Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pullman WA

Very nice lots of space

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: the space and charm. the staff
Cons: update the carpet
Location: close to food and stores
Very cute rooms with lots of old Hollywood charm. older carpet in rooms but overall very clean. staff were all very nice and willing to help. Has a great pool area and lobby! very active place...had like 1 wedding and 5 separate parties on the weekend we visited. overall a great place would come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Love the character of this place. The food in the restaurant is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

weekend escape

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Felt welcome, really enjoyed the suite. The heater didn't make the room stuffy and the bathroom had a real window for fresh air. Excellent food
Location: really good espresso coffee bar/wine bar in walking distance
Needed a break and wanted to celebrate my birthday. So glad the in-house restaurant had great things to offer for vegetarians! Loved the pool and the ambiente. The lobby was cozy and had nice old pictures of actors and celebs from the 40s.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I want to leave a good review, but I just can't!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was accommodating and kind.
Cons: The facility itself needs major work - paint, carpet, new linens...
Location: I don't know San Diego well, but the area didn't seem to be the greatest. However, it was just a 10 minute drive to the zoo, grocery store & more.
I want to leave a good review of the Lafayette because the staff was very kind to us, but overall, the stay was disappointing at best. The facility itself is run down and dingy. The carpets and tile flooring felt gross and dirty, the bathroom smelled, the blankets were old, and the buildings themselves were just not well kept up. In addition, we had huge problems on more than one night with VERY loud people staying in other rooms near us. The hotel staff did try to help with that, which we greatly appreciated, but unfortunately we had some pretty terrible nights of sleep. Overall, a hotel that is in need of a serious upgrade.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springdale, AR (formerly a resident of San Diego)

Not a comfortable place to stay at all

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Overall charm/decor.
Cons: Where to begin?! Concentrate on noise reduction. Focus more on the comfort of the guest, versus just decor/charm.
Sad to complain about a San Diego landmark, but this is NOT a place to stay if you want to sleep OR be comfortable in your room. My experience: I planned to stay three nights. Late check in; in my room around 1:30am. Room had NO heat, no blankets---even in San Diego, winter evenings can be cold. Then, I clearly heard the guest snoring next door. I attempted to sleep even though I was cold, even with the noise. I awoke at 6:30am due to next door guest shouting during a phone conversation; I could hear EVERYTHING he said, very clearly. This continued for at least 30 minutes. I then decided I couldn't stay and quickly booked another room elsewhere. After doing so, I turned on the flatscreen only to have no signal. Then, made coffee in the inroom Keurig, only to have the pod explode in the machine and get a mouthful of grounds on the first sip. I quickly dressed and got OUT OF THERE. The Lafayette is a nice place for attending events, but I'll NEVER stay in their hotel rooms again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yuma,az

Clean comfortable rooms.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Loved the clean, comfortable rooms & close vicinity to restaurants and shopping malls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Boutique Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Had an awesome time here, staff was awesome, restaurant was awesome, everyone always had a smile on their face.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice place but needs investment on real renovation

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Hotel is nice. Old place that needs some renovations (esp. the bathrooms) - It is totally possible to keep the old style and refurbishing the place at the same time (I am from Europe). Staff is okay. Could be more welcoming at the front desk. But great staff at the bar and restaurant. Parking fee is reasonable ($8). Not reasonable though to have to ask and pay extra for a fridge, especially in a warm place like San Diego and for a hotel of this category.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

Run down, dingy, rooms feel unsafe

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Rented suite. Looked like a motel room. Felt unsafe with outside access directly into room, next to bed. With family and definitely not my idea of 3 star. Outside corridors dingy. Redeemlng quality was lobby. Room was clean but there was a very strong smell, assume it was disinfectant! My first review ever but i couldn't wait to leave the next day. That's how much I hated it - couldn't sleep all night, bedding wasn't warm enough for then winter. And the smell...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Great hotel!! The staff was excellent. The room had lots of space and was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to all. We will be staying there everytime we visit San Diego.