Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. albert, AB

Awesome resort! Perfect for families

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Stayed here for a week with my husband and 2.5yo and it was perfect! Room was great and loved being close to the kids pool and splash park. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Loved having a Starbucks and little market to walk to for anything. The restaurant was great and food very yummy and great prices. Also loved all the daily activities and stuff you could participate in. The fire pit with s'mores was an added bonus. Definitely would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities.Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Amazing Rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2016
My daughter and I recently stayed here for a little mini vacation and we were blown away by the size of the rooms and how nice and comforting they were . They have many things to do so you never really have to leave the resort. Hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant fixed any issue I had . Would reccomend this resort to anybody who's looking for a nice getaway to a nice hotel. Me and my daughter will use this resort for future stays
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but ok

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The place is decent just old and worn. People were ok and sort of helpful. Unless you need a kitchen you are better off booking a hotel room on the beach or downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrenton, VA

Nice resort

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful facility.
Cons: Housekeeping processes need serious attention.
Location: Beautiful desert location and scenery. Trip up to Julian was fantastic, don't miss the apple pie.
8 day stay beginning Thanksgiving Day. Good things- location, facilities that we used were very nice. Food was above average for "hotel" food. Room was comfortable. Not so good things- I called on Monday to find out about clean towels, trash etc. apparently I should have had the room cleaned on Saturday. Each time I needed something, I had to call and request it. During each day there were bags of trash,towels,and cleaning supplies left throughout the outside property. This looked bad. I was told at 9am to put my trash outside my room and someone would come to pick it up. Arrived back to our room around 830pm, trash was still outside but so were other bags around building so I left our bags out. The next morning our bags were torn and trash all around our door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at Welk Resorts and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. We look forward in hopes to welcoming you back again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This is not a hotel. It's a no service time share.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very aggressive on check in, the "concierge" engaged in high pressure sales tactics demanding that we take "a tour." We said no five times, both of us. They tried again the next day, pushing us to schedule a tour and leave our kids in an under staffed play room. The couch bed had no mattress pad, sheets, pillows or blanket. Our call to housekeeping was met with "Go to the closet and make the bed yourself." The facility was not very clean. The shower didn't work well. The screen door was broken. The kitchen didn't have a frying pan or working can opener. After two days of no service to our room we called to find out that only after three nights would they clean the room. Returning to the room from an outing on day 4, we found the trash we left outside the room had been invaded by animals. No service again. After calling the front desk, we learned that there would be no service for our entire stay. Expedia and the Welk Resort misled us completely. It was a very upsetting. Rude treatment by the front desk clerk only added to the upset. She said it was our fault that we had no fresh sheets, towels, soap, shampoo, or coffee. The manager came out and did her best to apologize but the damage was done. This is no Resort Hotel. It's a time share sales trap. The best part of our vacation was spent far far away from the hotel. Not going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Fit our needs for having a relaxing visit

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Great set up with pools fire pits.
Cons: Needs more restaurant options. Better organized check in.
Location: Was confusing at first.. at nite. We came from SD and Temecula...good have way point for a visit.
Very confusing at check out........lines were long glad we did a pre check but getting key was confusing. Could of used more of the basic supplies ...tissues/toilet paper. WE mainly just hung out and brought in some of our own food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

great room...just like home

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: housekeeping staff didn't bother you unless needed...therefore more privacy
Cons: the card keys didn't work very well...also had difficulty getting change for daily newspaper
Location: easy assessable to interstate
very comfortable...nice views from room...convenient food store and restaurant...good food...liked the farmers market...great community live theater...easy assessable laundry...great hills for biking
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Thank you for highlighting our Farmers Market We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't go back

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Mountain Springs Pool
Cons: food options service
Location: near the Safari Park
The front desk staff were not welcoming, and not helpful. In fact, after telling the front desk staff that my husband has cancer, and needs to avoid walking, he told us there were no units without stairs. He put us in a basement level room, that was only accessible via 18 stairs. The "villa" was terrible, felt like a dungeon. When I called the main number to request a refund, so we could go somewhere else, we were moved to a unit with no stairs. What an unpleasant experience! The staff seemed completely unconcerned about the comfort of the guests. The second unit we received was fine, spacious and clean. The nice pool advertised on the website, was far from where we staying. We had to drive. The Mountain Springs pool was lovely, our daughter loved it. The pool snack shack was closed early, and the main restaurant was not good. There were really no other options for food, unless you like Pizza Hut, which I don't. I have stayed at the Welk in Cabo, which was lovely. That is actually what interested me in staying at the Welk San Diego. I would not stay at the Welk San Diego again, unless it was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect, we appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay.We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Mixed feelings.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This hotel is fantastic place to take a family. We rented a one bedroom villa and it had a well stocked kitchen and a washer dryer. The pool was fantastic and my kids loved the water slide. They discovered the games room on the last day and I'm glad it was the last day or they might have spent more time inside than outside. The staff of the resort left much to be desired. They don't give much information and really leave you guessing as to where everything is located. They do not clean the room daily and that is never mentioned. When I requested a room clean and freshened they sent some one to febreeze the room and they did nothing more. This is a great place to stay if you don't expect amazing service. It was perfect for my kids and I for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
It was a very nice resort. The villas are beautiful. I would go back again with my family😉
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resorts. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.