Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Most ornate

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel was built in the 70 the the cornice and mounding are amazing service excellent. Carpet a little old but overall I highly recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great staff and location

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Stayed here for 3 days, the staff were amazing and the location makes it easy to adventure downtown San Diego without getting exhausted from walking. Close to Gaslamp and only a 10-15minute drive to the zoo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Ornelas Family Vacation

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We booked four (4) rooms for our entire family of eight (8). Check in was quick & easy, same with check out. The beds were comfortable, rooms spacious, loved the French decor throughout the building. Wish the pool hours were a bit later. Food prices were alright, however the location was great! Close to everything, walking distance to Gas Lamp District, short drive to the beaches and minutes to the air port. Thank you very much we will stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near Civic Theater

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We stayed here for one night to see a show at the Civic Theater. Check in was easy, rooms were spacious and clean. Business center with computers and printers available. Free Wi-Fi. Parking was expensive, but probably in line with other hotels in the area. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Elegance at every turn. Staff consistently went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Awesome service

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff, Pool, Views
Location: Fogo de Chao
We decided to move here after having a horrible experience at another hotel in La Jolla. Westgate Hotel was amazing. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful. I felt like we were treated well and the proximity to Gaslamp was great. Definitely recommend this hotel for guests looking for a relaxing and enjoyable experience in San Diego.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible

Posted Dec 27, 2016
First my fiance got a rash of some sort from the hotel, besides that the heater didnt work so we froze half the time we were in there, and the wall was beginning to peel off. They forgot to give us shampoo and conditioner and even tried to bill me multiple times for things I paid for up front.........we left early because I noticed a rash on my fiance's back which upset her and I.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

A Touch of Paris in San Diego

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: We loved the dining room, and the staff were very helpful and enthusiastic.
My husband and I loved our stay at the Westgate Hotel a week before Christmas this year. The hotel is elegantly decorated in French style, and immaculate. Our room on the 15th floor gave us great views of the city, the bay and the mountains, and was in walking distance to the Embarcadero. The room was immaculate and quiet, with he bathroom and vanity very thoughtfully arranged. And there were no long waits for elevators--they always arrived right away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Everything was perfect! The hotel is fancy & close to everything .. gaslamp is around 8 to10 mins walking distance ! We loved this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to all attractions

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Walking to all the downtown attractions. Great front reseption service