Ratings based on 1,043 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but very $$$ amenities

Posted Aug 26, 2015
36 dollar valet, ordered food by pool a burger, bbq sandwich and salad almost 80 dollars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Classic hotel, bit noisy

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: staff, cleanliness, business center.
Cons: noise level from the street. Windows need to be reviewed or something done like inside solid blind walls, etc.
Location: Perfect to visit San Diego just bordering the Gaslamp district.
Classic hotel, staff very professional. Looks like a business only type of thing. All good except noise level in the room at night from the street. I know this is downtown San Diego but some downtown hotel do better in cutting the noise from the street. If you are not a very solid sleeper, you will need ear plugs. Still the overall is a recommendable hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$90 in room taxes--ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Location, that's about all. Very antiquated rooms--looked like something from the 1970's and kind of said "we cater to an older, less hip crowd".
Cons: Hotel needs a major freshening up. The Westgate might have been the "premier" hotel in San Diego in 1970 but that was 45 years ago. It's 2015 now!
Location: Good location but the bums who camp out around the area certainly don't endear me to it!
I was quoted a price of $169 for one night at this hotel & $189 for an additional night. Not bad I thought to myself and then I got the Expedia bill for $425. What are the additional charges I asked myself--well all kinds of occupancy taxes the Expedia bill stated. Well, OK it's still a good deal even though I was paying $55 in taxes that probably go to the "Chargers need a new stadium so we will bribe them with public money at the expense of tourist" but it is San Diego so OK. Well, I am sure my surprise when I had fork over another $35 in room occupancy charges when I checked out--what a rip-off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach Ca

Excellent downtown location

Posted Aug 14, 2015
From the moment I got there everything went perfectly. Easy valet parking, I got checked in early with a room upgrade. Ended up with a fabulous view, and a great location for hanging out in the gaslamp district. We also had plans to see a concert at the sleeptrain amphitheater, found a taxi right outside the hotel. The staff was so nice and the overall experience was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ube

サンディエゴのダウンタウンに位置する感じのよいホテルです。

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: 部屋とフロントの対応。
Cons: ありません。
Location: サンディエゴのダウンタウン。
理由の詳細は不明ですが、スィートに泊まりました。フロントの対応もよく大変感じが良かったです。また泊まりたいと思います。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Fantastic hotel -- worth every penny!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Location and staff and cleanliness, not to mention the fabulous pool!
Cons: Every night they ran out of pool towels before we went there around 8pm.
Location: Walk easily to Gaslamp Square and Seaport Village. Extremely close to public transportation.
Every staff member we came in contact was amazing! Hotel was clean, very comfortable, and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Stay in San Diego

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Hotel pool, and the hotel's style and charm (from a past time).
Cons: Concierge led us astray with recommendation to Namaste Indian restaurant. We are not fussy or overly critical but that place was NOT good.
Location: Gas Lamp district tour. Go Cars. Patriot Jet Boat in Harbour. Cucina Urbana in Bankers Hill. Cafe 21 and Brians24 in Gas Lamp district.
Just spent the better part of 3 days in San Diego with the family - my wife and two teenage boys. The Westgate was our home base and we were very pleased with our choice. Nice central location. Great old vintage type hotel with some charming features - opening window's doors, older style appointments, large rooms. Loved the hotel pool / spa and were very well taken care of by the valets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Classy yet comfortable.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere and location. Great pool area
Cons: Check in took a long time. One person working at the time.
Location: Good food location, close to local downtown shopping plaza.
Hotel staff was friendly. Good location to Balboa Park/Zoo as well as downtown shopping center. Noise level from city sirens was frequent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Downtown San Diego delight

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Loved the décor, location and the room
Cons: Lobby staff cheerfully tell you about the free bottled water and free wifi then slip in that there is a $13 convenience fee or some such.
Location: Great nightlife. I believe we ended up on 4th Ave - walked past dozens of open busy restaurants and found ourselves eating at La Puerta and loving it
Gorgeous hotel in the heart of San Diego. Maybe 10 minutes from the airport and just blocks from the water. The hotel lobby looked like a beautiful European chateau/palace with amazing antique decor. We had a wonderful room overlooking the financial towers. The room had several comfortable reading chairs, a wonderful King size bed and large bathroom setup. We asked the front desk staff for a recommendation for good Mexican food open late on a Sunday evening. She recommended la Puerta a few blocks down and she nailed it on the recommendation. We were impressed with how lively SD was on a Sunday evening. Took a pleasant walk and the food was amazing. I would not hesitate to book this destination our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Great except one thing

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Very clean room. Lobby was nice. Staff was very nice. Roof top pool and spa was very nice. Spa wasn't too hot or cold. Pool was also good temperat
Cons: Bed was horribly uncomfortable. I could hardly sleep. Could feel springs through mattress. There was also a plastic mattress cover that made a lot
Location: Right across from Horton Plaza and a block from Gaslamp Quarter. Very convenient and not too busy of a Hotel.
Very clean room. Nice views of the city. We were on 15th floor. Quiet room. TV a little small, but functional. AC was nice and cool, but had a little burning smell on occasion coming through vent. Bed was horribly uncomfortable. I could hardly sleep. Could feel springs through mattress. There was also a plastic mattress cover that made a lot of noise every time you moved. Roof top pool and spa was very nice. Spa wasn't too hot or cold. Pool was also good temperature. Pool was little shallow, but good for kids. Lots of towels and could also order poolside beverages. Lobby was nice. Staff was very nice. Never ate in restaurant. $36 to overnight park was pricey. Right across from Horton Plaza and a block from Gaslamp Quarter. Very convenient and not too busy of a Hotel. Would stay there again, if not for horrible bed.