Ratings based on 4,989 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

There is no better place to stay.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Staying in Fisherman's Wharf is the ideal place when visiting San Francisco for pleasure. The Argonaut is close to everything. For the serious shoppers the hotel is adjacent to the beginning of the Trolley line, take it to the end of the Trolley line and you are in the shopping district. We would surely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Spent a long weekend. Location right on the wharf was excellent. Cool building. Staff was excellent and very friendly. Bed was harder than I prefer but that is a personal choice. In room coffee was not refilled for second morning. A small thing but small things make a difference at this price per night. It was overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal location and good quality hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The housekeeping and staff on the front door & lobby were all very courteous and helpful. Rooms were kept very clean.
Cons: One or two receptionists were much less friendly than the rest of the staff. Access to PCs for free would be a good addition (currently $7 /15 min).
Location: Almost everything a tourist might want to do in SF is readily accessible; the business district is only 15 min cab journey.
We stayed in SF for 10 days, and decided to use the Argonaut as our base which proved to be a great decision. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone. Not only is the hotel of a good standard, its location is ideal - access to downtown is easy, a very nice area next to the hotel to chill out overlooking the Bay and, whilst on Fisherman's Wharf, the Argonaut is at the "quiet" end away from the frenetic Pier 39. Some great independent cafes and a good Starbucks behind the hotel for breakfast; plenty of fair, if not great, restaurants along the wharf. The hotel's own restaurant is good but suffers from a limited menu. The only downside was that on a couple of occasions we noticed noise from the next room, when children were having a tantrum. But this was intermittent and generally not a problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
This was our 1st trip to SFO. We had a great experience with everyone at the hotel, they were very informative, kind, and enjoyable. The location was great, with easy access to Fisherman's Wharf. We would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend to our friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great Hotel: Great Location for Tourists

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The location is great, and the hotel presentation and service is exceptional.
Location: The location is perfect for tourists - restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, cable cars and Ghirardelli Square are all easily accessible.
This is an excellent hotel - well presented and maintained. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. The hotel is easily accessible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford Uk

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great location and very friendly staff with good room service, only thing missing was a bar area to retire to without having to go next door, but all in all enough out if the way of the hussle and bustle but near enough to join in !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Touristy location, hotel not worth the money

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Staff is not helpful, waited 30min for valet Wouldn't recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Steven , Hotel Management
Good Day! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We truly apologize for the delays with our valet team. We have shared your comments with our management team to ensure your experience is not duplicated. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Willis TX

Great staff, close to everything!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Everything ! ! Really should be 5 star !
Really enjoyed our stay, great staff, good restaurant, refreshing. Next door to cable cars, down the street from Alcatraz, Sourdough bakery close. Get Clam chowder bowl ! ! Got rental car drove west coast. Nice getaway ! !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great location,

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Can see a bit of Golden Gate Bridge if not foggy, watch July 4th fireworks on the lawn right next to it, very convenient yet quiet at night, highly recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Staff is Excellent ,comfort ,location..
Cons: Sound proof rooms ...
Location: Endless, Wharf,restaurants, Alcatraz, Boudins, live ,music.
Had a very nice time upgraded to a suite was Excellent ..The only complaint I had that maybe not fixable is the bar right next door to our corner suite when it closed there was fighting ,cussing so loud I thought there in our room and did not stop for at least 30 minutes..I informed staff To perhaps sound proof ..Location is awesome you can walk to Buena Vista to have an Irish coffee, and walk to wharf..