Ratings based on 1,588 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Ambiance was great and facilities were above standatds
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

March '17

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Decent location on river but old, worn out. Undergoing major renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Luxury Vintage Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Overall I had a good experience with the staff. This is definitely a vintage luxury hotel, which reminds you of The Breakers or an older mansion. Make sure that you like that style or you'll be extremely uncomfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with character close to Gaslight

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Room service was delicious and efficient. The valet parking was so convenient.
Cons: I am not sure how it can be improved but our room faced the trolley track. It was very noisy at night and early in the morning.
Location: It was within walking distance of the Gaslight District.
Check in was efficient. The hotel has so much old world character. The new fitness center was impressive. We had lunch by the pool one day. It was lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Location.Housekeeping staff was good.
Cons: Either less expensive or more for your money
Location: Great location.Able to walk to many attractions.Lots of dining options nearby
Nice hotel,but expected more for the price paid.Rug had two huge stains.Matress was worn out and provided no support.Internet speed was terrible.Tested my download speed several times over the course of 8 days and it never reached 3 Mbps.Several times it was less than 1 Mbps.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Room was over $250.00 a night. we were put on the trolley track side so we got to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the trolley. People were talking outside our room from 1:00 am to 3:00 am. Very restless night.... will never STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Conveniently located hotel with great staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I enjoyed by stay at the Westgate. I had a corner room with an amazing view of Horton Plaza and the skyline and all of the staff were very pleasant and friendly throughout the week. The room is a little older and furniture was a little shabby, but overall nothing overly noticeable and the beds were really comfy. The hotel is in a great location too! I was able to walk pretty much everywhere. I would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Great place to stay in Downtown San Diego

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: the location and the pool
Cons: change the carpet and clean the outside facade
Location: great restaurant evrywhere
Third trip in San Diego and first time at the Westgate Hotel. Ideally located in downtown San Diego. you will find a great place to stay. Room are nice in old french style, pool on the roof is great. and hotel staff is friendly. I can just recommend you to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Nice hotel. Close to all amenities

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Room comfort.
Cons: Front desk and concierge need better training on how to individualize each guest.
Location: Location was great. However our room was next to the trolley statio so it was very noisy.
Overall this is a very nice hotel. Comfortable, close to everything, very nicely decorated, room service was good. The only area of improvement in my opinion would be the front desk and concierge. Front desk were nice enough but not very helpful in regard to our reservation and what are package included. The concierge was useless. Never returned our calls and never was available. Our room was close to the trolley station so was fairly noisy. Room 1284. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel near to downtown, Gas Lamp, the cov

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I loved the hotel and the staff and the new gym facility. So close to downtown...I was able to walk almost all the places I needed and wanted to go.