Ratings based on 5,439 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

I could not have picked a better hotel in SF

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food
Location: Great location. Try the little yellow GoCar for a tour of the city.
The Argonaut's location is pretty much ideal, the room was nice, the beds and pillows were comfortable but it is really the staff there that makes the hotel exceptional. They are so friendly and helpful; everything was made easy for me. There is also a hidden gem in that hotel. Her name is Eva and if your safe is running low on batteries or if your toilet is stopped up maybe you'll be lucky enough to meet her. Maybe she'll warm up to you while she's fixing your issue and, if she does, you're in for a treat. Eva is one of the funniest, sweetest characters I have ever met. My son and I were totally captivated and delighted by her. It's something to be said when a hotel staff member has such a positive impact on your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
They took our luggage since we arrived earlier than check in. We were able to begin exploring. We had access to our luggage when we needed more sunscreen. The staff were all very helpful & professional. Our room was upgraded to a room with a nice view of the water. Also they surprised us with a nice bottle of wine complimentary when they found out it was our honeymoon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful jewel in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Lovely, affordable accommodation on the northern terminus of the cable car routes so you can be anywhere you need to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel steps from Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The service was excellent and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The amenities were great as well. Fully stocked mini bar & high quality toiletries
Cons: The reservations should probably disclose the view of the utility courtyard in case that is important to a guest.
Location: The location is phenomenal - across the street from Fisherman's wharf - shopping and restaurants all along the waterfront within walking distance.
My husband and I booked this hotel last minute for a weekend stay to explore San Francisco after attending a funeral in Sacramento. The hotel is in a wonderful location if you're looking to walk around the wharf and explore the waterfront. The staff was wonderfully helpful and the room was clean and decorated with a modern nautical theme. I found the amenities and attentive staff to be appropriate for the cost of the hotel. Since we booked last minute, we were on the second floor and our window had a view of some sort of utility courtyard with a giant A/C unit, so if you want a view that would definitely need to be specified in the reservation and I'm sure that rooms with views are limited based on the location of the hotel. That didn't really matter to us though as we spent our days outside enjoying the beautiful weather and sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from duke city

Great location but...

Posted Jun 26, 2017
From the drop off everyone we met was great. The doorman was fun and inviting and the desk staff was quick and helpful. Our room was nice and had everything we needed. The hotels location is such a plus and such a a negative. During the day we were in the perfect spot to get an Uber or taxi or head out to the beach and fisherman's wharf. This is the best hotel in the area. The flip side is that in our bayview room we overlooked the park and parking area for the area and when the bars closed we knew it! Loud crowds, racing cars and breaking bottles. No fault of the hotel but the place was loud almost every night. Peak being Friday crowds were out until about 4am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice rooms, perfect location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Historic building is fun. Amenities are nice. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Kieu front desk manager and all staff were amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice, FL

Perfect location with a great view.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The beauty mixed with modern of an old building.
Cons: Faster valet parking.
Location: Everything is happening in this location and also short walking distance to the local tour companies to experience the main attractions.
The hotel was better than expected and at the perfect location. This hotel did a great job turning a historic building into a swanky hotel. We will stay again next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surprise, Arizona

Location was great, lots to see and do in the area

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff, and the comfort
Cons: Nothing that i can think of.
Location: There were lots of shops, places to eat, close to the piers, tours, and entertainment.
We had a great experience, staff was friendly and helpful. When I needed directions, and what mode of transportation to take getting from place to place they were great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

perfect location for vacationing in San Francisco.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
large and comfortable room, great atmosphere, close to restaurants and waterfront, quiet at night.