Ratings based on 1,574 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Great place to stay in Downtown San Diego

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: the location and the pool
Cons: change the carpet and clean the outside facade
Location: great restaurant evrywhere
Third trip in San Diego and first time at the Westgate Hotel. Ideally located in downtown San Diego. you will find a great place to stay. Room are nice in old french style, pool on the roof is great. and hotel staff is friendly. I can just recommend you to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Nice hotel. Close to all amenities

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Room comfort.
Cons: Front desk and concierge need better training on how to individualize each guest.
Location: Location was great. However our room was next to the trolley statio so it was very noisy.
Overall this is a very nice hotel. Comfortable, close to everything, very nicely decorated, room service was good. The only area of improvement in my opinion would be the front desk and concierge. Front desk were nice enough but not very helpful in regard to our reservation and what are package included. The concierge was useless. Never returned our calls and never was available. Our room was close to the trolley station so was fairly noisy. Room 1284. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel near to downtown, Gas Lamp, the cov

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I loved the hotel and the staff and the new gym facility. So close to downtown...I was able to walk almost all the places I needed and wanted to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and difficulty to find location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
1. Hotels parking was $40/night, it was too expensive and there was not any thing for parking 2. The cellphone nevigation showed wasn't the hotel, but it was hotel address. It was difficulty to find the hotel using the hotel address
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but noisy

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Good location and very elegant hotel. I really was disturbed by the noise coming from the street though. There's some sort of tram that stops next to the hotel and honks it's horn very loudly about every 5 minutes when it arrives. Be sure to ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

The staff at the hotel were excellent.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The room was outstanding and the fitness center was the best I had seen.
Cons: I am good wit everything.
Location: Gaslight close by for restaurants and sight seeing. The hotel was within walking distance to the harbor.
The staff were friendly and most accommodating. The rooms were very spacious with large bathroom and shower. The location was great and we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business travel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanleness
Old soap left in the shower was disgusting. Staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, excellent service

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: close to cruise terminal so a great place to stop on your wait for your ship
We stayed here while waiting for our ship to sail and it was a great pick. The staff are fantastic. The service was fast and delivered with a positive attitude in all areas of the hotel. Thank you! The room was large and comfortable, especially the bed. The pool is great and good for exercise as it is built for lane swimming. Is heated so good for cooler mornings. The dining room offerings were very tasty and we would recommend it. The flower arrangements are lovely. The decor is older but I hope there will be no changes as we liked it just the way it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Great Gas Lamp location.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
This is an elegant old hotel, beautifully maintained. Excellent Gas Lamp location. Great trolley access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Very chic. Food was underrated, great menu all day

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Stayed at Westgate while in town for wedding, first time in SD. Very accommodating, great location, and would stay here again. Room service is subperb, the masseuse's are the best and the staff is friendly. It holds an old school elegance that will take your mind back in time!