Ratings based on 1,513 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Good value for central San Fran

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Good value for money
Very friendly and helpful reception and breakfast staff Central location - as others have highlighted the local area has a lot of homeless people but they never caused us any trouble and there are some great restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance and you are only 10 minute walk from the BART Clear comfortable room Breakfast as an adequate section - toast, mini muffins/pastries, cereal, fruit, eggs, OJ and coffee/tea Free WIFI and hotel fitness room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carmel

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 20, 2017
In a terrible area with no good bars or restaurants around besides chambers and there are drug atticks shooting up all over the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Tourist hotel with no A C Uneven, inconsistent

Posted Sep 5, 2017
From day to day service was inconsistent No AC Poor room fan Good shuttle service in city
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel, bad area

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel staff was pleasant, room did not have air conditioner nor refrigerator. The pictures are a little deceiving because the the "superior queen room I had" was smaller than what it looked like. However, size was not the issue. Also, the area this hotel is located in is very sketchy because there are a lot of bums, smells bad outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

I would not stay here again!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: It was easy to get around inside.
Cons: Add air conditioning, get the restaurant to serve a better breakfast and provide transportation to other places.
Location: The location has a lot of homeless people sleeping on the streets around it at night. During the day the homeless are roaming around the area.
There was no air conditioner which would be alright if the weather was the normal cool but it was unseasonably hot. Not even a window to open. The continental breakfast was in the attached restaurant and they served the same items every day. Hard boiled eggs, small pieces of fresh fruit and toast. I booked this hotel because it had a continental breakfast and a roof top patio to sit on. The patio was nice but closed at 9 P.M. The location isn't near a bus or trolley line. They only provide transportation to Union Station, Japan town, and Fishermans Wharf. There were a lot of homeless people hanging around on the streets around this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Cons: Breakfast
Location: The location is convenient. However, there is a homeless shelter nearby, which makes the neighborhood smelling bad. The iconic smell of SF.
Except for the terrible breakfast and neighborhood, everything is fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry that you were not satisfied at all with our breakfast. We will surely look into ways we can improve the options. Thank you and enjoy San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Great hotel but poor area

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Hotel was great though it strongly smelled pee outside and there is a lot of homeless around ! Good breakfast included, easy to walk around!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback of the Cova Hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel overall despite our location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Comfortable and clean. Great ratio Quality/Price

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Clean rooms, comfortable stay, good breakfast. Very helpful and courteous staff. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most recent review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our hotel to be of Comfort and Value. Cova stands for Comfort and Value and to know that you experienced both is fantastic. We appreciate you staying with us and we do hope to see you in the very near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel doesn't have their own parking. The service is provided by a third party company. The person who manage the parking services is not very friendly to hotel's guest. Very upset about the guy who shouted at me as I just temporary park my car to load the luggage. Apart from this, the hotel staff and service are very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017
Good day! We are so sorry to hear about your experience with the Parking Lot company. Although they are a separate entity at the hotel, we feel that they definitely should have treated you better. We will make sure to direct this review to the parking manager for his immediate action.
5 out of 5
by Raquel

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful score of the Cova Hotel. We really appreciate you and do hope to see you in the very near future. Take care always Racquel.