Ratings based on 6,633 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel, close and convenient.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient.
Cons: A little bit of smell in the hallways.
Location: Great restaurants, sight seeing.
We had a great time, found a lot of unique finds via the helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Loved the location, the staff and the room. We opted to take the stairs and learned about the history of the building on the way. There's a fantastic breakfast place a short walk away. Highly recommend Sofia Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Walking distance to most everywhere. Extremely helpful, friendly staff. Clean room, had everything i needed. I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, tiny room

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced, great location
The hotel itself seems to be well-maintained. The staff was great, very courteous and helpful, and the location was excellent since we wanted to be right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. But the room was so small that my friend and I actually wondered how they'd be able to clean since our bags were taking up most of the floor space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Very nice hotel close to airport.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. Very clean except for 1 little hair in the tray holding shampoo, etc. Not sure about style of shower, had I washed my hair, there would have been more water on the bathroom floor. Noticed a baseboard that needed paint touch up, I think I was in 424. Excellent guest service from entire staff including the cleaning ladies. Very fast checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place. To stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Staff are extremely helpful all the time great location very clean highly recommend would stay here again.l
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Bar & staff
Cons: Size of the room, if ever possible and the comfort of the bed
Stayed quite a few hotels in the Downtown and Gas Lamp area. However; the pictures were really deceiving and were very disappointed with our stay. Staff is pleasing, from the front desk to the valet. Rooms are tiny, and I do really mean super small. The bed is so uncomfortable, could not sleep all night! Plus; on top of the original charges that Expedia charges, we are still asked to pay additional fees at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel! I been an Expedia client for years now and I am even considering moving on to other companies, only because of the additional fees we continue to pay at the hotel that are on top of the total we already pay with Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel in a very central location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: Wifi, it was basically non-functioning.
Hotel Sofia is a really nice hotel in an excellent location. It's centrally located between the Gaslamp district and Little Italy. Both are just 5 or 6 blocks away, a short 15 min walk. The hotel is small and in a historic building that is well maintained. The rooms are small but have a lot of charm. Wifi is terrible so don;t come with any expectations in that regard, I tethered to my phone to solve the problem. Staff are super attentive. Overall an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, CA

We'll be back!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Nice interior décor. Comfortable bed. Exterior appearance was nice, different than most of the hotels. Nice historic photos.
Location: Very close to train station, Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp District. Very walkable area. No need for our car once it was parked.
My wife and I had a great time in San Diego celebrating her birthday. Our stay at the Sofia was an integral part of our stay. The hotel is a converted apartment building and the exterior has a cool urban feeling, comprised of a nice brick finish and nice windows. Although not large, the room was comfortable and well appointed. Everything we needed was in the room. We will definitely come back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great stay, short little walk to gaslamp! It was a modern feel, in a beautiful older hotel. The fitness room was nice and had all updated workout equipment.