Ratings based on 6,214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great hotel downtown

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: This hotel is conveniently located downtown, easy to get most places from here, and a decent place to hang out or get something to eat after hours.
Location: I travel here often for a project for work.
It's always nice to walk into this well-kept lobby and be greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. They quickly check you in, and the room is easy to find. The room is always clean. The rates are always rvery reasonable. The rooms I've stayed in are small (single queen bed), but I travel by myself for work so this is just fine for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel is quaint and historic but itty bitty rooms

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The front desk called at 11:50pm the night before I was checking out to see if I could come give them a better scan of the credit card - who calls a room at almost midnight when I'd checked in 36 hours earlier and you need it then! The only outlet by the bathroom vanity did not work, the bathroom was incredibly small, maybe even the littlest bathroom I've ever had and I'd estimate I've stayed at more than 500 hotels in the U.S. Europe and other countries. Lots of street and alley noise too. I wanted to be wowed but unfortunately, it just didn't materialize.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location with Lots of Charm

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location, charm.
Cons: Room size
Location: You're in the heart of downtown San Diego, so anything there is "nearby".
We're local San Diegans and stayed downtown for one night as we were seeing a show and it was easier than driving home late. The location can't be beat, as it's in the virtual center of downtown. The hotel has a great deal of charm and is well appointed. It's a boutique hotel in an older building so the rooms are small. Ours was awkwardly laid out, and shower/toilet room was incredibly small. I think i have more room in my shower stall at home, and that's not saying much. Possibly the room should have been combined with the one next door. Outside of size, the rooms were well, if simply appointed. There were extra pillows, enough hangers, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fountain valley, United States of America

Great price in the Gaslamp

Posted Dec 2, 2016
We booked the Sofia Thanksgiving weekend. The check in was staff was very professional and they upgraded our room to a suite, which was very roomy. The hotel has a nice restaurant/bar attached and was good. We did have a fire alarm go off early in the morning causing quite a scamper for me since I'm partially disabled. Only to find out it was just a toaster oven smoking on another floor. Not a big deal. My only gripe is the $36 per night valet fee. They have no parking lot, only valet so they clearly are over charging for that fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherman Oaks, United States of America

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The hotel is comfortable and the location served my needs. It is in walking distance of the Gas Lamp District.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Nice downtown San Diego hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
A pretty good place overall, for the price. Great location, walking distance to everything in downtown San Diego, restaurants a few doors away. A nice property, well kept up with a great restaurant off the lobby. Room was kind of small, and bedding not that great, but overall it was ok. Parking is expensive, paid by the night for a parking lot nearby. A pretty good value for an expensive city location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Snohomish, United States of America

Nice boutique hotel in good location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Recently renovated historic hotel in a central location--easy walk to most everything. Small well-decorated rooms were clean and comfortable. Tastfully redecorated lobby area and very welcoming staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Paper thin walls

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel was nice, perfect location, very accommodating. Only major down fall are the rooms are small and the walls are paper thin. Our neighbors decided to stay up and talk until 4am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel super bem localizado, muito bem conservado.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Adorei a estadia no hotel sofia desde minha chegada! A equipe é muito amável, pude fazer meu chek in muito antes do horário previsto. Hotel com ótimas instalações, quarto confortável e limpo. Com certeza indico!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Lake Tahoe, United States of America

Beautiful Room

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Room was gorgeous; tiny but did not feel cramped due to built-ins and functional furniture. Everything was top notch. The only complaints I can even have were that the sheets felt cheap (although bed was otherwise amazing) and I wished there had been a tub in my room. Nice gym and yoga studio.