Ratings based on 5,259 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great hotel by Fishermans Wharf

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The Argonaut hotel has a very nice nautical theme. It is literally walking distance from Fishermans Wharf, cable cars and Lombard Street. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was impecable. Very clean and comfortable just for a family of two. Make sure to bring your own water and snacks though. The "mini bar" items are quit pricey. And they do charge a $5 delivery fee for room service on top of a 20% gratuity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Nice Hotel close to everything we wanted to do!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Gheradilli Square and troll around the corner and a short walk to the wharf made for a wonderful stay.
The hotel let us check in early and accommodated us with ever request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

A lot of fun

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great staff everyone I encountered was happy with a smile and wanted to help me. Lounge area was fun. The room over all was mostly updated and relaxing. The bed was a bit hard for my taste but some might like it. The bathroom was dated and ran out of hot water in the morning. The location is great right next to fishermans warf, lots to see and do. Overall my wife and I loved the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Az

Great Location, not so great hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The beds, like sleeping on a wood plank
Location: Right on Fisherman's Wharf. Lots of things to do and places to eat within easy walking distance. Cable car stop is less than a block away.
It could have been a great hotel. We go to SF yearly and have stayed at various hotels throughout the city. The room was small and the bed was very hard. We came back one day at around 2:30 and our room had yet to be cleaned. We were going to get cleaned up and go out again when the cleaning staff just unlocked the door and came in. They did not knock or give us a chance to say anything just walked in. We asked them to just change the towels but they either did not understand or just ignored us and started to clean the room. We had to stop them and ask them several times to just change the towels. Call it bad timing as i am sure that they were just doing what they were told and did not mean to be the disruption that they were. If you want a really nice historic hotel, try the St Francis or the Sir Francis Drake. We have stayed at both and both were much better than the Argonaut. The hotel deserves a second chance as it is a great location at Fisherman's Wharf. But with so many really nice hotels, not sure I will be willing to give it that second chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, Ca

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I live the location, close to so many restaurants, the trolly. The room is beautiful, the bed was comfortable, the pillows were great!. We had room service twice and the food was really good. The only bad thing is I would have loved to use a jacuzzi after a ling day of walking.. All in all a fabulous hotel.❤
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The hotel and staff are impeccable. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Really good hotel, close to the main tourist docks. Rooms were clean and beds were good (overall amenities were excellent). Hotel staff were helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
That is all, if you guys want feedback then you need to make it easy in your customers. Stop making this a required field!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Liked location of hotel & view from room. Downside was long walk to lobby, beds too high & toilet too low.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Nice Themed Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Once you step in the lobby of the hotel you will fell in love with it. It is really beautiful. The staff is super friendly and willing to help as well. But... In our first room we experienced a really bad situation. We also noticed some dust over the furniture and some hair between our sheets even though we hadn't used the bed yet. Our clothes are still in quarantine and most likely we will throw them away. The management offered us to take care of our breakfast bill and some discounts but I highly doubt I will use them.