Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

At one time it was great...now dated.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
When Lawrence Welk was in his prime, this would have been a great place to stay. But he has been dead for many years. Lots of different activities and clean. Far removed from restaurants other than what is on the property. Good place for families as lots to do for the kids & they are safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice resort - beware if traveling with young child

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Pool Laundry facility Activities
Cons: Offering cribs is standard for most hotels. Babysitting service for children under 4
Location: Great location - 30 min outside of San Diego, 25 min from the San Diego Safari. Close to Legoland also.
My husband, son (18 months) and I stayed at the Welk Resort for 12 nights. We enjoyed the amenities and daily activities. The resort has a few nice pool areas but unfortunately because of the cool weather we did not enjoy them much. Our son particularly liked the play room they have for young children. I choose this resort because of the babysitting service that was advertised. Unfortunately it is very limited, only available Thursdays and Fridays from 5- 9 pm. They also don't allow children under 4 yrs old so this service was actually useless for us. No cribs are available either unless you want to pay extra. Also the concierge were helpful but I found that most of the staff weren't able to answer questions about their own services (i.e. is there laundry on site).
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort. Thank you for the feedback provided. We appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay.We have noted your concerns and we will be sure to address these items internally. We hope to have you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Beautiful property, gorgeous views!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Courteous staff, excellent amenities, convenient to many greater San Diego county towns
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their stay at the Welk Resorts. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. albert, AB

Awesome resort! Perfect for families

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Stayed here for a week with my husband and 2.5yo and it was perfect! Room was great and loved being close to the kids pool and splash park. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Loved having a Starbucks and little market to walk to for anything. The restaurant was great and food very yummy and great prices. Also loved all the daily activities and stuff you could participate in. The fire pit with s'mores was an added bonus. Definitely would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities.Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Amazing Rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2016
My daughter and I recently stayed here for a little mini vacation and we were blown away by the size of the rooms and how nice and comforting they were . They have many things to do so you never really have to leave the resort. Hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant fixed any issue I had . Would reccomend this resort to anybody who's looking for a nice getaway to a nice hotel. Me and my daughter will use this resort for future stays
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but ok

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The place is decent just old and worn. People were ok and sort of helpful. Unless you need a kitchen you are better off booking a hotel room on the beach or downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrenton, VA

Nice resort

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful facility.
Cons: Housekeeping processes need serious attention.
Location: Beautiful desert location and scenery. Trip up to Julian was fantastic, don't miss the apple pie.
8 day stay beginning Thanksgiving Day. Good things- location, facilities that we used were very nice. Food was above average for "hotel" food. Room was comfortable. Not so good things- I called on Monday to find out about clean towels, trash etc. apparently I should have had the room cleaned on Saturday. Each time I needed something, I had to call and request it. During each day there were bags of trash,towels,and cleaning supplies left throughout the outside property. This looked bad. I was told at 9am to put my trash outside my room and someone would come to pick it up. Arrived back to our room around 830pm, trash was still outside but so were other bags around building so I left our bags out. The next morning our bags were torn and trash all around our door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at Welk Resorts and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. We look forward in hopes to welcoming you back again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This is not a hotel. It's a no service time share.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very aggressive on check in, the "concierge" engaged in high pressure sales tactics demanding that we take "a tour." We said no five times, both of us. They tried again the next day, pushing us to schedule a tour and leave our kids in an under staffed play room. The couch bed had no mattress pad, sheets, pillows or blanket. Our call to housekeeping was met with "Go to the closet and make the bed yourself." The facility was not very clean. The shower didn't work well. The screen door was broken. The kitchen didn't have a frying pan or working can opener. After two days of no service to our room we called to find out that only after three nights would they clean the room. Returning to the room from an outing on day 4, we found the trash we left outside the room had been invaded by animals. No service again. After calling the front desk, we learned that there would be no service for our entire stay. Expedia and the Welk Resort misled us completely. It was a very upsetting. Rude treatment by the front desk clerk only added to the upset. She said it was our fault that we had no fresh sheets, towels, soap, shampoo, or coffee. The manager came out and did her best to apologize but the damage was done. This is no Resort Hotel. It's a time share sales trap. The best part of our vacation was spent far far away from the hotel. Not going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Fit our needs for having a relaxing visit

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Great set up with pools fire pits.
Cons: Needs more restaurant options. Better organized check in.
Location: Was confusing at first.. at nite. We came from SD and Temecula...good have way point for a visit.
Very confusing at check out........lines were long glad we did a pre check but getting key was confusing. Could of used more of the basic supplies ...tissues/toilet paper. WE mainly just hung out and brought in some of our own food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

great room...just like home

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: housekeeping staff didn't bother you unless needed...therefore more privacy
Cons: the card keys didn't work very well...also had difficulty getting change for daily newspaper
Location: easy assessable to interstate
very comfortable...nice views from room...convenient food store and restaurant...good food...liked the farmers market...great community live theater...easy assessable laundry...great hills for biking
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Thank you for highlighting our Farmers Market We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.