Ratings based on 5,107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario,CA

Very convenient location to the water, restaurants

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: nautical décor had charm and character, rooms were spacious
Cons: a bit more knowledge about service offered during checkout. I didn't realize until the last day that coffee was available in restaurant with a voucher
Location: many restaurants, shops, marine life, tourist locations nearby
We went with friends to celebrate my birthday. Room was nicely decorated, spacious. We were upgraded to a king bed, which was a nice treat. Friendly staff. Close to everything at Fisherman's Wharf.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel by the wharf

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: I understand it is San Francisco and parking is a premium but $57 per night just doesn't seem right.
Location: Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39, and wide variety of shops and restaurants.
Nice hotel with good size room. Excellent location, as it is within walking distance of the wharf and pier 39 for a variety of shops and restaurants. On site restaurant had good food and service as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Fishermans's Wharf, Ghirdelli Square, restaurants, etc. San Francisco is a small town (area wise) so everything is a short Uber ride away.
This was a wonderful hotel...beautiful, convenient, friendly staff, and quite comfortable. Be sure to request an exterior room. Initially we were given an interior room which looked out over a roof and a wall. We called the front desk and requested a different room and they were quite accommodating, moving us after the first night. (The first night was completely booked.). The room itself was wonderful and comfortable, but the view lacking. After we changed, the situation was wonderful. There are some bad reviews about the restaurant, but we found it fine, typical in menu and pricing to other hotels in this category. Location was perfect! I would stay there again and would highly recommend The Argonaut!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON. Canada

Beautiful hotel, great location.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Walking distance to the Pier, restaurants and shopping.
Beautiful nautical decor. Comfortable bed, quiet room, well appointed bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/ location, needs a bit of updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: So many restaurants and sites to see. Great Location!!!
Great place to stay. Near things to do and see. Beautiful hotel. Little things bothered me during my extended stay (5 nights). First for the cost of the room per night I would have liked better toiletries including the shampoo, conditioner, body wash setup. Second for a room with a few you want to see the view. The windows were gross and cloudy. The doormen and cleaning staff were great, always welcoming and smiling. The front desk staff were polite, but I ran into a few communication issues around language barriers. This made checking in and out a bit frustrating during a very busy week. Nothing would keep me from staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

What a great place!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location was awesome. The restaurant was a little pricey but the food was very good
Cons: The concierge was okay but recommended a open air bus company that they promote and those bus people were rude and not very friendly!
Location: Lots of things. Right near the pier. Good restaurants in the area. Bike rental was next door to ride to the bridge.
The room was roomy and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was within walking distance to Pier 39
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Let Down

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: WHARF
Hotel was beautiful. Hotel staff not very personable. Our room was not cleaned/turned down for 3 days in a row of oue 7 night stay and when we complained staff blamed it on us for having the privacy light on, which was incorrect and was disappointed to have staff blow you off. Also valet is expensive and ' forgot ' our car twice and once brought us the wrong for car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay to be close to everything.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel and close to everything Fishermans Wharf.
Cons: Rooms on street level can be a little loud in the AM.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The Location and the Blue Mermaid restaurant were great.
Cons: Nothing sticks out as bad. Was what I expected. Could have had coffee in lobby in AM
Location: Location for Fisherman's wharf was terrific. We enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff very professional and helpful.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Close to all sights on the wharf, short distance to see other sights in San Francisco.
Cons: Change the Restaurant staff and management, they are horrible.
Room small, hard to move around in. Very clean and close to all sights on the Wharf, staff at desk and door man were very courteous and helpful. Very disappointed with the hotel restaurant Blue Mermaid, went for Breakfast the first morning and was seated and was not approached again for drinks or acknowledged for 10 minutes, asked a waiter if we could get served after he had taken the order of someone who came in after us, he said he would send our server over right away, another 5 minutes went by and he smirked as we were leaving.