Ratings based on 1,136 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an okay hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It was clean !
Cons: The beds, sound proofing so you don't hear your neighbors conversations...
Location: There are lots of hotels near this one and the mall.
We were put in a room that had two beds, but hardly anywhere to put our two suitcases. One suitcase sat on the second bed where our 9 year old slept. You could hear the conversations of the people staying next to our room. No sound proofing at all. We complained and they sent security to the next room to ask them to keep quiet, however they should have just moved us to another room with better sound quality, especially since the other room next to us had a few young kids and they're expected to be loud. We would not stay here again, it was just for one night as we had stayed at a condo for a week and was looking for a room close to the airport to depart the next day. It was by far the worst sleep we had the whole week. Not to mention the beds were not comfortable at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect room newly renovated

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay. Close to everything you need to go to for anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Polina Vidrak - Front Manager Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your stay, we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Posted Apr 14, 2017
I had a wonderful experience. It was my first time on vacation and my first time in San Diego. I WILL BE BACK VERY SOON
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice hotel to crash for the night.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The location could not be better!
Cons: There is not a big feel of privacy since the walls are very thin, anyone from outside could be heard, and the bathroom door did not close properly.
Location: The mall is 5 minutes away walking, so is the metro rail. Anything else is just a few minutes away through the public transportation system.
The hotel was pleasant and clean but the door to the bathroom did not close and there was not much privacy. The TV was inside a closet set to the side which would not be able to be seen from both beds. (We were in a single room with 2 queen beds). It is right next to one of San Diego's best malls, and the metro rail system which was very convenient. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are not planning on spending more than a few hours and nights in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place has it all!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Beautiful landscaping, room had nice amenities, close to trolley stop, great food options on site. The only thing I didn't like was the resort fee!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

update rooms

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Location: great location near the Airport and the Zoo
The grounds are beautiful but I think the older rooms at this hotel need an update. I think the rooms could be cleaner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

Surprisingly nice

Posted Apr 1, 2017
I was hesitant to sleep on the sofa bed in the newly renovated tower, but couldn't tell it was a sofa bed!!!! Really comfortable and new, room was clean, spacious, with new, updated, furniture and nice staff, check out easy. Parking is $20/day (if using)with about $17/day charges on check out day that you want to factor into the total cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

OK place, somewhat confusing and out dated

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Nice gardens. Friendly people around the ground. Back path to public transportation and shopping and restaurants.
Cons: A more central location for the gym. There are several pools around the grounds, but gym is hidden in a corner far away from lodge.
I stayed there for a conference. The whole place is in lack of maintenance. Bathtub and sink are old and stained and didn't drain well. There was stain of nail polish on the sink, and even the coffee maker was falling apart. There's no sound insulation, 0. I was assigned a connecting room. When my next door neighbor is on the phone, I heard every single word. I hear the gentle coughs, running water, etc. Felt really sorry because I had an early morning phone call the first day before realizing how loud it sounds next door. Hotel staff is generally friendly and helpful. But at checking in, when I was the only one waiting, the girl had to start putting files away, clear her working area before taking my registration, ignoring hints from the other that I'm standing there waiting. I don't understand why, but felt like she just didn't want to serve me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to everything

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Don't like $20 p/d for parking. No microwave in the room. Needs updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Really old and dated hotel, the room had a very musky smell to it and it looks like a scene out of a scary movie. The carpet looked like it was installed backed in the 1950's and there were lots of stains.