Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Staff was very friendly and the beach views were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Great hotel if you get the right room. The surf pads look right over the ocean and Boardwalk. If you are into people watching its perfect. It's a bit noisy because of all the action going on right beneath you but we loved it. Not much on amenities such as a pool or spa but it didn't bother us. Super close to excellent restaurants and bars... We stayed at the Coronado bay resort after here and it was a totally different feel. Large resort, big pools, etc but it was land locked and you felt like you couldn't leave. Tower 23 was the best!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Awesome

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Clean, super friendly staff, close to beach. Ocean view from patio. Highly recommend and will definitely stay there again.
Cons: There is no pool.
Stayed 3 nights, had a very pleasant experience, staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Great stay here with a few of my friends! Hotel was super clean and the staff was great! Only took off one point because they must've forgotten to clean our room on Saturday but they came as soon as we called them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Designhotel direkt am Strand

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Gelungenes Hotel direkt an der Promenade mit Blick aufs Pier im quirligen Pacific Beach. Alles was man braucht in walking distance. Sehr zufrieden. Besser gehts kaum...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debra M. from Hurricane, UT

See Mission beach on bikes!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our stay. I think our favorite part was that you had bikes for us to ride, no charge. Enjoyed sitting by the fire in the evening in the Zen area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rhonda from Tucson, AZ

Very happy customer!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
I will definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff was super accommodating, it had complimentary bikes, beach umbrellas, toys, valet service and alt more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robin from Gig Harbor

Boutique hotel at the beach, worth the splurge!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Was in sd for business but decided to splurge for a couple days and stay at tower23. It was a wonderful escape, with the ocean at your feet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, ocean-view rooms, location, free bike rentals, complimentary drinks at check-in, valet parking available with unlimited in/out
Cons: I thought $20/night valet parking is steep considering cost of hotel. I also did not find the hotel's website to be very helpful.
Location: Lots of restaurants and nightlife. Check out the Big Bear (or something) ice cream shop and Fat Fish Cantina Mexican restaurant about a block away.
First of I'll say that the staff here is top-notch. Front desk, valets, room service, everybody is friendly and helpful. I e-mailed a couple questions prior to the trip and received quick answers. And the complimentary drinks on check-in were a nice touch after a long day of travel! The rooms are clean and modern. We had a full ocean view room with an excellent view of the ocean and beach, and a good-sized balcony. We were also near the "Sky Deck" - the hotel's 2nd floor deck with chairs, a fire pit at night, and a small pool that was nice for cleaning sand off your feet coming back from the beach, but not much else as it was only a foot or two deep. A little disappointing the hotel didn't have a pool or hot tub, at least not that we noticed anywhere. A nice area near lots of restaurants and nightlife. There's also a boardwalk right outside the hotel that runs down to Mission Bay, and the hotel offers free bike rentals to guests. Only about a 20-30 minute drive to/from airport and downtown (w/o rush hour traffic). Some reviews mentioned the noise from the restaurant/bar, which I agree with - on weekends you notice the noise from the restaurant just down the hall as soon as you enter the lobby. You can also notice the noise from outside on the balcony, although the ocean waves mostly drown it out. And when you close the door to your balcony, it pretty much muffles all outdoor noise. Overall a nice stay at a nice hotel.