Ratings based on 6,642 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
It was just ok due to the size of the room. I understand that it is one of the older buildings but the room was so small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great mid town stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: super comfortable room - appreciated the bathroom especially. it was large, spotless, and the towels were like soft clouds.
Stayed here just one night and found it to be a gem of a hotel. Quiet, comfortable, and conducive to rest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful hotel, but rooms and staff not so much.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We had a slow check in with no perks whatsoever eventhough it is an Expedia VIP hotel and we have status gold. We requested any perk but the staff was not willing to see any possibilities. The hotel from outside and lobby are really pretty. The room was very small, we barely had space to walk inside. The studio desk with chair and a couch were very crowded next to the bed. The rooms are also noisy, so you can hear whats happening on the room next door and on the streets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location, modern lobby, old room

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The staff are absolutely great, my issue was the sink for the bathroom is outside right next to the room entrance. No vanity, so one mirror and no counter top. Very small room at least add a mirror over the desk. For the price I wouldn't recommend it unless you're not planning to actually spend time in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Very nice hotel convenient for everything

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The standard was good as was the location
Cons: Everything was as expected although couldn't find a contact email on any of our paperwork as we wanted to ask about an item left in room
Location: Lots to see it's a walkable city with lots of restaurants good transportation to other areas of interest like the sea world the zoo Balbao park etc
We had a lovely time staying in the Sofia hotel everything was as expected staff were friendly and helpful the restaurant was also nice with a good selection of food and drinks Everything you want to see and do in San Diego was within walking distance from the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for a weekend stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The location was good and had a nice decor.
Cons: A quieter air conditioning unit in the room and more consistent towel supply and we did not get all towels every day.
Location: Good location near Gaslamp District, Petco Park, and Westfield Plaza.
Overall, the hotel was nice and in a good location but the valet parking price was higher than what was quoted over the phone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel, close and convenient.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient.
Cons: A little bit of smell in the hallways.
Location: Great restaurants, sight seeing.
We had a great time, found a lot of unique finds via the helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Loved the location, the staff and the room. We opted to take the stairs and learned about the history of the building on the way. There's a fantastic breakfast place a short walk away. Highly recommend Sofia Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Walking distance to most everywhere. Extremely helpful, friendly staff. Clean room, had everything i needed. I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, tiny room

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced, great location
The hotel itself seems to be well-maintained. The staff was great, very courteous and helpful, and the location was excellent since we wanted to be right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. But the room was so small that my friend and I actually wondered how they'd be able to clean since our bags were taking up most of the floor space.