Ratings based on 2,426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Convenient location but look elsewhere

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: There is a spacious parking lot and we were not charged for parking our rental car during our stay.
Cons: Replace beds & pillows. Restrict access & visibility to the family swim area from the bar and provide restroom accessibility. Improve staff response
Location: Access to $$ restaurants. Easy drive to Balboa Park, so much to do and see including the zoo. Easy drive to harbor, beach, and airport.
We reserved a room for two nights with two queen beds for four people. Entering the lobby there is a very prominent sign stating they feature Starbucks Coffee, but no evidence of it anywhere. When asked the following morning I was told it is $1.00 per cup. This was not a barista-made cup of coffee, just a small paper cup of brewed coffee from an air-pot behind the desk. In my experience coffee that is available in the lobby is usually free. The pool is located adjacent to a bar with a wall of windows facing the pool and the pool deck served as a patio for drinking and a smoking area for the bar in the evening, including smoking marijuana. Very uncomfortable situation and should be identified as adults only or not allowed at all in my opinion. Also, there are no restrooms available in the pool area, only a sign directing swimmers back to the front lobby which is around the building and across the parking lot. The first afternoon I went to the front desk to request pool towels as there were none available in the pool area. Waited two hours and still no towels. Second trip to the front desk and only the four towels I requested were delivered, none for the other guests still in the pool and hot tub. Before getting in the pool the second evening, I went to the front desk to request towels and was assured they would be delivered right away. Waited over an hour, no towels ever came. Went back to the front desk, dripping wet, and I was reluctantly given room towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ


Posted Oct 4, 2015
Bathroom has ants, tiles missing, carpet was damp and the bed and sofa were uncomfortable! Aside from the fact that there were dozens of kids partying all night outside!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud, cheap rooms, did not feel comfortable

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Rebuild it, start fresh
Location: Don't, know,,, took a taxi to get far away.
Large property , lots of college kids that keep the party going until late in the night. Non smoking room, with plenty of old cigarette burns on the carpet. Never again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san ramon, ca

Smokey old motel

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Did not have a good experience. our building was around the corner from the front desk. The night manager was talking too fast when I was checking in. The motel is outdated, needs upgrade. Smokey room. Tiny parking lot.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect distance from seaworld and restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2015
It was fast and easy. At a good distance from seaworld and right across from restaurants
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great Room in So-So Area

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The room was very nice, and the lobby was surprisingly huge and comfortable for an otherwise basic motel.
Cons: It's a weirdly shaped property, with many rooms looking over the motel parking lots and not much else. I don't see how this could be improved.
Location: It's near the Sports Arena, so events there are a great reason to sleep at the Wyndham. Not far from Mission Bay, Sea World and Ocean Beach.
We picked up a relatively inexpensive room at the Wyndham thanks to Expedia's "mystery" hotel opportunity. All we needed was a place to sleep that night, and the location was convenient, though far from the best San Diego has to offer.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Served It's Purpose

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Staff was great, pool and pool bar was nice to come back to after a hot day of site seeing.
Cons: rooms are outdated and could benefit from a renovation
Location: This hotel is located across the street from the famous Phil's BBQ and would recommend. SeaWorld about an 8min drive and Zoo about a 20min drive.
Staff is excellent and went out of their way to assist with needs. We didn't rent a car opting to use hotel transit and/or Taxi's. The Hotel transit isn't available on Monday's and only from around 9am through 5pm. If using other transit make sure you discuss charge before leaving the hotel as prices seam to vary. If hotel transit isn't available would recommend metered taxi service. We were upgraded to a room with a seating area and bed area, however the AC was in the seating area which made for some warm nights. We were vacationing to see the sites so weren't in the room very often and it serviced it's purpose just fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not great, Not a 3 Star

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: The restaurant, Nice people, good food
Old hotel in a scary part of town. Ants crawling all over the bathroom sink, broken down air conditioner. Regret booking this place for 2 nights!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly
Cons: Probably not much can be done, but getting around the buildings to our room took a couple circles around the facility. Maybe better signs?
Location: The location was a short drive to everything we needed, airport, food, sightseeing.
We needed a clean comfortable room for the night and we were very satisfied.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable motel close to everything

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Clean and very comfortable bed.
Cons: Up-dating room
Location: Close to everything
Had a wonderful time. The motel is very close to beach and Sea World.