Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Great value, good location easy to access, safe and pleasant. will definitely return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Restaurant and bar lift this motel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Low prices - at least in comparison to hotels in San Francisco . Very nice staff. Good restaurant and bar, which separates it from most other motels
Location: Five minutes walk from BART station.
Stayed for two nights on business trip. It isn't the Four Seasons, but it's fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Close to the SFO airport

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Excellent staff and great location. Old motel style but with great California feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Canada

Convenient location close to SFO Airport.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Decent, clean facilities with a full restaurant on site.
Best Western El Rancho was a convenient base for 10 day visit to the Bay Area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora CA

Disappointed

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Proximity to SFO
We were VERY disappointed that the requested handicapped room was not available. Requested via Expedia and verbally with the desk staff the day before arrival. Afternoon staff about 4pm. She did NOT follow up on her promise to have a downstairs handicapped room available! The rooms were barely adequate for a walker using occupant, but she managed. (302). Rooms were noisy but that was more because of other guests staying in that corner... Desk staff at our arrival VERY accommodating and the Terrace Cafe pleased us a lot for both dinner and departure breakfast. We have stayed at this motel very many times in the last 23 years and will continue to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Nice Hotel but Old

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Customer service.
Cons: Hotel needs to be updated. Very old style.
Location: Good location and close to SFO and restaurants.
Great place with good hotel staff. I have been staying here for over 20 years. Close to the airport and downtown S.F.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine for short stay / waiting for plane.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
For the cost this is a nice, clean place to stay for short term. Easy in and out access. Supermarket close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the airport

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: comfort, breakfast, clean
The rooms in the back can hear the trains, annoying during night time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good enough hotel, was a great location for me.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Being upgraded to a suite
Cons: WiFi was not consistent. Liquid body wash and hand wash should be provided in addition to soap bars. Shower water temp difficult to control.
Location: Close to airport
Average quality hotel. I chose it mainly because of its location which was perfect for my personal needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Really nice hotel, close to SFO and the city

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Upon arrival check in was fast and easy... The staff was very friendly. Really enjoyed the layout of the hotel it's it's on a pretty big property it was an enjoyable stay I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends