Ratings based on 5,429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
It was nice and comfortable. Staff were very nice as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

最悪のホテルでした。

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: ありません。
Cons: Webでの部屋の情報は、正確に記載して頂きたいと思います。
Location: ロケーションはとてもいいです。
仕事で宿泊しました。 Webで予約しましたが、バスタブがないシャワーだけの部屋でした。予約した部屋のWebでの情報には、このことは、全く記載されていませんでした。 そこでバスタブがある部屋にアップグレイドしてもらいました。部屋は古かったですが、気になるほどではありませんでした。 しかし、シャワーが壊れていて、水がほとんど出てこず、クレームしたところ、紐を引っ張れば出ると言うので、すでに紐を引っ張ってみたが少ししか出ないと言ったのですが、自分で引っ張ってみせて「ちゃんと出るから大丈夫」と言って何もしないで去りました。 今彼がやって水がでていても、私が使った時と水がでないのだから、修理して欲しいと言いましたが、聞き入れてもらえませんでした。心配したとおり、彼が居なくなってから、再度試しましたが、やはり水は少ししか出ませんでした。 仕方がないので、水が沢山必要なシャンプーなどはしませんでした。 次にまたまたとても不愉快な思いをしました。 今度はトイレの水が詰まっ流れなくなったのです。 すぐに詰まりを直してもらいましたが、なんと翌朝、また詰まり、流さなければならないものがトイレにあふれ、床まで流れ出てしまいました。 このような状況を他人に見られることは、とても不愉快でした。 トイレの水が溜まっているところを、よくよく見ると、黒いひっかき傷が沢山ついていて、今まで何度も詰まっていたようです。 また部屋を変えてもらいました。 一端広げた荷物をパックしなおし、移動するのは、とても大変でした。 次は電話依頼を全く無視されました。 ドアのノブに引っ掛けて部屋清掃を依頼するタグに変えるのを忘れて出かけたので、部屋に入らないようにというタグが掛かっているけれど、掃除をするように電話で伝えましたが、帰ってみると、掃除どころかタオルの交換さえ、されていませんでした。帰った時間が遅かったので、掃除の人がいないと言われ、タオルだけを交換してもらいました。 わざわざ電話で掃除をするように伝えたのに、何もしないで、とても不愉快でした。最後は、仕事で使ったポスターと分厚い本二冊を部屋に忘れたので、忘れ物をなかったか尋ねたのですが、どこにもないと言い張るので、荷物のどこかに入っているだろうと思って帰国しました。 しかし日本に帰って探しましたが、どこにも無く、やはりホテルの部屋に忘れたことが明らかになりました。小さなものでもないのに、どこにもないと言い張るホテルはどのような掃除の仕方をしているのでしょうか。二度とこのホテルには泊まりません。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never ever again

Posted Feb 9, 2016
No parking , i have to pay 36 dollars per night for parking. The room was very small and i could hear people talking in the next room all night long. Very noise, no security in the building to keep noise down from other room. I had a very bad experience, The worse hotel i ever stayed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita

Great Quaint Hotel Super Close to Little Italy

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Staff was very nice- The hotel is clean and near little Italy which means that it is close to tons of shops, amazing restaurants & cafes. The Parking situation is the only bummer. They do not really disclose that you have to pay about $40.00 a night for parking. However, this is Downtown San Diego we are talking here. All things considered a good choice in hotel stay for the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice downtown hotel w/ great access to everything

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff was super. They were extremely accommodating and friendly. They really made me feel welcome. Even had free Girl Scout cookies.
Cons: More channel selection on televisions in hotel room. Ability to change channels in lobby. Keep smokers away from front door, as lobby smelled smoky.
Location: Currant restaurant with bar within hotel. Was popular spot for happy hour. Horton Plaza shopping, other bars & restaurants within walking distance.
I needed to stay at a hotel for a week because of repairs to my home. I also needed a place that would accept pets. And, I wanted a place that would be close to my work, which is downtown. The Sofia was reasonably priced and fit the bill. I knew that the Sofia had been completely remodeled and was now considered a nice boutique hotel. I was impressed with the quality of the remodel and the aesthetics of the hotel. Although my room was small, it was very comfortable and nice. Towels, bedding were good quality. Carpet clean and modern. Kind of odd shower arrangement with no curtain or full screen. It allowed bathroom floor to get pretty wet. Television was great but channel selection was limited. There was free wifi. Hallways were fine. Elevators were small but operated okay. Lobby had several areas where you could sit and chat or watch television, although you couldn't change the channels, which was a little aggravating. Currant restaurant was accessible from hotel lobby. This is a high quality restaurant with great happy hour deals on food and drinks. Other restaurants very close. All staff encountered were great. Hotel is within walking distance of downtown San Diego restaurants, waterfront, shopping (Horton Plaza, Seaport Village), and downtown businesses, courts, law firms, banks. 7/11 in next block. Trolley within a block. Homeless people an issue near hotel, but this is the case throughout downtown San Diego - really unfortunate situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Sofia Hotel was very quaint, clean, close to so much in San Diego. Staff was very accomadating to our needs. Bell person helped us with tickets, instructions and hailed a cab for us. Good gym equipment. Bed was comfortable. Had an issue with my tv stations and maintenance person can up right away and showed me how to fix it. Very friendly and professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Everything Great Except The Bed

Posted Feb 6, 2016
The hotel was great except for the cheap and uncomfortable bed. We travel 30+ nights a year and are not very picky about beds but the mattress was so hard that both of us had difficulty getting to sleep and staying asleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom CA

Nice alternative to major chains.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Cons: Tried to prearrange rental car with concierge, was not responsive.
Location: Walking distance to San Diego Convention Center
We utilized the Sohia for a group of business associates attending an expo conference at the San Diego Convention Center. Nice accommodations, reasonably priced. Staff was courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

rooms are small

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Great location, close to everything. Excellent service with very friendly staff. Great looking hotel but the room was surprisingly small. I would totally stay at the Sofia again. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, Brazil

Excelente localização no centro de San Diego.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Agradável hotel no centro de San Diego, totalmente renovado, com muito bom gosto. Pode se ir a pé ao Harbor Village ou ao museu do USS Mdway.O prédio é típico das construções dos anos 20/30 do século passado, mas a remodelação interna o deixou extremamente confortável e charmoso. Vale a pena!