Featured Image

Reviews of Hotel Whitcomb

3.5 out of 5
Hotel Whitcomb
1231 Market St, San Francisco, CA

Overall score and ratings

3.5

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 394 out of 1661 reviews
5 - Excellent 24%
Rating 4 - Good. 541 out of 1661 reviews
4 - Good 33%
Rating 3 - Okay. 358 out of 1661 reviews
3 - Okay 22%
Rating 2 - Poor. 210 out of 1661 reviews
2 - Poor 13%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 158 out of 1661 reviews
1 - Terrible 10%

3.7/5

Cleanliness

3.8/5

Staff & service

3.2/5

Amenities

3.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
The hotel is a bit old. It's great if you're looking to stay in a property with a historical aspect. Check-in was troubling. I don't recall on the Hotel's description here on Expedia or on their own website that the deposit was $400 up front. I stayed for 6 days so that should have been around $170. The room I stayed in was okay. The bathroom was small and the furniture was peeling. How you watch TV in the room was a little new which was appealing. You use a Chromecast and then just link your favorite streaming services to it. However, the chromecast kept cutting out. The room service was also not always available. I was told that they stopped at 4pm. However, I would leave in the morning to go sight-seeing and my room would not be cleaned at all. The bar in the lobby was lovely, however the food area where you can buy breakfast and lunch was often unattended. I had an okay stay but I felt that given how old and expensive the hotel was the service could have been a lot better. It was disappointing.
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The only highlight of this hotel is a man named James. Everything else was crap. Other staff were very dismissive. The room had peeling wall paper. Everything is dark, old and dingy. Neighborhood is sketchy as well.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel good location!
Lovely hotel, good location just off tram lines. Fair sized rooms and good value for money. Great breakfast counter in the lobby
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Refused to refund my stay even though I was unable to travel due to corona virus. This rating applies to both Expedia and The Hotel Whitcomb. Both of these companies had the choice to do the right thing, neither did. Not only will I never use Expedia or this hotel again, I will make it my mission to dissuade others from doing so. I hope both of these disgusting profiteering companies cease to operate ASAFP.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The hotel was nice inside with beautiful wood carved
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service
The rooms look much larger in the pictures, it was challenging move past the overly large chair. The lobby was clean, most staff were inviting. There was however one night staff the called my partner an impolite name to say the very least which made her very uncomfortable and upset. I also just checked my credit card and there is a $60 charge from the hotel eventhough we left the room in ok condition (trash in trash cans, all dirty laundry in a pile) I will not be staying at this hotel again.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
It's old but sheets and towels were crispy clean as were facilities.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It’s secure, beautiful hotel lobby interior, and helpful, courteous staff.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great, very convenient ........ two thumbs up! Worth the rate I paid
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
It is near the Orpheum Theater but otherwise not much nearby.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Barely passes a Go!!
This is a vintage old hotel that they have maintained by covering up instead of replacing and updating worn out decor. Wall paper is old has has visible signs of repair. There were holes in the wall where maybe a picture used to hang. They charge a $30 per day resort fee when you arrive that covers the in room safe, insurance on the safe, access to the small gym, wifi and daily room cleaning. This is included for free at all other hotels outside of SF in the bay area. That being said, I got a great deal and paid $100 a day. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets, the bathroom was clean, however the toilet seat was old and had gone thru many hole repairs, the toiletries were nice, the towels were newish and clean. I got a good nights rest. However the population outside of the hotel are drug addicts..tons of them looking like the walking dead on the street as you try to enter the hotel. If this is the best that you can afford, go for it, it gets the job done and is right in front of the MUNI and BART metro, so it will get the job done!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very quiet hotel, I liked how it was well kept for a older hotel, the homeless population by BART made walking in that direction uncomfortable, but wasn't bad in front of the hotel
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I enjoyed the fact that it’s a historical landmark and that most of its aesthetics were kept to show the era that the hotel was built. The rooms of course were updated to modern standards at the same time keeping some of its blast from the past look. It’s a convenient location and I loved it.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
JPM
Expensive because of the conference time. Did not eat at the hotel even once.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
From the moment we checked in, Hotel Whitcomb has the best service we’ve ever experienced at a hotel. I checked in on my birthday and when we got to our room, there was a cane and a bottle of wine waiting along with a birthday card. Every time we went to the lobby, we were greeted warmly. The ornate design and history behind this hotel makes it one that anyone should stay at. Tyler, the manager, made sure our stay was perfect and the front desk was always accommodating. It’s located in a great spot if you plan on seeing Hamilton and transportation is very accessible. I will definitely be back when traveling to San Francisco.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable, internet is good, chromecast to the tv is fantastic. Rooms are small but that didn’t bother me.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Hotel Whitcomb for business
