Ratings based on 1,080 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good price for decent hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I stayed at Alexis park hotel for a weekend trip to San Francisco and it was good for the price you pay. It's in the tenderloin so of course there are going to be some homeless people hanging around. The good thing about this place is that it's close to everything in SF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good room for the price

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Great bed, very clean
Cons: Add fridges. Do more to keep transients away from the facilities
Location: On the upside, the Tenderloin has a lot of bars and restaurants, and is within walking distance to great neighborhoods
The bed was super comfortable, room was very clean, and the bathroom looked like it had been fairly recently updated. The staff was neither especially rude or polite - service was sufficient. At the same time, there was no fridge (which is rare in my experience for a hotel), and ice cost a quarter. I think other reviewers may have written that there's no A/C here, either. So while they nail the important stuff (bed, cleanliness), there's a few items/amenities that could be improved upon. The big drawback is the neighborhood, which is one of the most notoriously seedy sections in San Fran. Depending on which street you walk or corner you turn, the Tenderloin can be either gritty or downright disturbing. There's also a lot of street noise. But this doesn't reflect on the Alexis Park. To get a comfy, clean room in downtown SF at this price is going to require some compromise. I've spent a lot of time in the Tenderloin and never had a problem. Just like with any other bad neighborhood in a big city, as long as you look like you know where you're going, stay out of alleys and empty streets, and don't engage the crazies you'll be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Sonoma county

Close to Bill Graham

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Super convenient location if you're going to the Bill Graham. We stayed here for just one night and it was just fine, average hotel. If you're just looking for a hotel to get ready at and to just sleep at, this one is perfect. They also have free parking which is super nice but get there early enough to get a spot because they are limited.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Terrible experience.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We were surrounded by homeless people walking and camping on the sidewalks. We were told that we should not venture out after dark. We were awoken up at 3:00 a.m. with pounding on the next room's door. Very uncomfortable, had to leave, will never stay here again. Bad part of the neighborhood. My daughter was in tears she was so afraid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gosford australua

Close to tourist attractions

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Found rooms clean & comfortable, short taxi ride to piers,.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Car broken into, apparently a common issue here

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cons: Have better parking lot security. Hire a security guard or make the lot gated, get better cameras, something.
Don't stay here if you intend to bring a vehicle. There were security cameras everywhere, yet our car was still broken into. The cameras were not good enough to even detect whether the culprit was male or female, so there is really no hope of catching the person. The staff members alerted us of the break in with a simple phone call - "Hello, your car was broken into this morning." They did not come and get us when it happened, even though they knew because of the alarm going off. They told us they "usually send people to the north police station," which shows us that apparently, this happens there all the time, since there is a preferred police station! The room seemed really nice inside, no hand soap though. Don't be fooled by the nice interior, because if you park your car in the lot, there is a good chance it will be broken into and the staff will notice and not call the police, knock on your door, or do anything about it other than refer you to a nearby station. We didn't even have anything to steal, just a broken car window and a bad memory of San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Housekeeping great, front desk people horrible

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We had no problem our first night , we stayed Tue-Sat We drove 13 hours to our hotel , when we got there we were amazed by the wonderful shower heads . We had a late start on Wednesday, we left our room by 1, no housekeeping was done witch wasn’t bad . Thursday came around and we needed towels to shower, the lady at the front desk was rude and handed me 1 towel(there’s two of us) . I kinda was scared to ask for another one . She accused me of having loud music that mornjng (it was only 9am and I had just woken up) . On Friday , the older man working the desk was also rude , asking us if the car parked in parking lot was ours we said yes and he immediately took off as we had asked him a question . I believe the rude man and lady are the owners. Only highlight of the place was the housekeepers . Would never stay here again .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location for the price I paid, until my friend and I started getting a rash. Turned out we had been bitten by bed bugs. It wasn't until I got home that I had the reaction, hers reacted immediately so we assumed she was bitten by mosquitos or something. After an expensive trip to the dermatologist it was undoubtedly bed bugs. If I had know I'd be dishing out more $$$ for a dermatology bill, I would have spent the extra money to go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moreno valley

Posted Sep 4, 2017
It was a good experience, staff was great very respectful and the rooms were super clean and very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pelham, NY

It's OK

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel is fairly clean. And has a free parking (a big deal for SF) on the first come basis. However, it's surrounded by homeless shelters and their patrons. If you don't have a stomach for it, look elsewhere.