Ratings based on 1,431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Très bon accueil, bel hôtel au centre de San Diego

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: le cadre historique et le confort général de l'hôtel
Cons: prix du parking et connexions électriques dans les chambres.
Location: La place devant l'hôtel avec de nombreux services (banque, change, cafés..) et les restaurants alentour aux abords de Gaslamp.
une bonne base d'exploration de la région de San Diego;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laredo, Texas

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Excellent. The staff were very friendly, attentive and respectful. The hotel was neat, clean and amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully Designed Rooms

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The beautiful decor, and kind front desk professionals.
Cons: Communication and strict order with housekeeping and room service. Replace or recover furniture in rooms.
Being an Interior Designer I can appreciate the soft contemporary design. Unfortunately, I was disappointed by the tattered furniture in my Signature Suite. The house keepers threw away my toothbrush, the coffee maker didn't work, my $25 well done hamburger, arrived rare. Sent breakfast back on 2 occasions. The room was not cleaned during the day, had to call house keeping at 8:00 p.m., and all I wanted to do was get ready for bed. Three house keepers came, and didn't even vacuum? They were there for 5 minutes only, can't clean in five minutes.Then the power went out in the bathroom, had to call for an engineer to come up and fix that. This was probably the most frustrating trip, because I was exhausted from being at a conference in San Diego, yet I love this hotel. I just think communication with staff could be improved upon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and unique historical downtown hotel.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Absolutely wonderful beds. Very good breakfast.
Cons: Have minibars or at least working refrigerators in all rooms. The chef needs to season the food better. We had an absolutely tasteless filet!
This is about the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel. It is roomy and has terrific beds. It is also very easy to navigate your way around the area, with easy access to highways and major roads. There are also lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. On the downside, the mini-bars are in some rooms, but not others. There is a note on the empty ones saying that the "contents have been removed for your convenience." How is that a benefit?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Wonderful experience. Staff and service was excellent! I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, beautiful spaces

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: It was so close to the events we were attending
Cons: They need to work with the ride share services better or provide their own options for getting places
Location: There are good places to grab a bite nearby, close to shopping and close to the convention center and government offices
Everything was great but the view (roof looking across at other guests). The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable and quiet for a downtown hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, Missouri

Nice stay

Posted Aug 12, 2015
We were really impressed with the hotel and staff. Everyone was super nice, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and bathroom was nice and modern. They had a good sized fitness center always stocked with bottled water and fresh towels. They made sure we always had bottled water in the room or at the valet when driving out. The beds were comfortable, even though they were double beds. You never had to wait for the elevators for more than a few seconds. The location was also very convenient, we were able to walk to the restaurants in the area. We totally enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again if ever in San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location, lobby, staff, room comfort.
Cons: CLEANLINESS. We were close to asking for another room but we were both tired and didn't want the hassle.
Location: You're right the heart of the Gaslamp district, which has the best nightlife in San Diego. You're also only a short drive to La Jolla and Coronado.
So I really wanted to like our stay at the US Grant, but there were a couple of point where they missed the mark on what I would expect from a "luxury" hotel. Mostly, room cleanliness. There were stains on the bed sheets, the bed pillow cases, and the hair drier was caked with... something unidentifiable. Another minor thing was that they delivered the wrong newspaper in the morning, which isn't a big deal but caused an extra trip, mid hangover, to journey down to the lobby to ask for the right edition. Last issue, which the hotel doesn't really have control over, but there was LOUD deliveries and (construction?) on Saturday and Sunday early morning, which kind of sucked. For the amount of money we paid, I would have stayed somewhere else if given the option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Top Quality hotel in the centre of San Diego

Posted Aug 8, 2015
This is a great hotel and a true 5 star venue. It's is bang in the centre of San Diego's gas lamp area but not the greatest if you have a car. Valet parking is expensive at $42 dollars and we got stung for $10 for 10 minutes while we dropped our bags off and checked in. When we challenged it we did get a refund but many others may not be so brave. Parking around is difficult and potentially expensive. We downloaded the Parkopedia app which shows the prices of parking. The hotel rooms were fantastic but be mindful that rooms fronting on to Broadway can be pretty noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Service was amazing! Really professional... The hotel was really nice... The only downside was that the room was a little small and I didnt even have a standard room... other than that it was really enjoyable