Ratings based on 6,519 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best staff ever

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hospital has the best staff I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. they go above and beyond to help you. the location is central and close to the gaslamp district and easy access to other sites. the only thing we found not up to par was the size of the room. our room was very tiny and no counter space to put stuff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Nice hotel but small

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel was great and comfy but the room was a little small. Bathroom were quite small. Overall it was a comfy stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Clean rooms, great staff, good value. If you are looking for a place in downtown San Diego this is a great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenience Gas Lamp and Downtown

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The hotel is very nice and the staff was very nice. The rooms are definitely on the small side, but well apportioned with a comfortable bed. We were able to get the room during a 45% off Expedia sale so it was definitely a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson, NY

Cozy hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The hotel was amazing. From the second we walked in to check out, everyone was beyond friendly. The rooms were beautiful. I had a corner room and had an nice view of downtown! Thanks so much! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Location: There are many places to eat within walking distance, and a short drive will take you to the mall or a museum.
Nice sized room, good service, and the connected restaurant makes good food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but....

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice looking. Great location. Friendly staff BUT...Very small room. Room smelt damp and there was mould around the crease of the shower floor where the caulking was. Water from a shower would flow out by the room entrance. Walls also very thin. Could hear everything around you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great weekend experience. Upgraded to suite room as VIP+ with expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Staff Great Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: The light over the sink could've been brighter, but it was hardly an issue. I really had no problems with anything.
Location: The WestBean coffee 2 blocks away, food places all over, Jimbo's is about a 5 minute walk, Gaslamp is 10-15 min walk. Quiet and accessible!
Staff was extremely helpful. Room was very clean and up to date. A/C, WiFi, and I absolutely love that there's a gym as well. The location is amazing since there's a coffee shop just 2 blocks away. The Gaslamp Quarter is about a 10-15 minute walk and the airport is 15-20 minutes away. Before I left, the staff even slid a note under my door to remind everyone that it was daylight savings time and to not forget to set the clock 1 hour ahead. It was a very small gesture, but that is a huge sign of meaningful customer service. If I'm ever down here again in downtown San Diego I'd go back to The Sofia again hands down. I had absolutely zero issues and 110% satisfied service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent staff

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The staff was helpful, and pleasant from the beginning to end of my trip. I was given a bunch of different suggestions of places to visit, which all turned out great. When I come back to San Diego, The Sofia Hotel is where I'll stay