Convenient for business, love the historical building - beautiful. Electrical in rooms is old, air/heating is old. No coffee in room, must pay in lobby. Bed comfortable, staff was great!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property itself was very good They’re could have been more information about the hotels history in general perhaps an into book on the room as a guide - concieraige regularly checked in via text to see how are stay was so it was easy to ask questions. The lobby was beautiful The staff - excellent from security to front desk staff and house services - friendly and helpful above and beyond . Cocktails at bar and bar service-delicious Accommodations were simple classic and comfortable . Environment -clean The only downside is they’re was very obvious dealings at pretty much at every street corner in the area and a lot of police around as well and the general theme was diverse and rich in culture and I never felt unsafe however the climate changes quickly from the front of the hotel to the surroundings within walking distance It makes it definetly difficult to have a family theme for walking to a nearby venue in the evening And that’s my honest opinion Wd I stay again ? Yes
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The hotel had a lot of character. The walls were virtually soundproof as we did not hear anything outside of our room.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good price & good location to the Orpheum Theater
Best place to book if seeing a play at the Orpheum Theater, approx. 50 paces from the front door to crosswalk, then across the street to the theater - no driving necessary! We were given an upgrade to a suite which was very nice & unexpected (Thank you!) That said, the suite was on the 'street side' which for us was very noisy. We live rurally and expected some city noise, but there was a major construction site (large, commercial building) going up across the street (loud, explosive noise during the afternoon) plus sirens all night. Market Street must be a major way through San Fran. or they just had a lot of emergencies that night. Lots of yelling and arguing from people on the street as well. We laughed at ourselves when returning home as we didn't think to ask for a different room (we don't get out much!). The hotel service was excellent, the rooms were very clean. The bathroom was spotless, yes, there isn't much space to put your things out on a pedestal sink in any bathroom, but there was a small cabinet next to the sink that accommodated our needs. When we come back to see another show at the Orpheum Theater we will stay at this hotel again. We'll just ask for a room 'not' on the street side!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The room is lovely, with lots of old world charm. The lobby has great elegant features but, like the hallways, suffered from what looks like a hastily and inexpensive 80’s renewal. Well located near the Civic Center, the headquarters of Twitter and hip Hayes St.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby had a strange smell, like overwhelming incense. The room had some issues such as outlets not working and the bathroom door handle was loose and seemed ready to fall off.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Amazing character building, most beautiful interior decor ever. Landmark hotel in SF
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
central location and very nice rooms. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
arking
Great except website said free parking,,,?????
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Not too bad
The hotel itself is beautiful, I personally loved the historical feel and decor. The service was excellent, staff are incredibly friendly and helpful! Especially having had a 6month old the way staff catered to our family was awesome! I had only two major complaints about our stay at this hotel. If water pressure is important to you let me just say you will be incredibly disappointed! the old building pipes don't allow for adequate water pressure. You will also be aware of every other guests flush. The water temperature goes from extremely hot to cold ever so often. Secondly. The old windows do not drown out any city noise. Being in the center of downtown there will be a lot of noise, police sirens every other hour and homeless people outside yelling at night. If can look past this its otherwise a pretty adequate stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Hamilton
Great place to stay when going to see Hamilton. Bathroom was a bit worn, but over all clean. Neighborhood was a bit scary with many homeless. Bart station nearby with easy access to SFO.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
For an older property they have fixed it up very nice, beautiful lobby, nice having a cafe. Valet parking was a huge plus. Being so close to Orpheum theater was perfect.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The lobby is beautiful and the rooms comfortable I consider this establishment a FIND of the
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Super close to the BART station. Easy access to the buses, walking distance to lots of restaurants and theaters, Staff was extremely helpful and kind.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Noisy, smelled like weed, run down room, not clean.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
It was historic but really understaffed. Room wouldn’t be cleaned until 3pm and the staff spilled bleach on my blouse.
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property was absolutely disgusting. The ceiling was leaking, there was no trash bags, the customer service was terrible. Do not recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful old hotel. Well maintained. Staff goes above and beyond to make guests feel comfortable. Bernie at the front desk was more than accommodating at check in. Rooms are tiny, and fixtures are not at all modern, but beds are comfortable and everything functions as it should! I would highly recommend this hotel. Can’t be beat for the nightly rate!!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Great historical property! I had a big room with wonderful high ceilings and two closets. Plenty of room! Wish I could have studied there longer. Very atmospheric and cool. Not crazy about the colors of the carpeting but the halls, but loved all the mirrors in the big wide hallways.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020