Ratings based on 2,448 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location in San Diego. Modern interior finishes.
Smooth and easy check-in with my reservation through Expedia. Great location in downtown core. Satisfied my taste in interior finishes and cleanliness. Would stay at The Sofia Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno nv

downtown San Diego

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This hotel is really nice and comfortable. The staff was amazing and very friendly. I stayed in many hotels in California that week and they were hands down the best in customer service. The valet workers were very quick and the check in/ check out employees really showed interest in making sure my husband and I were content.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great location, quiet, nice and clean. Small room. Close to harbour, Gaslamp District, Little Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Diego Trip

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: We liked the restaurant and Bar, also had fresh water in the lobby with complimentary girl scout cookies.
Cons: The rooms were small but we knew that. There is really no chance of improvement there.
Location: The hotel was perfectly located in the gas lamp quarter of San Diego.
My wife and I traveled to San Diego to visit some friends that moved there a couple years ago. My wife will only stay in 4 star hotels and up. We accidently came across this hotel on expedia and decided to book it with our friends. Needless to say we were both very happy with the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Feb 17, 2017
enjoyed the updated old world charm, business convention trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, very well appointed. Loved the bikes for borrowing
Location: Very nice location to get practically anywhere in the city.
Loved staying there, friendly staff accommodated my very late check in. Rooms nice. Great centra location and there are bikes you can borrow which made for a very accessible way of seeing the city. Highly recommended!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City UT

Modern Historic Hotel at Gas Lamp/Little Italy

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Fabulous staff attended to every detail, and empowered to resolve a small inconvenience we encountered immediately. Located centraly and a couple of blocks from Gas Lamp and Little Italy districts and downtown trolley. Plenty of eateries nearby and on property from $ -$$$. Valet parking is on North side of building, expect downtown overnight $$ rates (was equal to overnight self park) and had multi in/out privileges. We liked it so much that we came back and stayed in a suite for two nights at end of the week. Small historical preservation fee is added to nightly stay. Minor Con: in-room toilet/shower not very sound proof and has a sliding marbled glass door that doesn't lock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Wonder Place to Stay

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: upscale decor. Wonderful Staff. Great room. Nice view. Close to many fun spots and mass transit to get around.
Cons: Temp control in room was a little confusing.
Location: Walk to Gaslamp Quarter. Great onsite bar Restaurant. close to food and great shopping. Mass transit nearby.
Wonderful staff. Walk to Gaslamp. Close to tram. Great staff. Very friendly. Great in house bar/restaurant. We had a king suite. Very roomy. Very nice comfortable bed. Everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

downtown

Posted Feb 15, 2017
downtown, friendly staff. the reception uncle is very nice, clearly pointed out the available store, restaurant nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: I liked my entire experience at the hotel.
Cons: Provide for a lower body workout in the weight room. They have great equipment, but it's all aerobic and upper body stuff. No leg workout.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Special shout out to Alex working the front desk and Leon the Concierge. Both were awesome.