Ratings based on 1,425 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in a safe location

Posted May 24, 2017
I booked this hotel based on past customers rating and web pictures. However, while it was located few blocks fron union square, the surrounding area was filled with homeless and drug addicts, not a safe location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Need a lots of improvements

Posted May 22, 2017
Food of choice limited,and standing fan in the outdated need air conditioning Spanish lady in the dining area not friendly took your ticket and walk away
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was in good shape. Neighborhood was really bad. Would not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Matthew , Hotel Management
We are sad to hear that your stay was not up to standard due to our location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in the middle of the Tenderloin district.

Posted May 8, 2017
Ok hotel in the middle of the Tenderloin disctict. Streets are nosiy and loud all night and kept us awake. Sliding glass door was off the hinges and was letting cold air into room and not blocking any noise from outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
It was alright, staff can be more friendly if anything. They are not rude but just not wam enough to talk to. Nothing that warrants a complaint or anything. It was alright.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Matthew , Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not feel welcomed at the Hotel. We will learn from your examples provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton Ca

At the Cova

Posted May 4, 2017
This hotel was really nice inside.The rooftop terrace was awesome to sit and enjoy the evening! But the area is not so great. They do offer a shuttle though ( the driver was out sick, so they paid our taxi) also slept so good I missed my free waffle breakfast!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Matthew , Hotel Management
Thank you for your most recent review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our hotel to be of Comfort and Value. Cova stands for Comfort and Value and to know that you experienced both is fantastic. We appreciate you staying with us and we do hope to see you in the very near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel great, area not so nice

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were great and helped with every question we had. The room was fine and is a decent standard for a 3* hotel.
Cons: Not much - the hotel was very good.
Location: As mentioned, the area is full of homelessness/drug taking but it's only about 15 mins drive by taxi to the main tourist areas by the docks
Hotel was very nice - the staff were especially very helpful and knowledgable! The area it's situated in, though, is sadly very deprived and walking to the hotel from the train station was quite a hairy experience. We did feel very much secure once inside the hotel, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Terrific Hotel. Rough Neighborhood

Posted Apr 24, 2017
I like the Cova Hotel. It is a well kept and well managed property. The hotel staff, especially Latoya were excellent. There are many homeless people in San Francisco and especially in the neighborhood around this property. We took Uber everywhere and that worked really well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel in Dodgy Area

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Staff and room size and modernness.
Location: Homeless people in surrounding streets made the area quite filthy. You had to be careful what you stepped in. The motel is close to the train.
This hotel was lovely. Our room was modern and roomy. The staff were the absolute best. I couldn't fault this hotel, but neither could I recommend it to a friend due to the dirtiness caused by the homelessness in surrounding streets. Not being used to such filth (not the people themselves but the mess around them), I found it hard to get used to. Once again, the hotel was faultless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, CA

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Overall, the hotel was good. Location was good and bad, but bearable. (MANY transits so just be safe and watch your back) The room itself looked renovated. When you check in on Yelp they give you a snack basket and that was cute and good for us to use for snacks on the go. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, no a/c either but they have fans that cool just enough. The walls were very thin so you can hear people outside the room. The bed had a huge whole on one side and sunk in (room 518). As for the window view there was actually no "amazing" view. They notified us the water would be off from midnight-4am which was perfectly fine but the water didn't come back on till 8:30-9am. I'm an early bird person and like to get out by 8am. That kinda killed 2 hours of our day since we ended up leaving by 11am. The staff were very helpful, the shuttle was perfect (reserve a day before since the van is pretty small and there are many tourist located in that hotel). Breakfast here is not something you should count on unless you're not willing to spend money on good food. It's your typical hotel breakfast, but this one only gave you eggs, fruit, toast, plain yogurt with either raisins or yogurt, coffee, orange juice and waffle mixer. I recommend go out and get yourself a good breakfast!! oh, also mmmm...parking was $105 for 3 days...