Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Earplugs

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Accomodations, pool
Cons: You check visit the resort side to get the parking pass. They push hard to go to the time share presentations. Not pleasant.
Location: Thursday farmer market is close. Lots of nice shops.
The room we stayed in was nice in cleanliness, staff was pleasant and helpful. We notice ear plugs and that was to be used while sleeping due to commute train going by every 1/2 hour. Check out time is 10am. Stay away from the vacation resort side. They are like vultures. The pool and hot tub is very nice. Very close access to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Secure hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Having a kitchenette and laundry in room.
Cons: The microwave was loud on both settings. The washing machine squeaked when agitating the laundry. Little things only.
Location: see above
We enjoyed the deluxe suite so I could get up early, have coffee and enjoy the ocean while my spouse slept in undisturbed in the bedroom. This hotel is a close walk to downtown for the fresh market set up on Thursday am and the evening variety of eating stands that were set up as well. Many different cuisine artists and 3 different music genres. Fun atmosphere and nice weather to walk around. Many different restaurants to choose from and wonderful Chinese massage experts close by. The pier and ocean are out the front door and the area is well patrolled by local police. We felt very safe in our area and hotel with key access only to upper levels. The pizza parlor in lobby level serves fantastic pizza. I would've liked it if they had a 10% discount to hotel patrons like a few other restaurants do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Close to beach also had heated hot tub and pool
Cons: beds and have pool and hot tub open later
Location: Across from beach within walking distance to everything.
Bed and pull out sofa were very uncomfortable only slept a few hours each night. Staff were asking if we would like to sit in on a timeshare meeting each time we walked past.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surprise, AZ

A disappointment

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, nice toiletries, complimentary Internet, terminals available in lobby for airline boarding pass printing.
Cons: Offer a breakfast buffet! Redirect the A/C vents away from the bed. Don't promise free donuts if you're not going to deliver.
Location: Access to downtown is via underpass under the railroad tracks -- hangout for the unsavory! Walk down one block to Mission Ave & cross tracks there.
This place is mostly show and little substance. Looks great but -- they really try to push the "welcome packet" on you, to the extent of leaving voice mail asking why you didn't pick it up. No breakfast buffet! Room was nice -- comfortable bed -- but A/C vent blew directly on bed! Bathroom sink was clogged -- didn't the maid notice this when she made up the room? Notice put under door promised free donut (one per person, please) upon checkout -- but none were in evidence. I was expecting much, much more for the money. I won't stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Location, gym, sauna, pool.
Cons: Provide hotel services
Location: beach, loads of walking, to shops, restaurants, transport trains buses etc.
We were expecting a hotel with all normal services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price and very helpful staff

Posted Jan 4, 2016
My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. Walking distance to many shops and across the street from the beach and pier. I would highly recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't pay me to stay here again.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The pool and jacuzzi were disgusting. The tub in the room had dirt, "stuff" and hair attached to the drain and jets. It was so loud...the train wasn't even the worst of it. The floors and walls are paper thin. You literally hear everything going on around you...hallways, pools, outside. They don't change your sheets unless you specifically ask them to. All they care about is pushing their timeshare onto you and when you say no they treat you like sh**. And the parking sucks. Literally couldn't pay me to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Horn blowing sales pitch

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Booked two standard hotel rooms last minute. Price was a concern. Found this hotel next to the pier at a good rate. Upon check in I noticed ear plugs at the front desk. Hmmm. I noticed them again up in our room. Hmmm. All night the horn blows from the tracks, but no mention on the booking site or upon check in. Worse... upon check in, I had to endure a quick sales pitch on vacation rentals before I could receive my parking pass. Not happy. As well, they try and profile your Family by asking too many personal questions about kid"s names, ages, etc. It's not normal and I expect they will attempt to contact me for a follow up sales pitch. I booked from than online site, so maybe they didn't know I was there just for the rooms. That is something this property should consider if trying to fill occupancy from an online site. No, I did not sign up for a free weekend based on a two hour seminar. I just booked two hotel rooms online... so I thought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Location, price and it was clean except for the coffee pot. For some reason our room service never cleaned it or the cups?
Cons: Communications, We asked for no room service one day they still came anyway, We checked out a 8 they called me at 11 and asked when I was going leave?
Location: On the beach lots to do
We we"re there during the Christmas Holidays with family so we didn't spend much time in the room, there was a little noise above us from the 7th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Nice hotel with beautiful views. You need to know that the train is very loud and the complementary earplugs and sound maker do not mask the train noise. The first night I think the last train was around 11 or 12 pm, and started up again around 6 am. The second night I heard it at 1 am. Maybe check the train schedule ahead of time if this will bother you. Otherwise, friendly staff, great restaurants within walking distance, beautiful view of the ocean from their Skylounge on the 7th floor, view from the pool area is beautiful as well.