Ratings based on 1,685 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by merri sue from eugene

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, but our window opened to an alley and it was extremely noisy. The garbage truck came in the middle of the night and people were going through the trash containers on other nights, so it was pretty bad. The hotel itself is great though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Convenient location. Great staff. Clean

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Right outside the gates to Chinatown. Easy walk to the financial district and the trolley. Small hotel charm. Clean rooms with towel art to great you! I enjoyed being able to open the window and hear the sounds of the city.
4 out of 5
by Lang

Baldwin San Francisco

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on MrJet
Baldwin hotel är ett rent och billigt hotell. Rummet vi hyrde var litet med 2 dubbelsängar, badrum, TV samt gratis WiFi. Trevlig och hjälpsam personal, med städning varje dag. Läget var perfekt för detta lite äldre hotell i San Francisco. 50 m från The Dragon gate och China Town och närheten till massor av affärer som ligger i området samt Union square. Ett helt OK hotell att bo på några nätter i San Francisco.
5 out of 5
by Katherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Historic charm with modern updates, great location and spacious for a downtown room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Great location (down the street from Chinatown), parking was fairly convenient and cheap. Sheets were a bit old. Very clean. Efficient staff.
3 out of 5
by Andrea from Boston

St Pat's party

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Evidently on St. Patrick's Day there is typically a very loud rock concert in an alley just outside the hotel that lasts until midnight. Then begins the very noisy cleanup including lots of dumpster moving, stage breakdown etc. which lasts the rest of the night. Stay someplace else on March 17 unless you like to party. Otherwise, the best thing about the hotel is its location. It's reasonably (but not perfectly) clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa AZ

Great Location/GreatStaff

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Location is awesome, and bed was comfortable.
Cons: could use some new bed linens but all in all not bad. It's a 100 year old hotel, with all the quirks that brings.
Location: Close to the Bart, the Sqaure, Chinatown, the business district and the cable cars.
We have always stayed on Powell Street, but this locations was much better without all the foot traffic you have on Powell. It is literally steps from the gate to Chinatown and only a short walk to the cable cars. I would stay here again but would try to choose a room that doesn't face Kearny. There is an ally across the street that has garbage service everyday of the week at 2:45am. Since the rooms don't have a/c we slept with the window open and it was very comfortable, except for that garbage truck. Also if you like to sleep cool, have them turn the radiator heater off in your room. If you do this you can probably sleep with the window closed for the most part. I just asked a little late in the stay. They say it goes off at 6:00am, but it still radiates heat for hours after. They are very accommodating and will shut it off for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Einahes, sauberes Hotel in guter Lsge

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Die Lage.
Location: Wie schon gesagt, die Cinatown ist direkt neben dem Hotel. Man kann mit der Cable-Bahn fahren und von der Endstation zum Pier 39 gehen.
Die Lage des Hotels ist hervorragend, direkt vor der Chinatown in fußläufiger Entfernung zu den Cablecars und auch nahe dem Pier 39. Wer nicht unbedingt eine große Lobby oder eine Minibar braucht ist hier gut untergebracht. Das Hotel ist gut in Schuss und sehr sauber. Das Personal ist freundlich und hilfsbereit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Verona

Ottima posizione

Posted Mar 16, 2016
L'hotel si trova in una posizione perfetta per vivere la città. Il prezzo non è certo economico, ma nella media della zona. Personale molto cordiale e nel suo complesso un buon albergo. Consigliato.