Ratings based on 2,183 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could not shake bad first impression

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: Shuttle has Millbrae Area Shuttle on the front of it and only if you are looking at the side it mentions Best Western - would've been good to know.
To be fair this review is probably more about the first impression when I arrived than the conditions or comfort of the hotel. From the airport I called to get the shuttle and described that I was at section 2H standing at the Hotel Shuttle area for pickup. I was told to look for the shuttle labelled with Best Western El Rancho. After a 15-20 minute wait I saw a shuttle pass me that had the Best Western logo on it and I waved frantically but the driver did not glance in my direction (or the direction of the closed seated that had Hotel Shuttle sign above it). On calling back the representative mentioned that they had picked up 6 people and I was not there, and the next shuttle would only be in about 30 minutes. - the tone implied I was stupid or incompetent to not see the shuttle. On arrival check-in was quick and efficient but not particularly welcoming. My interactions with everyone since landing in SFO so far had followed a pattern giving me the impression that just being in San Fransisco should have been enough and any assistance beyond this was a burden. However, staff at the restaurant was helpful, bed was comfy and room was clean and well-maintained. The hotel decor is pleasing. The Caltrain running right next to the hotel was unexpected, and made for a noisy environment into the evening and started early morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

close to airport

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Clean and close to airport with free shuttle service.
Cons: For my purpose, nothing.
Location: Close to airport
Looked online at Expedia, for a reasonably priced hotel, close to airport and car rental return, for a one night stay, prior to flying home to Boston. This was perfect! Staff extremely helpful with directions provided for return of our rental car and shuttle service back to hotel. i booked a queen bed so was not surprised at small bathroom. Room was extremely clean and the bed and pillows VERY comfortable. Shuttle picked us up in the morning in front of our door for ride to airport. Ate dinner at on site restaurant which was good. Would definitely stay here again on our next California visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Great shuttle service great drivers great breakfas

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Beds comfortable and that about it
Cons: Not really
Location: Shopping and airport
Enjoyed it so much but don't like the reviews so please except a short message and move on no more can be said so end this trap here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Nice location close to restaurants, freeway

Posted May 4, 2017
Excellent staff, accommodate in room even before check in time, good continental breakfast, clean room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable bed and clean room

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: We liked proximity to the airport, free shuttle, clean large room, comfortable bed and daytime staff.
Cons: They advertise a complimentary breakfast but it is really a grab and go. Coffee and a choice of baked goods.
Location: It's a mile for the BART station. An easy walk in a clean safe neighborhood. There is a grocery store, pharmacy and fast food es
We arrived at the hotel after 6:00pm. We checked in and told the desk clerks we needed to change our reservations for the hotel shuffle from 6:00am to 6:30am. They took our name and room number and said we were all set. At 6:30 we went to the front desk and waited for our shuttle. A shuttle arrived and said they were full and couldn't take us. We went to the desk and found our reservation had not been changed and the 6:00am driver had marked that we went with him. The morning clerk informed us that we should have been picked up at our room. We were not told this. A gentleman that worked with the shuttles personally drove us to the airport in his own car so we wouldn't miss our flight. We were very grateful but a bit flustered by then. All hotels make mistakes, this one fix the problem with speed and politeness. That makes a good hotel. The room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast to go was adequate. We stayed at the hotel on our return trip and were treated graciously. No trouble with the shuttle the second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to airport; great staff

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Helpfulness of staff.
Staff understands that their guests are travelling, and are keyed to offering services, i.e. vehicle storage and airport shuttle service that other hotels don't offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Perfect for flying out the next morning. Shuttle gets you there within 25 mins
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Staff where great and 24 hour shuttle service to airport was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: It's close to the airport. If I had stayed longer than overnight, I would have taken advantage of the pool, workout facility, and the restaurant.
Cons: It would have been nice to have had a ride from the lobby to my room. I didn't request it at the time, so I don't know if it was possible.
The only criticism I have of the hotel is that when I checked in, I was told I was in Building 700, which turned out to be a very long walk with my luggage. The signage wasn't the greatest, so I got lost for a few minutes. It would have been nice if the shuttle could have dropped me off at my room, because I was exhausted from a day of traveling. Having said that, the shuttle did pick me up in the morning to drive me to the airport, so I didn't have to schlep my luggage back to the lobby. All in all, a very nice, albeit short, stay. My room was clean and it was quiet. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert CA

Nice choice among many options

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Rooms, Breakfast
Cons: Staff communication
Location: I didn't spend much time in the area due to the nature of my trip.
This is a huge, sprawling property with nice rooms, a good continental breakfast with a few extras, and good quality amenities. The staff, while polite, was usually difficult to communicate with. It wasn't great, but it was more than adequate.