Ratings based on 5,793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quaint Boutique Hotel Convenient Downtown Location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Great staff, comfortable room, very nice fitness center for a small hotel. Convenienet Valet parking although at $36 a day a bit pricey.
Cons: The one complaint I would make about the room design is the way the shower is set up. I tried pointing the shower head in very possible direction ove
Location: Convenient to all downtown attractions. Walking distance to Gaslamp district, shopping, marina, Little Italy
Just stayed at the Sofia Hotel for the second time. When I travel to San Diego on business it is the perfect place for me as it is conveniently located within blocks of my SD office. The staff is always friendly and courteous. The rooms are a bit small, most with queen size beds rather than kings, but extremely comfortable and the rooms have mini-fridges and microwaves which is a great convenience, especially when you want to take home some great leftovers from SD's many fantastic restaurants and which you cannot often do when traveling as there is no fridge or no microwave in many hotel rooms. Currant Restaurant located int hotel has some phenomenal dishes and great wines. Definitely recommend eating here at least once for breakfast, lunch or dinner. But speaking of towels, The Sofia has THE BEST towels. They are HUGE bath sheet type towels and super soft. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. I will definitely continue to stay at the Sofia when I travel to downtown San Diego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, Petco Park, etc. Room was small, but comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PRETTY!!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Very pretty hotel and perfect location! Only one thing, the pillows were a bit too large for me. But everything else was perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location is good. Most stuffs are very friendly, but Brain at front desk had no patient and rude. Room is small, bathroom door cannot close, and toliet seat is broken. Manager had contact me to apologize and said will email me her contact, but never happened.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location is good. Most stuffs are very friendly, but Brain at front desk had no patient and rude. Room is small, bathroom door cannot close, and toliet seat is broken. Manager had contact me to apologize and said will email me her contact, but never happened.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Downtown

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Great Location in downtown, clean and staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location: Richard Walker's Pancake House - awesome breakfast; Petco Park for a Padres game, GasLamp District for great restaurants
Had a great visit in San Diego at the Sofia Hotel. I will definitely stay there when I return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
This hotel couldn't be easier to get in & out of from the 5. It's near the Gaslamp Quarter, so food is all over the place. The only downside is the expensive parking. Was either $34 or $36 per day. I can't remember which. If you're traveling without a car, this hotel is a no-brainer. Do it. However that parking charge stacks up pretty quickly if you're in town for multiple nights. Had only one issue while staying here, and it was during our departure from the hotel. Called the valet to let them know we were coming down and to have the car ready (which is a service they offer), and we still waited 29 minutes for our car. They were pretty busy at that time but they did serve quite a few people before us. Other than that tiny issue, everything was perfect. I'd stay here again for sure. I just might Uber around town rather than park a car next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Close to everything. Great staff. Nice hotel. Will go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Close to Gaslamp Quarter and all other downtown attractions. Shower was weirdly designed. One morning I could overhear conversation in next room too easily.