Ratings based on 4,770 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

A sanctuary of class, style and personal service

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Great place, lovely decor, very welcoming. Fisherman's Wharf is a bit touristy, but if you stay here you will get great enjoyment out of your visit. Combines the best of both worlds. Two minor criticisms: - The concierge had little local knowledge - asked him for a dinner recommendation and he just went straight to TripAdvisor on the PC in front of him and started reading the same thing I had just looked up in the bar. - If you have a room at the front you might want to open the windows to experience the bustle and atmosphere of the Wharf. Disappointing that smokers are allowed to puff away just outside the front door, so their fumes drift into your room. But very highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2016
In the heart of everything. Quiet and peaceful hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHILA PA

Helpful staff and convenient location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was perfect for site seeing and getting around, most things are walkable or public transportation is right outside. Parking was expensive, but they were good about getting and taking the car. We'll stay here again when we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love this hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See abobe
Location: This is right by ghiradelli square! The location cannot be better
Stayed here several times. This was our first time we were not in a king suite. The king standard room is very large and nice. The only issues I have with our stay were minor ....the lil pumps with body wash, shampoo,,etc do not work well. And in the exercise room, there were NEVER head phones, and on several of the pieces of equipment the tv didn't work. Otherwise, this hotel is marvelous!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel

Quality hotel near the waterfront.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It was very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. A little busy, but highly skilled at handling many guests.
Cons: It could be more quiet, though they obviously try to keep all non common areas quiet.
Location: Premiere location for tourists wanting a trendy spot on the waterfront close to downtown, financial district, North Beach, and bay activities.
This hotel is in a very old converted use building on the waterfront. It is exceptionally well designed and maintained and overall perhaps the best staff I have encountered in at least 10 years. My compliments to the Managment as they clearly train staff extensively on how to interact with guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Fun location and good hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Clean. Fun decor.
We enjoyed our stay. Check in and check out was quick. Concierge had recommendations that we enjoyed. We liked the location though we didn't do much in that neighborhood we could walk to the areas we wanted to see. Good for the price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
It was on the wharf and close to everything. The staff was nice and went out of their way
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Ahoy! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Expedia. I am so happy to hear that our A+ team was able to accommodate you with your needs and make your experience incredible. We hope that you may take advantage of our prime location on a future visit. Thank you, Steven Marais Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Posted Jan 22, 2016
the staff was very friendly....would recommend this hotel to my friends. except for parking the hotel was in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Gets my vote for the best bed!
Cons: Really great hotel.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, on the Bay.
Very comfortable beds! Super convenient location. Guest Robes some of the best I have had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA state

Fantastic location

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The location was fantastic. The staff was exceptional.
Cons: The room was too small and the beds were very high. There was only one chair in the room and we had to take turns using it to put our shoes on.
The room was super small. Too small for 2 people. Based on the price I expected more. Only the suites have windows that open. I had difficulty breathing in our room and woke up the next morning with a terrible sinus headache. When I complained to the front desk they immediately sent someone up to change our AC filter. The problem was solved and my second night I slept fine. The staff was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2016 by Steven , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, I am sorry to hear that you were not more pleased with your first night. I can assure you that we did not place you in a small room as all of our standard accommodations are the same size. I am so happy that we were able to fix the difficulties you had during your stay. We hope that you will come visit us again when your travels take you to our beautiful city by the bay. Thank you again for your valued feedback. Warmest Regards, Steven Marais Front Office Manager