Ratings based on 5,867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$72 Parking

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Parking fee, no prior notice killed the experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but small room

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The room was decorated nice and the bed was very comfortable but the room was so small. You will get more room at a best western, though it won't be as nice . Hotel staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect for a conference

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I chose the Soohia because it was across the street from my conference. I had better price than the conference hotel. I had refrigerator to keep leftovers and microwave to warm. The room was small but comfy. Cute chair with pull out leg rest. I used the provided bikes the first day to tour waterfront. Staff was responsive to all my needs - directions, extra key, bandaids when I fell, place to keep luggage for late flight. Take out sangria after fall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Perfetto per visitare San Diego centro

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: struttura adeguata alla sua classe, silenzioso e pulito
Cons: accessibilità al parcheggio auto ( pochi e scomodi )
Location: Vicino a centri commerciali ed al quartiere gaslamp con tutti i locali per la sera
Camera in linea con le aspettative, location in pieno centro gaslamp e vicino all'ingresso della freeway
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

perfect location!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: quaint botique hotel
Cons: room and bathroom size
Location: Lots to do in this neighborhood, and we walked 2 blocks to the train station to go to Del Mar racetrack.
Perfect location and vibe. Great places to eat. And lots of bars with great music. CURENT, located in the Sofia hotel, is wonderful. Also, ASTI, an easy walk from the hotel, was delicious. The staff at the hotel is wonderful and the seemed to cater to Europeans. We will be back!! We had a great time. Toni, Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Great downtown location

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price and good location.
Cons: The toilets are fairly low....not great for senior who needs a comfort height toilet
Location: Walking distance to almost everything downtown.
The rooms are small, but the rooms are well designed (thoughtful storage), and well appointed. Our room faced the inside , and very dark, but it was ok with us this trip. This is an old hotel that has been redone. Power requirement are good and lovely big shower. This is the forth time we have stayed here. They also have bikes for loan....great idea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Professional staff, but it felt like home.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Great staff, I just cannot say enough. I travel extensively but this hotel was one of the best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Small rooms, good location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Small rooms. But, a good location. Nice bar on the first floor. Was not impressed with the person that checked us in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, Virginia

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Perfect location--we were able to walk to the Padres game. Very clean. The towels were extremely soft!! I don't like that they charge $9.95 when you check in. Everybody has to pay it. Why not just include that in the overall price? I don't like feeling that I'm being nickeled and dimed. Overall, great hotel and we'd stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Marina, clean and quiet

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great Hotel for the price, I used my double off points.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Sofia's Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to seeing you the next time your travels take you to San Diego.