Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Getaway

Posted Feb 27, 2017
My wife and I (38 & 31) left the kids at home for a long weekend away. We flew direct from Vancouver and rented a car. Rental cars are not directly in the airport, which we thought would be annoying, but the shuttle and rental car area are really quick and organized. The airport is right in downtown San Diego basically. The Lodge at Torrey Pines is a 20 minute drive north of the airport. The spa service at the hotel was very good. It's. Or the prettiest spa in the world but are treatments were great and it has a sauna, steam room etc that you can use whether you get a spa treatment or not. The outdoor pool area is beautiful. The outdoor hot tub looks over the golf course to the ocean and is a great place to watch the sunset. The restaurant has a lovely menu. We sat on the patio and rally enjoyed the ambience, with the exception of the very occassional navy helicopter passing overhead but even that somehow added to the experience of being in La Jolla. Speaking of which, the restaurants in La Jolla, which is a short (10 minutes) and beautiful drive down the coast were all amazing. We ate at George's on the rooftop patio, Eddie V's and Catania, which is a little inland but had a fun scene to it. We will definitely be back to the Lodge at Torrey Pines in the future. This trip was last minute so unfortunately we didn't get to golf because the course was fully booked but we walked down to the beach along the hiking trails (only a 20 minute walk from the Lodge along the golf course)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Golfer's paradise.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The Lodge is a luxury property and as such, my superior room with king size bed and balcony was certainly up to par. Any time a bath tub doubles as a shower, it's not the simplest of tasks but this was the only blemish. The restaurant outlets were mixed in my rating; the luxury fine dining was a over rated but the terrace restaurant was better. The golf course was the high light ; a superb layout and wonderful vista awaits all players. I would certainly recommend this property for a golfing escapade as the resort is just made for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Stayed for two nights; clean, spacious, well kept rooms. Beautiful grounds and area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Coast, CA

New Favorite Destination

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Everything. The Craftsman style, tasteful appointments, high quality room amenities/bath products, the linens, the morning coffee service, everything!
Cons: Maybe a map to the parking garage from the interior for the directionless (me)? We did wander a bit the first day...
Location: Great! We did the beach hike, enjoyed seeing the golfers, paragliders, outdoor enthusiasts.
We were coming for a birthday celebration and I had telephoned ahead about room preferences and a special request or two. From the initial call, through arrival and departure, service was top notch. Calls are directed, answered and responded to even in the early hours. Telephone calls, emails and even texts were returned in order to make our stay truly memorable and in accordance with my wishes. A nice touch is the car service within a 5-mile radius ... and a call ahead by the concierge to the restaurant of our choice where we were recognized as lodge guests and received preferential seating! I can't think of anything that I found missing ... this is my new favorite destination property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Best hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Jan 24, 2017
5 year anniversary. Champagne and strawberries were brought to our room upon arrival. view was beautiful. Room imaculent, and the staff was humble, courteous and gave 5 star service. Bathroom amenities were fabulous, and I bought some on my way out. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by Sandra

5 star Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Lodge at Torrey Pines was amazing, the hotel staff, rooms, dining, housekeeping and valet were all perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for an exceptional experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Outstanding service

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The staff training, friendliness, and desire to provide outstanding service sets this hotel apart from others. The hotel itself is beautiful and for any lover of the Arts and Craft movement it's a must stay destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel and stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The grounds are beautiful as well as the hotel. The food in the hotel was excellent, but over-priced for the portion size. For breakfast I was given a used jelly. I reported it and nothing was done. I also tried to open the mini bar and the key broke on in it. I reported it and was told it happens all the time and would be fixed. I had to report it 3 times and nothing was ever done about it. I gave up after the third time. Jessica and Lisa Marie from concierge were phenomenal in helping me plan out my trip. Overall, it was a pleasant stay with some bumps in the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: location, room and staff
This is our third stay and we love this hotel. The staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are simply lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burbank ca

Relaxing getaway

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: I guess if it was free.....
Location: Close to downtown La Jolla's sights and restaurants. Great golf course on the property plus others nearby.
A "no-prob" experience. Hotel is exquisite both in setting and physical plant. Very good restaurants. Best thing it the staff. Universally friendly and helpful. We had no problems during our 2 night stay!