Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure not on train track side.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The commuter train runs every 30 minutes and blows its whistle every time. Kept us up all night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The train kills it

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel is steps from the pier and the beach which is awesome. However the train comes by all through the night and ear plugs are provided but it's quite loud! There is a jacuzzi tub but no bubble bath. The door to the bathroom opens up and hits furniture and blocks the exit making it awkward . In my particular room there was a crazy loud noise coming from some equipment you could hear in the bathroom (so loud it drowned out the music on my phone). The real challenge is it's really a time share and they have 10 rooms they rent out and you have to speak to the sales staff to get your parking pass. I wasn't interested in the breakfast/ presentation and made it clear at check in ..they called me two more times about it which I found a bit obnoxious . The bed is also very hard. Such potential due to location to beach and restaurants but wouldn't stay again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clay, New York

Nice Hotel - Close to the Beach with a Great View

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
We were so pleased with out room. When we opened the door we were overcome with smiles and joy. The view was Nice and the cleanliness was awesome! Thank You Wyndham Oceanside for a wonderful stay in San Diego! We are now Wyndham Customers for life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Spacious, well-appointed hotel resort

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
We rented a studio with a King bed. It was very big, included a sofa and a bathroom that was very large. Although we did not request handicap accessibility, this studio was accessible with lots of room for anyone who travels in a wheelchair. The second floor pool has a view of the ocean and was kept at 82 degrees, so swimming was possible even in early February. The hotel even supplies beach towels to use!The location was a quick walk to the beach and to many restaurants. Thursday morning there is a Farmers Market at the street on the backside of this hotel, and Thursday evening there is an international street festival, which has food booths from just about every country you can imagine, handcrafted clothing, jewelry and art. There is alot to do without having to drive, but there is even more within a short drive: San Luis Mission about 20 minutes drive is well worth it for history fans, and the Audubon Nature Center is about a 10 minute drive for nature lovers. Hotel staff are great about helping you find things that you would like to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arnold MO

Extremely nice accommodations and staff

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Love the entire experience, great fun and stay location.
Cons: Nothing I can think of, everything was perfect.
Location: Lots of stuff to do in walking distance.
The pier is amazing, staff is very friendly and the condo was very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Love staying in Oceanside because of the convenience and affordability from Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms and good customer service
Cons: The smell in the elevators. Smells like a subway restaurant when you step inside one of them!
Stayed here for 4 nights and the room was great. Only downside was that the elevators smelt like you were in a subway restaurant!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time-share not a hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We decided on the Wyndham because our friends we getting three nights free for going through a 90 minute presentation. We had a short wait to check-in (one clerk) and then were sent across the lobby to the concierge to get our parking permit. There were four clerks at the concierge counter when we got our permit, but they spent more time trying get us to sign up for a presentation then they did giving us the permit. After we got to our room we called our friends to meet for dinner. It turns out that they were NOT at the Wyndham but rather at the Holiday Inn, over one mile away. (they came on the train and had to walk between the two) Our room was very nice with a full kitchen, small balcony, bedroom, sitting room, and a full bathroom with whirlpool tub. We put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door at night so we could sleep in and housekeeping wouldn’t bother us. We were gone the next day from 10:00 am to 7:00 pm. When we came back to the room we found there had been no housekeeping. It turns out that there is no housekeeping until the fourth day. We wouldn't have put our used towels on the floor if we'd known we weren't getting new ones. We would have stayed at the Holiday Inn had we know that our friends were going to be there. It would have cost less and they have maid service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Monstrosity

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: We discovered the 608 restaurant on Mission Street within walking distance. The chef is brilliantly creative.
Cons: See above.
This monstrosity of a hotel/timeshare blocks out what once was an organic, funky beach community that is now in "transition" into just another anonymous overpriced locale. At least, that's what moneyed interests obviously want it to be. Despite its pretensions at luxury, this Wyndham betrays itself as a developer's bloated conceit: Whoever supervised the design & decor was tone deaf, as the place lacks any form of savvy attention to detail or nuance in planning. Take our room, for example: 1- The view--an ugly parking lot & construction zone; no ocean (why not put the utility facilities, like the laundry & custodial areas, on this side of the building instead of guest rooms?). 2- A frequent, noisy train running right beneath our useless veranda blaring its horn (I suppose one could call it "luxury" in that the hotel provides earplugs?). 3- A large coffee-maker on a desk that has no plug nearby (we put it on the small bathroom sink). 4- Merely foot-long power cords on coffee-maker & hairdryer with no extensions. 5- No microwave, though the room has an empty fridge). 6- A large bathroom with space for a table, but no table; where do we put our clothes? Hang them on the small door hook or towel rack, of course. 7- A huge spa tub guaranteed to waste water in our SoCal drought, while a separate shower stall paradoxically provides a low-flow shower head. 8- No charging station or ports; nobody thought to provide lamps with plug-ins on the base to satisfy this obvious need?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff were very friendly. They pointed out things to do in the area as well as restaurants that were within walking distance or that delivered. We stayed in a normal, 1 king bed room verses a condo. Only down side is that there isn't a microwave. The hotel Is near the train tracks so keep this in mind!!