Ratings based on 5,875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Professional staff, but it felt like home.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Great staff, I just cannot say enough. I travel extensively but this hotel was one of the best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Small rooms, good location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Small rooms. But, a good location. Nice bar on the first floor. Was not impressed with the person that checked us in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, Virginia

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Perfect location--we were able to walk to the Padres game. Very clean. The towels were extremely soft!! I don't like that they charge $9.95 when you check in. Everybody has to pay it. Why not just include that in the overall price? I don't like feeling that I'm being nickeled and dimed. Overall, great hotel and we'd stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Marina, clean and quiet

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great Hotel for the price, I used my double off points.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Sofia's Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to seeing you the next time your travels take you to San Diego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We have stayed at The Sophia several times over the last few years. The location is perfect for us. Located downtown across from Horton Plaza and a quick walk to the Santa Fe Station. Perfect middle to Gaslamp & Little Italy. The staff is always pleasant and attentive. The hotel is clean and charming. My only concerns are the rooms are starting to show wear. We stayed in a suite this trip for two nights. Nothing special other than a larger accommodation. However, the paint, the wood trim, and surfaces all need touch up and attention. The linens and bath amenities are good. Room décor is nice. Other than that, no complaints...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very small room................. ..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Comfortable and clean. Nice amenities.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: A nice restaurant downstairs, very convenient. Nice facilities included.
Cons: Definitely the bathroom shower - the half glass door arrangement makes no sense because all the water goes everywhere.
Location: Close to everything, lots of restaurants for every taste. Near the Old Town trolley, taxis, bus services. Right across from Horton Plaza.
Had a great stay. Hotel was nicer than I had expected it to be. Close to everything. Great staff, particularly the concierge. Room was a little small but nicely furnished and everything you could want.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location can't get any better

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The best hotel I could have stayed in San Diego, centrally located, compact comfy rooms good location for tourists
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: room service
Location: not much to do nearby walking distance except walking to water not a beach
nice hotel wish they had room service and airport transportation overall good hotel staff excellent Please forward hotel statement*******
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: Das Zimmer für 4 Personen ist viel zu klein, heißt für Familien nicht geeignet.
Das Kabel des Föns ist so kurz, dass Haare fönen kaum möglich ist oder man es gleich lässt. Ansonsten ist die Lage super zentral und man kann viel zu Fuß sich ansehen. Bei 36 $ Parkgebühren am Tag , sollte man sein Auto auch dort stehen lassen oder gleich in der Nähe woanders parken.