Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel and stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The grounds are beautiful as well as the hotel. The food in the hotel was excellent, but over-priced for the portion size. For breakfast I was given a used jelly. I reported it and nothing was done. I also tried to open the mini bar and the key broke on in it. I reported it and was told it happens all the time and would be fixed. I had to report it 3 times and nothing was ever done about it. I gave up after the third time. Jessica and Lisa Marie from concierge were phenomenal in helping me plan out my trip. Overall, it was a pleasant stay with some bumps in the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: location, room and staff
This is our third stay and we love this hotel. The staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are simply lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burbank ca

Relaxing getaway

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: I guess if it was free.....
Location: Close to downtown La Jolla's sights and restaurants. Great golf course on the property plus others nearby.
A "no-prob" experience. Hotel is exquisite both in setting and physical plant. Very good restaurants. Best thing it the staff. Universally friendly and helpful. We had no problems during our 2 night stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the lodge

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Beautiful view and very quiet and perfect for our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint lodge adjacent to many attractions

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We enjoyed the ambience and quietness as well as spectacular walks within the Toeeey Pines Reaerve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: The lodge is 20 min. N of San Diego and close to I5. Visit zoos, Sea World, museums, Old Town, wonderful restaurants, shopping and harbor tour.
This is the 5th time I have stayed here. The room is spacious with beautiful views of the golf course or the reserve. The spa is fantastic and the pool is wonderful, overlooking the golf course and the Pacific Ocean. The staff are all friendly and ready to assist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in La Jolla

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location is not in the town of La Jolla so you need a car, but if you are like us and would rather spend a day in La Jolla, a day in San Diego proper, a day in Del Mar, a day in Laguna Beach and so on then this location is ideal. Very close to Del Mar which is even nicer than La Jolla. The drive up interstate 101 and then to the interstate 1 to Laguna Beach (short time on the 5) is breathtaking. Take all the local and scenic routes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The Lodge at Torrey Pines - Big Disappointment!

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel for my brother and his gf who came down from Canada to celebrate a their 10 yrs together. Based on the pictures there was a lot of pretty and elegantly lit spots on hotel ground as well as the gardens. However, when I got there for dinner time, I was so shocked to see the hotel had little lights on. We could barely see where we were going (from lobby to restaurant and back because of the awful low lighting. We could not even see the grandeur of the hotel from the pool (like how the marketed it in the pictures) because of the lack of lighting. Could not understand why they would disappoint guests like this especially since they were fully booked. The rate per night was not cheap at all, totally not worth the money. The room view was a tree getting in the way of whatever was down there (which looked like little trail leading to who knows where. Again very little lighting to see anything nice. Probably the nicest thing on the hotel was the surprise the staff had when they entered the room. They had prepared a champagne and strawberries congratulating them on their milestone. However, this gesture could not take away the disappointment we all felt when we toured the grounds. It was just so heartbreaking to be there expecting to see what we saw on the pictures and be completely be disappointed because it was not what they delivered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, congratulations to your brother and his girlfriend on their 10th anniversary. We are very honored that you recommended them to stay with us during this special occasion. Though we are delighted to hear that they enjoyed the champagne and strawberry surprise from our staff, we are sorry to learn that your overall impression of our resort did not exceed your expectations. The inspiration for The Lodge at Torrey Pines is based on the American arts and crafts movement and the style is reminiscent of the craftsman design which utilizes stone masonry and exposed woodwork. Our indoor areas are decorated with functional lamps and chandeliers to add the right amount of lighting to complement our resort's design. We understand that these design details might not be a style that everyone enjoys, but we appreciate your feedback as this is important to take note of and will be shared with our staff. Overall, we hope that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us.