Ratings based on 1,466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This is a stately hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The hotel is conveniently located to the convention center, Petco stadium, the Gaslamp District and the USS Midway Museum. I was there for five days. The room was always spotless and the staff was friendly. Lots of nice restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from niagara falls

Room service

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: San Diego has lots nearby!! Beautiful city.
Food not very good but very expensive. Do not use room service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carson City, NV

No Room Service!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Called for breakfast. Ordered the American breakfast, it included; eggs, potatoes, meat of your choice, toast and juice. I don't remember if coffee was included. When we placed the order my husband told them that we were sharing the breakfast, and that we would like coffee for 2. Breakfast came within their ETA. He brought up, egg, ham, potatoes, pot of coffee, one cup, enough sugar for 1 cup of coffee. This is what we did not get, Toast, juice, table ware, napkin, another cup, and what I though was normal for an upscale hotel, jellies, ketchup, tobacco, water. We let him know what was missing, and I also called room service. A few minutes later room service called to tell us that they had no orange juice. We are getting pineapple juice instead. A good 10 minutes later maybe more, they bring up, ORANGE juice, table ware and a napkin. So once again we ask for toast, a cup, and condiments. At least another 10 minutes later, they bring up the rest of what we need. Of course, breakfast was totally COLD. My husband calls room service to tell them that we expect an adjustment on or bill. She calls back to tell him that they will give us a 20% discount. Wow, how generous of them. When we go to check out, when ask how was everything. We let her know that room service was awful. She took the breakfast totally off our bill. Now for the good part. They maid was wonderful, and the valets were the best part. A big thank you to them. We won't be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Grear location and wonderful staff!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
This hotel is a lititle more Victorian and dated than I'm used to,but that is the only negative. It is a clean,comfortable, friendly hotel that goes above and beyond to make their guest feel special. Their attention to detail and customer service is some of the best I've ever experienced!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Staff was very helpful and welcoming. We'd stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Central location, great views, and opulent hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Restaurant and bar hopping in the Gaslamp district or Little Italy. Marina/waterfront within walking distance. Hotel at corner of 2nd and C streets.
The hotel is beautiful, with an opulent and regal main lobby with stunning chandeliers. Sounds of live music drift into the main lobby during the evenings, as they often have live musicians featured in the piano bar. While I was there, they had a great Brazilian band including a singer, percussionist, guitarist, and saxaphonist/clairinetist. The piano bar is small but intimate and a perfect spot for a date night if you enjoy live music and muted conversations. Check-in was a breeze, as was check-out, and the hotel staff was generally very friendly and hospitable. As an Expedia Gold member, I was hopnig to receive an amenity during my stay since it was promoted as a VIP hotel, but I don't think I received one (they did give bottled water and nightly chocolates, but my guess is that they do that for all guests). The location is safe/secure, and the room I had on the 11th floor had a grand view of the downtown San Diego cityscape. The Westgate is a luxury hotel that I would recommend for anyone coming on business or for pleasure. I didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of any of the spa or fitness services, but it seemed like there are plenty of amenities for those looking to relax and enjoy some down time as well as those who are in town on business. Highly recommended! My only critique is that I wish the amenities promised at the time of booking were made apparent and delivered during my actual stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Great hotel! No ice machines

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Great Hotel! Close to Convention Center and Gaslamp Quarter!! I had a friend who brought a cooler and since there are no ice machines, we needed to order ice more than once a day, which was fine due to excellent staff service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

Business conference at San Diego Convention Center

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Historical details
Cons: plumbing fixtures (faucets)
Location: Perfect locale.
Tea parties, absolutely beautiful building, food was great, very friendly people, great location. Door key was a bit confusing at first, bath fixtures didn't work very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice classic hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The setting, the room and cleanliness.
Location: Perfect central location!
Great experience with this hotel. Enjoyed our one night stay very much!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 28, 2016
I loved this place and can't wait to go back! Pool facilities and staff are fantastic!