Ratings based on 4,532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Hotel is very nice, staff is great, small rooms

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Hotel is very clean and updated nicely, staff was excellent. No pool, small rooms, I won't be back unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from 千葉県

交通の便が良い

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: レストランが良かった。
Cons: 上記コメント済
Location: 路面電車の駅(サンタフェ・デ・ポルト)が近い
インターネットで予約したが、宿泊時に別途Guest Service Feeを請求された。インターネットの使用以外は不要なサービスであり、分けて課金するべき。また、インターネット料金を予約時の料金に含めていただきたい。 安いと思って予約したが、実際は別途費用がかかることになる。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but thin walls

Posted Aug 26, 2015
I spent one night at the Sofia Hotel and it seemed pretty standard with a nice set of included amenities. The walls between rooms however are very thin and I heard the couple next door very clearly all night and the next morning so I did not sleep well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Great location. The room was small but the weather was just great so we didn't spend too much time at the hotel. I'd stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Beautifully updated and appointed in the period.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Beautiful room. Amenities better than most. Restaurant attached is wonderful. Very comfortable bed. Only downside is checkout. Line is extremely long. Consider on line or on tv checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from No California

Very friendly and courteous staff.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Yes.
Cons: N/A
Location: Yes.
The staff did an exceptional job. They were very informative about their facilities and surrounding attractions. The amenities were impeccable and my favorite was free bike rentals and steamed hand towels. Beautiful hotel and the décor was beautiful. The staff from the desk clerk, to house keeping to valet attendants were professional and very professional. I would recommend the Sofia Hotel in downtown San Diego as exceptional service. ***** Five Stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in the heart of gaslmap

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Clean hotel right within walking distance to gaslamp. Hotel staff were super friendly especially the valet guy rutger who took care of my lowered car! Smaller rooms but def would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Sweet Stay at the Sofia

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The Currant Restaurant was convenient to eat at, the food was good, the wait staff personable, and you get a 10% discount for being a hotel guest.
Cons: Parking is behind the hotel and you have to use your credit card or have exact cash. If you want to save some $$, park in the Spreckel's lot...
Location: Great location as far as getting to several restaurants within walking distance and shopping at Horton Plaza.
We enjoyed our stay at the Sofia Hotel. The hotel is down the street from the U.S. Grant and across the street is Horton Plaza. There are more homeless people in this downtown area but none of them approached me when I was walking alone from the hotel to Horton Plaza. We wished we had more time to take advantage of the hotel provided bicycles, downtown walking tour, and yoga session. We did get to eat twice at the Currant restaurant and had a pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Room was very small and not the most comfortable. Sketchy neighborhood with sirens blaring on and off throughout the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms to small.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Sink did not work correct. Drain would not stay up. Not enough towels.