needs a ton of general upkeep and repairs.
Location: The street has gas stations, liquor store, a place that sells plants. Nothing special. The North Park area is only about a mile away and that is good.
When you walk in you immediately notice a musty smell that will remind you of grandma's old house - but not in a good way. The carpet is tattered and dirty - it is kinda gross. The only elevator had a muddy old towel on the floor when we arrived. The rooms are small. The bathroom caulking was peeling and missing in areas. The shower does not have a temperature control valve - so you may get scalded if someone flushes a toilet. We took some glasses of beer back to the room. House keeping just left them on the counter in our room for several days. The coffee maker was not cleaned and had old coffee in it. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything next door. There is a motorcycle repair shop next door so you get to hear motorcycles coming and going all the time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olney, Md

disappointed

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: suites had separate bedrooms for kids
Cons: everything
Location: it's not in a very good area and downtown Gaslamp Quarter is only 5 miles away
We chose this hotel because they had suites with a separate bedroom for our 3 yo. That part was great. What they do not tell you is that the hotel is all separate buildings and you have to walk and take your key card with you everywhere to get in to the main facility, the pool, etc. The hotel also does not tell you that they rent out the pool, YES RENT OUT THE POOL, to any group that will pay. They rent it out Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Whomever rents it charges admission and they are allowed to do whatever they would like to the pool area. To include blasting music when hotel guests have pool balcony rooms. The hotel also charges $8 a day parking. So needless to say we were VERY disappointed in the hotel and our stay. We will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very nice and close to north park

Posted Aug 24, 2015
This was my first time staying at this hotel and I loved it! It's an old hotel but there's only minor things that you notice. The water temperature in showers seems to change due to the old pipes? And they have their own private parking which they charge you $8 a day for?! Those were my only two complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Relaxing pool side

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: Valet parking would be great but the private garage parking was ultra convenient
Location: Gillys was a awesome dive bar. That's my kind of drinking establishment
My cousin Chalon recommended this hotel to me. Upon arrival I noticed immediately that this was a nice hotel. I love the decor and the atmosphere of this place. They have great food and good drinks at the bar/restaurant. Now as for the hotel staff, they are amazing. The woman who worked at the front desk was absolutely amazing. Her name is Meme and she is the best!!! She was very well spoken and extremely helpful. I travel often and stay at many hotels and I have yet to meet any hotel staff better than her. Meme told us all about the area, the history of the hotel, and much more. Anytime in the future i return to San Diego i will be staying here and will also recommend this place to all my friends. With staff like Meme there is no reason to stay anywhere else. The Lafayette is very lucky to have such an amazing staff member. Thank you so much for your hospitality and your advice Meme. You awesome!!!! Thank you Lafayette for a amazing stay. I will be back for sure as long as you continue to employee staff like Meme
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allen

Loved my weekend stay

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Loved the hotel, poolside view, and the parties. If you love to have fun in a great location this would be the hotel, they are in a convenient location as well.