Ratings based on 1,861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutes Motel in lauter Straßenlage

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Service, Personal, Ausblick vom Dach auf die Golden Gate Bridge
Cons: Lautstärke-Isolierung in den Zimmern. Neue Fenster,..
Service, Sauberkeit und der allgmeine Zustand des Hotels entspricht dem, was man in einerm bessren amerikanischen Motel erwarten kann. In den Zimmern liegt Teppich, der ein wenig den Schall schluckt, aber eben auch Gebrauchsspuren zeigt. Das Zimmer selbst ist sauber, weist aber merkliche Gebrauchsspuren auf (nicht richtig nachgezogene Fugen, Maken am Mobiliar,...). Sollte aber für einen Urlaub nicht stören. Das Frühstück war im Verhältnis zu den anderen Motels in denen wir waren sehr süß (Kaffee, O-Saft, Cornflakes, Orange und Banane, Oatmeal, süßes Gebäck). Das ist mal ganz nett, nicht aber für jeden Geschmack etwas. In anderen Motels gab es allerdings auch ein bis zwei herzhafte Zutaten (Ei, Speck/Burger Paddies). Toll sind die kostenlosen Parkplätze, was in SF wirklich Geld spart, es fehlt aber ein Kühlschrank auf dem Zimmer. Einzig der Schlafkomfort/der Zimmerkomfort kriegt nur 3/5, da durch die direkte Straßenlage zu viel Lärm durch die dünnen Scheiben nach innen dringt. Dasselbe wie im zweiten Motel in SF, welches wir gesehen haben: Bis 2 Uhr Nachts und ab 5 Uhr morgens fahren Busse und Auto mit teils sehr lautem Motor, so dass man selbst mit Oropax öfter wach wird. Das trifft vermutlich aber auch auf die meisten anderen Motels zu, die direkt an der viel befahrenen Lombard Street liegen. Für eine Nacht ok, aber für einen längeren Aufenthalt zu anstregend. Lieber ein Motel in dritter Reihe suchen. Alles in allem bezahlbares Motel, Empfehlung mit Einschränkung
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Close to fisherman's wharf

Posted Jun 16, 2016
It stated "free parking" but there were limited parking spaces. Twice I had to park out on the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what we expected.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Location: Lombard St crooked road. Fishermans Wharf. Pier 39.
We enjoyed our stay. For us its about getting a decent nights sleep and cleanliness. We never spend much time in a hotel as were usually out exploring the area. Breakfast was limited as expected, very small area to eat, we took ours up to the room. So ok. On site parking available so a definate plus. Plus if you are interested in the tour bus, it stops literally outside. I would definately stay again as we found it to be quite central for our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o

El hotel esta en calle muy famosa lombard

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Se puede caminar asta la bahia fisherman.....muy bonitas calles del siglo pasado pero remodeladas. Muy limpia area. Personas del rededor siempre sinpatica. No mire malvivientes.al contrario gente bien. Si lo recomendaria los trabajadores muy atentos. Desayuno vontinental gratis muy bien. La calle mas famosa lombard. Pasan buses y te llevan diferentes destinos. No cobran parking. Y fue divertido viajar en bus a china town.barrio chino.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Really convienient location, Hop on Hop off bus stop right infront of hotel. Happy with my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Nicely priced ( for San Fran), nice location

Posted May 29, 2016
We were a family of four traveling the USA on a three week road trip. We were looking for 'no frills' places to sleep, close to each destinations main attractions, in safe & easily accessable locations. We stayed for three nights, and found the Buena Vista had friendly staff and was in a great location on Lombard St, close to Fisherman's Wharf area. As expected, our room was basic, clean & comfy. We had a street side room, which was noisy. I'd recommend requesting a garden side room. Breakfast was a standard fare Close to most attractions in SF. Hop on/Hop off bus stops at the door Head for the roof deck area in the evening to see the neighbourhood & Golden Gate Bridge in the distance lit up. Plenty of nearby restaurants. And for a big city, the neighbouring streets are surprisingly quiet & safe to walk (day & night)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016
Free parking, friendly staff, but otherwise mediocre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake County, CA

Street noise like a race track on steroids!

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: It had a bed that was relatively comfortable.
Cons: Sound proof from outside noise. New rugs. Fix the phone.
Location: Location is not bad. Nice area. Near Marina and Fisherman's Wharf.
My wife and I wanted a room close to a medical facility and this hotel seemed to fit the bill. However, the street noise was so bad that we did not get any sleep. We turned up the television and the a/c but could not even come close to drowning out the outside din. The windows were very old and did little to stop any sound from getting in the room. The rugs were in such a filthy condition they are beyond cleaning. The telephone did not work so we could not get a wake-up call. We were assured "not to worry" because they would get the phone fixed. It still does not work. For the price (or any price for that matter) this room was a total disaster! p,s,The parking spaces were absolutely miniscule!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Lage, aber ansonsten eher mäßig

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Lage
Cons: Frühstück, Isolation der Zimmer, Sauberkeit
Der Check-in war ok aber jetzt auch nicht super freundlich. Unser Zimmer war im zweiten Stock mit Blick auf die Lombard Street und diese ist sehr stark befahren was man im Zimmer dann sehr deutlich gespürtnhat. Es war trotz geschlossenem Fenster wahnsinnig laut. Das Zimmer war zwar offensichtlich sauber aber hat man mal neben das Bett zwischen Bett und Nachttisch geschaut, war dort viel Dreck. Auch das Bad war zwar ok aber schon viele schimmlige stellen. Das Frühstück war ehrlich gesagt völlig wertlos. Es wurde direkt an der Rezeption aufgebaut mit sitzmöglichkeitrn für vielleicht 5 Personen. Es gab Kaffee und Tee und nur süße Stückchen, kein Toast oder sonstiges. Müsli gab es zwei Sorten und dann noch Joghurt. Finde ich für den Preis wirklich sehr mager. Die Lage ist allerdings bombastisch, 15 min zum Fisherman's Wharf und auch zum Union Square könnte man zu Fuß gehen. Daher würde ich es auch empfehlen, denn für den Preis in der Lage findet man sonst wenig.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 3, 2016
This older hotel has a few worn edges but overall it it a great hotel for the price. The room was large roomy & very clean with a new and very comfortable mattress. The area is safe and all attractions are walkable even at night. There is even a free parking garage on site and an elevator for those of you who don't like stairs.