Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Pretty grounds
Cons: remodel the whole place
Location: Fashion Mall
Parking very difficult on Fridays, Saturdays. Had to park outside the facility. Housekeeping only partially cleaned the room, did not leave any new amenities. Staff at Charlie's was excellent: friendly, attentive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Somewhat disappointed with this "resort"

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Mission Valley/Fashion Valley. Plenty to do. Near light rail. Good location.
Lots of little issues like parking, tub didn't drain, staff monopolized the elevators in the tower, Charlie's closing way too early on a Saturday night, general apathy of staff. There are too many other good hotels in the area to deliver this kind of poor service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
I came here for a conference. It was very convenient to stay in the same place. Loved the market & variety of places to eat on site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Terrible place to stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: They is shopping mall near by and you can also visit Old Town
No hot water to take a shower during our stay parking is way to expensive they also charge resort fee. And if you want to upgrade to there updated room they want to charge your extra $100.00 per night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

it was very nice

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: centerly located
My room was located at the construction zone , dusty but clean. One thing I wished you have more light to walk across the complex. from the bar to my room was dark , long and not well mapped,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Facilities are sub par and staff is worse-uncaring

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Almost everything is bad
Cons: Most everything
Booked room based on the pictures. When I got there they said teh $158 per night rate was for one of the old, not remodeled, rooms in the old run down section of the hotel. I paid $60 per night upgrade for a remodeled room. The room itself looked nice except the tub stopper didn't work so we couldn't soak in the tub and the mini fridge didn't get cold. The tower had three elevators, none of them worked. We had to walk up and down four flights for two days. Thank God we weren't on the 10th floor. Construction workers woke us up at 6:35 am on Saturday. They were so loud there was no way we could sleep. They also charged extra fees per day and a resort fee per day which is probably in small print somewhere but I was unaware of it. I don't know why it is called a resort, because it has a pool and a restaurant? The room service food was cold but the worst part is that no one cared.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Make sure you upgrade

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Large resort, renovated rooms are very nice. Pool and spa were well kept. Ongoing renovations, but working in the industry it didn't bother me.
Cons: First room was unrenovated first floor that was equivalent to bates motel. Had to pay an additional 80 per night. The upgrade was WORTH IT.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Avoid this dump"

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The resort like pretty on the outside.
Cons: Room key didn't work for the door. They stuck us in the back corner.
Location: Good access to SeaWorld.
Bugs and mould in bathtub. The carpet stunk and badly stained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs major updating

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Great location, but the tower that we were in, the first floor reeked of cigarette smoke. The décor was extremely outdated. We kept saying how we felt like we were staying in the Haunted Mansion. There was a creepy framed photo on our wall of a little girl, I had to cover that with a towel all weekend. I did hear that they are updating parts of the property, which is great. Hopefully the rest will follow soon. The staff was wonderful and very pleasant. We did return back to the hotel one evening and there was a guy on a bike in the parking structure that was clearly up to no good. I call the front desk and asked that they please send someone out to check on him. Overall, if and once they get all of the towers updated, I would def stay there again. Super close to Qualcomm Stadium, which is why we were in town. The mall is very close with fantastic restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: 10-15 minutes away from attractions
Cons: Rooms could use an update.
Location: Go to the mall, Mission Beach, restaurants, shops, North Park, Downtown.. etc.
The hotel is okay. If you book through expedia, they typically place you in the 3rd party section of the resort. It's a pretty decent location and it is right next to Fashion Valley Mall. However, parking at the hotel isn't free. If i had known, I would've stayed somewhere else where there's free parking. This resort could use an update also. There were some party goers while I was there. I can hear them yelling around 3am. Wish I had joined them.