Ratings based on 1,242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This is not a hotel. It's a no service time share.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very aggressive on check in, the "concierge" engaged in high pressure sales tactics demanding that we take "a tour." We said no five times, both of us. They tried again the next day, pushing us to schedule a tour and leave our kids in an under staffed play room. The couch bed had no mattress pad, sheets, pillows or blanket. Our call to housekeeping was met with "Go to the closet and make the bed yourself." The facility was not very clean. The shower didn't work well. The screen door was broken. The kitchen didn't have a frying pan or working can opener. After two days of no service to our room we called to find out that only after three nights would they clean the room. Returning to the room from an outing on day 4, we found the trash we left outside the room had been invaded by animals. No service again. After calling the front desk, we learned that there would be no service for our entire stay. Expedia and the Welk Resort misled us completely. It was a very upsetting. Rude treatment by the front desk clerk only added to the upset. She said it was our fault that we had no fresh sheets, towels, soap, shampoo, or coffee. The manager came out and did her best to apologize but the damage was done. This is no Resort Hotel. It's a time share sales trap. The best part of our vacation was spent far far away from the hotel. Not going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fit our needs for having a relaxing visit

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Great set up with pools fire pits.
Cons: Needs more restaurant options. Better organized check in.
Location: Was confusing at first.. at nite. We came from SD and Temecula...good have way point for a visit.
Very confusing at check out........lines were long glad we did a pre check but getting key was confusing. Could of used more of the basic supplies ...tissues/toilet paper. WE mainly just hung out and brought in some of our own food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

great room...just like home

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: housekeeping staff didn't bother you unless needed...therefore more privacy
Cons: the card keys didn't work very well...also had difficulty getting change for daily newspaper
Location: easy assessable to interstate
very comfortable...nice views from room...convenient food store and restaurant...good food...liked the farmers market...great community live theater...easy assessable laundry...great hills for biking
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Thank you for highlighting our Farmers Market We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't go back

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Mountain Springs Pool
Cons: food options service
Location: near the Safari Park
The front desk staff were not welcoming, and not helpful. In fact, after telling the front desk staff that my husband has cancer, and needs to avoid walking, he told us there were no units without stairs. He put us in a basement level room, that was only accessible via 18 stairs. The "villa" was terrible, felt like a dungeon. When I called the main number to request a refund, so we could go somewhere else, we were moved to a unit with no stairs. What an unpleasant experience! The staff seemed completely unconcerned about the comfort of the guests. The second unit we received was fine, spacious and clean. The nice pool advertised on the website, was far from where we staying. We had to drive. The Mountain Springs pool was lovely, our daughter loved it. The pool snack shack was closed early, and the main restaurant was not good. There were really no other options for food, unless you like Pizza Hut, which I don't. I have stayed at the Welk in Cabo, which was lovely. That is actually what interested me in staying at the Welk San Diego. I would not stay at the Welk San Diego again, unless it was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect, we appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay.We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Mixed feelings.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This hotel is fantastic place to take a family. We rented a one bedroom villa and it had a well stocked kitchen and a washer dryer. The pool was fantastic and my kids loved the water slide. They discovered the games room on the last day and I'm glad it was the last day or they might have spent more time inside than outside. The staff of the resort left much to be desired. They don't give much information and really leave you guessing as to where everything is located. They do not clean the room daily and that is never mentioned. When I requested a room clean and freshened they sent some one to febreeze the room and they did nothing more. This is a great place to stay if you don't expect amazing service. It was perfect for my kids and I for the week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
It was a very nice resort. The villas are beautiful. I would go back again with my family😉
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resorts. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice resort, pools and grounds are well kept. Little pushy about the timeshare sales. It's far from San Diego, take the traffic into consideration. Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and provide photos from your stay. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights, recommendations and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to your return visit
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff is not concerned about any request

Posted Sep 11, 2016
I do not recommend this to anyone. They do not clean the rooms every day and they do not supply coffee or anything you request!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. Daily housekeeping service is available for a surcharge and arrangements can be made at check-in. I apologize that our front office team did not mention and ask if you would like this service. By allowing guests to choose whether they would like daily cleans or forgo, allows us to keep our pricing competitive. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer service that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at Welk Resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, colorado

Very relaxing, beautiful scenery,

Posted Sep 10, 2016
After running around all day from one point to another it was nice to go back to Welks resort and enjoy the tranquility of the rest of the evening. Mornings are just as beautiful. We will be back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your delightful review. It is great to read that had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us here at the Welk Resort.Thank you for taking the time to post a review. If you return to the area please be sure to visit us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good spacious apartment

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Good size rooms nice location.
Cons: It's a time share resort so you will be asked if you are interested in taking a tour and presentation but they didn't seem offended when I said no.
Location: It's a little in the country side but restaurants and Walmart are a short drive away. Plenty of pools plus golf courses on site.
We book this as it was close to San Diego and it didn't disappoint. San Diego was an easy drive away. The apartment was large and well equipped. The five of us easily fitted in to the space. My one regret was that we didn't stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I appreciate the feedback you provided on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your villa and look forward to having you back for a longer stay next time.