Lobby

Reviews of Sir Francis Drake Hotel

4 out of 5
Sir Francis Drake Hotel
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA

Overall score and ratings

4.0

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 231 out of 527 reviews
5 - Excellent 44%
Rating 4 - Good. 153 out of 527 reviews
4 - Good 29%
Rating 3 - Okay. 78 out of 527 reviews
3 - Okay 15%
Rating 2 - Poor. 41 out of 527 reviews
2 - Poor 8%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 24 out of 527 reviews
1 - Terrible 5%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

3.8/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
We loved the history of the lobby. Beautiful hotel.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 17, 2020
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We definitely take pride in our history and love sharing it with our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to invite you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Classic Beauty!
Nothing shy of perfect. Had wanted to stay here for many years. Classic Beauty!!!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 11, 2020
Thank you so much for the amazing review Teddy! I am very partial to our beautiful hotel too! I look forward to the next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Very good location to access any part of the city with
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 11, 2020
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and our center of the city, Union Square location. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I read a lot of reviews concerning this property, some good some bad. I had a great stay . Staff was helpful, friendly and willing to do what it took to make up happy even let us check in early. Doormen were very knowledgeable about the city. Places to eat, transportation etc... daily happy hour was great and the WiFi worked well. Beds were great. Only complaint is I had a 9th floor city view and could still hear outside noise. I would definitely recommend this place!!
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 11, 2020
Hi there, Thank you so much for the amazing review and I always appreciate guests that do their home work prior to arrival to find a hotel that best fits their needs. I am so happy to see our doormen took amazing care of you and you enjoyed our new mattresses. Our central location does lend itself to city sounds at times and we are always happy to get guests on a quieter side of the building if they prefer less noise over our amazing views. Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Kimpton Sir Francis Drake in the near future!

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The rooms were very clean and nicely designed however the toilet seats were not elongated which was a surprise and disappointment in a property of this level. The walls between the rooms are really really thin and we can pretty much hear everything including even normal conversations from the room next door.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Mar 14, 2020
Thank yo for taking the time to leave us feedback, we certainly appreciate it.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 9, 2020
Thank you for the perfect score! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Fantastic location and beautiful old hotel. Located one block off Union Square. Plenty of restaurants nearby, but most close by 10:00 PM. Our only issue was it's quite noisy in that area.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 5, 2020
Hi there, Thank you for recognizing our fantastic location and beautiful, historic hotel. Union Square definitely is the hub of activity in the city and while some restaurants do close at 10pm, we are always happy to suggest some late night options in the neighborhood. Hoping to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 5, 2020
Thank you for the 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Old fashioned hotel with lovely features. Some rooms may need updating if that works with the period features.
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for the great review and I am thrilled you appreciated our property and features. I hope we can invite you back soon and we will do our best to make it a full 5 star stay!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for the amazing review Mark! Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Kimpton Sir Francis Drake in the near future!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Fantastic look, great location. Loved the decor and the history of the place.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 4, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words! I love seeing you appreciated our great location and our aesthetic. Our property is definitely steeped in history and we love sharing it with our guests. Hope we can welcome you back soon and thanks again!

