Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gosford australua

Close to tourist attractions

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Found rooms clean & comfortable, short taxi ride to piers,.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Car broken into, apparently a common issue here

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cons: Have better parking lot security. Hire a security guard or make the lot gated, get better cameras, something.
Don't stay here if you intend to bring a vehicle. There were security cameras everywhere, yet our car was still broken into. The cameras were not good enough to even detect whether the culprit was male or female, so there is really no hope of catching the person. The staff members alerted us of the break in with a simple phone call - "Hello, your car was broken into this morning." They did not come and get us when it happened, even though they knew because of the alarm going off. They told us they "usually send people to the north police station," which shows us that apparently, this happens there all the time, since there is a preferred police station! The room seemed really nice inside, no hand soap though. Don't be fooled by the nice interior, because if you park your car in the lot, there is a good chance it will be broken into and the staff will notice and not call the police, knock on your door, or do anything about it other than refer you to a nearby station. We didn't even have anything to steal, just a broken car window and a bad memory of San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Housekeeping great, front desk people horrible

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We had no problem our first night , we stayed Tue-Sat We drove 13 hours to our hotel , when we got there we were amazed by the wonderful shower heads . We had a late start on Wednesday, we left our room by 1, no housekeeping was done witch wasn’t bad . Thursday came around and we needed towels to shower, the lady at the front desk was rude and handed me 1 towel(there’s two of us) . I kinda was scared to ask for another one . She accused me of having loud music that mornjng (it was only 9am and I had just woken up) . On Friday , the older man working the desk was also rude , asking us if the car parked in parking lot was ours we said yes and he immediately took off as we had asked him a question . I believe the rude man and lady are the owners. Only highlight of the place was the housekeepers . Would never stay here again .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location for the price I paid, until my friend and I started getting a rash. Turned out we had been bitten by bed bugs. It wasn't until I got home that I had the reaction, hers reacted immediately so we assumed she was bitten by mosquitos or something. After an expensive trip to the dermatologist it was undoubtedly bed bugs. If I had know I'd be dishing out more $$$ for a dermatology bill, I would have spent the extra money to go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moreno valley

Posted Sep 4, 2017
It was a good experience, staff was great very respectful and the rooms were super clean and very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pelham, NY

It's OK

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel is fairly clean. And has a free parking (a big deal for SF) on the first come basis. However, it's surrounded by homeless shelters and their patrons. If you don't have a stomach for it, look elsewhere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach

affordale, but not a nice area

Posted Aug 28, 2017
It's a long walk, but ok. Not a nice walk at night on Ellis st. We wife and I were stressed when there's lots of homeless on Ellis and by the civic center on market. We saw them injecting themselves with some sort of substance. There's only certain areas of San Fran that's decent to walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Confirtable and very nice staff

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Not a great area, but up and coming, and convenient location. Staff was terrific. Helped me locate a good close parking spot for us- my husband just had surgery and can't walk far. Helped us unload the car!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from folsom

Dangerous area

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Many homeless living around this place. At check in warnings about not leaviing valuables in car due to many breakins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley BC Canada

Nice hotel close to Union Square

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel office staff very nice nit far from Union Square