Ratings based on 1,579 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrible neighborhood

Posted Jan 18, 2018
The hotel is pretty okay but everything that’s going on out its area is a horror movie. Later on we found out that we stayed at the most dangerous area of SF. If u wanna stay at this hotel just use a cab or any car, and do not walk around
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Darry, Thank you very much for your feedback of the Cova Hotel. We are sorry that our location was not to you liking. We do hope that you were able to enjoy the hotel in itself though and were able to utilize our hotel shuttle to help you navigate the area. Safe Travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

In central area, walking distance of most places

Posted Jan 6, 2018
When I stayed at this hotel, was sick with upset stomach, but Kenisha was super helpful she catered me like I was family, she did the extra mile to make us feel great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Jhonny, We do hope that you are feeling better now. Thank you for your kind words about Kenisha. She is surely a great asset to the hotel as we know she cares about our guests. We hope to see you in the very near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Awesome hotel!! Would come back again!!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The hotel was very clean and super comfy. In a bad neighborhood but it's not like you will be hanging outside with the homeless people. The hotel had amazing amenities. The staff was very friendly and super helpful. The price was very affordable for what you are getting. We would definetly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Belinda, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the amenities that we offer such as the shuttle, breakfast, and wine service. We look forward to seeing you again this New Year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Hotel in a bad location!!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Hotel is fine. Good breakfast, free shuttles to Pier 39 , Union Square and Japantown. The location is bad with tons of homelesses!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Happy New Year Patty, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel despite the location. We hope we were able to assist you in navigating the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice Hotel in rough part of the city

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Centrally located, friendly staff and comfortable beds. It is close to many tourist attractions. Unfortunately, the hotel is located in a rough area of the city with lots of homeless people hanging around. That being said, they were harmless. The main issue for us was that there was no dresser in our room for our clothes. Matthew R. at the front desk (also one of the drivers) was incredibly professional, friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Matthew Salvan, Hotel Management
Happy New Year Danny! Thank you for your most recent review of the Cova Hotel . We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We truly understand your frustration with the neighborhood in which we try our very best to educate each guest once they arrive to the hotel about areas to avoid and what not. We will surely learn from your review. Take care always!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not well situated

Posted Dec 28, 2017
While as a hotel this was just about ok (more on that later), it is in a part of town that makes you scared to leave, even during the day time. This significantly affected the enjoyment of our stay. It also meant we used taxis to travel to and from the hotel. We have lived in major cities across the world and not been as intimidated anywhere else as we were near this hotel. Also the hotel was generally cold. It needs heating installed in the rooms. And the breakfast was really poor, virtually lacking any nutrition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most recent review of the Cova Hotel . We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We truly understand your frustration with the neighborhood in which we try our very best to educate each guest once they arrive to the hotel about areas to avoid and what not. We will surely learn from your review. Take care always!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good staffs, but horrible location

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: staffs are nice
yes, it is located at downtown san francisco, very convenient to go around, but there are so many homeless people around the hotel, so dirty on the street, pee and poop everywhere, you are not able to go outside after 6pm, terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most recent review of the Cova Hotel . We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We truly understand your frustration with the neighborhood in which we try our very best to educate each guest once they arrive to the hotel about areas to avoid and what not. We will surely learn from your review. Take care always!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great experience for the price

Posted Dec 26, 2017
The first night was bad. Our neighbors woke up at 5am and started shouting and slamming doors. The children kept running down the hallway. I called the front desk to tell them to stop making noise but they didn't stop. The next day we were moved to another room with no problem. Still tho, you could hear people running upstairs every evening/night which was unpleasant. So please, improve noise control. Breakfast, staff, room and shuttle were all great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your rating despite your horrible neighbor situation the first night of your stay. We will surely do our best to make sure that each guest enjoy their visit with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

OK Hotel, However, Would Not Return :(

Posted Dec 25, 2017
The check in process could be improved: the receptionist who tended to me was havjng a conversation about her work schedule and did not acknowledge me until 3-4 minutes of my waiting there. Once she did, her speech was hurried and she made almost no eye contact with me, as if reading off a script that she had memorized. Once I received the room key, it didn't work and rather than apologize she asked if I "had it near my cell phone" which I didn't but even if, that doesn't deactivate room keys--I have stayed at enough hotels to know this firsthand. The room was freezing cold and I was SHOCKED to learn there was no central heating and cooling but portable heaters and fans in the closet!!!! In the 21st century and greater San Francisco I was truly stunned and the hotel NEEDS to fix this right away! A portable heater is no way to heat a room and not to mention a fire hazard, someone should look into this.... The breakfast was sub-par, cold food mostly and there was no cream for the coffee--I was thankful that I didn't have much of an appetite the one morning I was there and that there was a Starbucks nearby let's just put it that way. One of the workers, when I attempted to wipe crumbs off the table to clean up after myself, saw me and proceeded to tap me on the hand to stop me--I get that's yoir job to clean, but no need to touch the guests to get your point across, I was taken aback by that and not pleased. Otherwise the room was OK, a place to stay while I visited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
We will surely look into your review to ensure that the staff is trained accordingly. We will use your review as a clear example of what NOT TO DO. Thank you and Happy New Year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and good value

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Very noisy, but decent hotel. Bad breakfast first morning at the adjoining soul food restaurant, but they moved it upstairs the second morning and it was much improved. Not the best neighborhood, but accessible to a lot of stuff. Overall a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most recent review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our hotel to be of Comfort and Value. Cova stands for Comfort and Value and to know that you experienced both is fantastic. We appreciate you staying with us and we do hope to see you in the very near future.