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rooms were very dated and very expensive. Friendly staff tho
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Tony on Mar 4, 2020
Hi Maux, Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, though it disappoints me to know we let you down on the rest of your stay. If you have a chance, please reach out to me at Anthony.roumph@sirfrancisdrake.com and I would appreciate the opportunity to address any concerns.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2019
Response from Tony on Mar 4, 2020
Thank you so much for the amazing rating Rosalind, I hope we can welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 29, 2020
Thank you for the rating! If you have additional feedback, please reach out to me directly.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 29, 2020
Thank you for the rating! If you have additional feedback, please reach out to me directly.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place
Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 29, 2020
Thank you for the great feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent styling in the lobby, rooms, and other areas. Parking is the only issue, but that's an issue pretty much anywhere you go in SF.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 21, 2020
Thank you for the feedback! We hope you visit again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 21, 2020
Thank you for the rating. If you have additional feedback, please reach out directly.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 21, 2020
Thank you for the rating. If you have additional feedback, please reach out directly.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was clean and met my expectations. The staff is amazing and very friendly! They really made my stay so enjoyable.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 21, 2020
Thank you for the great feedback! Please come back for another visit soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 14, 2020
Thanks for the review. If you have additional feedback, please let me know.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Rooms are small and they fee you to death. We will not stay in San Francisco any more. $72.00 a day parking fee plus tax! Really?
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 14, 2020
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you felt the parking was expensive. Our rates are competitive with the area.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thanks for the rating! Please let us know if you have additional feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property excellently maintained. Outstanding staff.
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope you come back again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thanks for the rating! Please let us know if you have additional feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thanks for the rating! Please let us know if you have additional feedback.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Starlight was great. Lobby Not so much
Amazing location and history. the very small restrooms were cramp. the showerhead was the loudest noisiest I have ever heard. The Lobby bar closes at the discretion of the bartender and that makes no sense
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I love the hotel and location, everything it’s perfect and clean
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Thank you for the feedback, we hope you had a great stay!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing hotel—you won't be disappointed!
This location was SO GOOD. As was the service. We also loved our room. When I booked this hotel, I was torn between this one and another, and I'm SO glad I chose Sir Francis Drake! We were able to walk every that was important to us (Curran Theater, Japantown, Fisherman's Wharf, Ferry Market, etc.), plus it was SUPER convenient to the Powell St. station. Our main reason for this trip was for the Harry Potter plays, and this was super close to the Curran Theater. The trip was for my husband's birthday, and the staff sent up a bottle of prosecco, two bottles of sparkling water, and a DELICIOUS, golden devil's food cupcake—on the house! Honestly, this hotel exceeded my expectations. The negatives I saw others leave before were non-existent or only minor inconveniences. Yes, there's an amenity fee and we, like many others, did not use the amenities. But this fee was clearly marked on hotels.com since the beginning, so we were expecting it and factored it into the overall cost. Yes, the toilet is oddly close to one wall. We are both larger people and it wasn't an actual problem. Yes, San Francisco is a loud city, and you can occasionally hear street noise—that's just how cities like this are in my experience. The hotel was lovely, the staff was even lovelier, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to someone. SUCH a great pick for our Harry Potter and the Cursed Child weekend and my favorite trip to San Fran ever, in large part due to this hotel.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Emily N. on Feb 8, 2020
Wow! Thanks for the awesome feedback. We are so happy you had a great time in SF. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Team Drake on Feb 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind review!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The staff was wonderful and helpful. The room was very small, I had to ask for a blanket for our bed, and the water pressure in the shower was terrible—I got cold standing in the stream because it was so low. It was a great location, as far as walk ability to Union Square.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Team Drake on Feb 3, 2020
Thank you for your feedback & please come visit us again!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Business trip in San Fran
Decent sized rooms for San Francisco and the beds were very comfy. Happy Hour for wine is a nice touch as well.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 25, 2020
Thank you for the feedback! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 25, 2020
Thank you for the rating, if you have additional feedback let us know!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 25, 2020
Thank you for the rating, if you have additional feedback let us know!

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property is run down and very hard to get a good nights sleep with all the noise. They allow dogs, so the room next door had a dog barking all night. When the air was running the vent made an annoying clicking sound.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
I am so sorry to hear about the problems you experience. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thanks for the rating!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating!

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Even though I had paid in FULL through Expedia, upon check-in the front counter agent demanded a GUEST AMENITY FEE of $29.95, even though I'm not using ANY of them. After the $100 deposit, the next morning the bill under the door had charged to my $33.77 as there is also a GUEST AMENITY FEE TAX added! I will not stay here again. There wasn't even any coffee IN the room, and water bottles at $6 each.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the feedback. Expedia clearly states the Guest Amenity Fee on their website so it is not a surprise to the guest. Please let us know if the information was not provided on your confirmation.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
A great way to tarnish a hotel visit is to wake up on the morning you leave to find a sizable bill slid under the door for "guest amenities." I thought I had paid for the hotel via Expedia. No further charges were mentioned at check-in. So, $100 was added to the bill at check-out. Plus, a $6 charge from the wet bar. We did know we had a wet bar. We searched the room and found a drawer in a dresser chock full of candy, liquor shots, and what not. How would someone know if something was missing? It was a nice, clean, historic hotel near Union Square. I wished I known what I was paying when I made the reservations.The only amenities we used were the toilet and the elevator...
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the feedback. Expedia clearly states the Guest Amenity Fee on their website so it is not a surprise to the guest. Please let us know if the information was not provided on your confirmation.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating! Come back and visit again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating! Come back and visit again soon!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating, if you have additional feedback, please feel free to reach out.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating! Come back and visit again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for the rating! Come back and visit again soon!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
location is fantastic, rooms are quite small, bathrooms are very cramped, lounge is nice but with the open front entrance can be quite cool. Amenities? did not know it had any, until I was charged $30 per day for an 'Amenity Charge', for which we did not use any of the 'amenities'.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thank you for reaching out! Expedia clearly states the Guest Amenity Fee on their website. If you do not have this information on your confirmation, please reach out.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent stay at this hotel. Thank you. Very central.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 9, 2020
Thanks for the great feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel but lacking amenities
The room was great but lacked the microwave and fridge. Also was very noisy in the middle of night. Nice location though
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 9, 2020
Thanks for the feedback!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
Response from Emily N. on Jan 9, 2020
Thanks for the rating. We hope you come back again soon!

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very small rooms and bathrooms. Not worth the price for the stay or the location.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are always trying to improve operations so comments like this are so important.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Best location in San Francisco
really a great hotel in the perfect location
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from Emily N. on Jan 19, 2020
Thanks for the great feedback!