Ratings based on 803 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

OK for a night

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Just a place to sleep. I would hesitate to go back though, mainly because when I left at c. 5:30am a parked car blocked at least half of the fire engine access lane into the courtyard between the two buildings of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vista CA

Last chance in the area for that night

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The adults had their own room with much better air-conditioning than the rest of the suite.
Cons: Way too much for me to list here. Mainly, needs updating of every surface.
Location: We went to the Reagan Preslidential Library from here and it was a convenient enough location for that, our reason for staying in the area.
We had a really hard time finding a last minute hotel for the night near our destination. Ended up here after Expedia showed a room available to sleep our family of 4, two adults and two elementary aged children who won't share a bed. Booked a "suite" that said it had room for 5. Turns out, it was a Kind bed (good), and a fold-out couch that might have been double bed size. I have no idea how you'd fit 5 people. When we arrived at 8 pm, it was clear that it was not ideal. Bar next door, visible security in our parking lot, a woman complaining in the lobby "Why do you lock that door? No one else who works here ever locks that door". Not sure what door she was talking about--may have been the lobby restrooms which were, indeed, locked much to the dismay of my 8 year old who needed it. The clerk did not offer to unlock the door, just told the security woman who came in to say the other woman was still complaining that it was "not my problem". Then, it took forever to check-in and he was clearly upset that we used Expedia. Made us show proof that we paid, not the receipt from Expedia, but actually proof that our card was charged. We had used Paypal and eventually were able to log in to that account and shown him the money was sent. then, he asked me for the number for Expedia so he could call and find out what kind of room they sold us. I couldn't find it and he eventually said "nevermind, I'll find it myself." I could go on and on but am out of characters.)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected experience

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Well this is actually my first time reviewing a place only because I haven't had a bad experience like this one. I've had stayed at the ramada before just not this location. This one seems to be an older facility in need of tons of renovations. The 1st thing that started off wrong was when I tried to check in the front staff was conversing w themselves. Then the door to the rooms was jammed so I had to go ask for them to open it. Apparently it has its own way of opening it where they had to wiggle it. Then the building I stayed in had a few dents and the wall paper was half ways out....but one thing that caught me off guard was the toilet seat was peed on which was very disgusting to say the least. Lastly, the bed squeaked so bad it kept waking me up at night.I tried calling the front but no answer....probably the worst experience I've had....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good lication

Posted Jun 26, 2017
This hotel needs to be remodel a bit. The breakfast was good. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful, it was overpriced but we need a hotel to be close to a wedding venue for one night and the location was great. I probably stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Convenient

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice place to stay, plenty of room, staff was really nice, Breakfast is really good. It needs little more clean up (walls were a little dirty) and remodeled. There were lots of places where you can tell they did patchwork, wallpaper was starting to peel, air conditioning filter needed to be cleaned. Overall, If I had to stay in that citiy again I'd still rent a room there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pismo

Close to UCIs office

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Cero customer service from night staff. I guess thats the only option close to UCIS office.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel was ok. The front desk people weren't too friendly or welcoming; but they get the job done quick.. Our room had an old smell to it, but a bottle of febreeze and the A/C unit blasting fixed that. There was a yappy dog next to us that was very annoying because you couldn't walk in or out of your room without it barking. Overall, for the price it was worth our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Cons: sound proofing walls
son's graduation. was awakened next early morning by loud conversations next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was awful!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
There was a staff member that treated me and my girlfriend with no respect. He wouldn't help and caused our stay there to be miserable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Good employees, security guards could improve and do the job. Decent place overall.