Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central coast of California

Great hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The boxed breakfast was great. Room was clean, bed was comfortable.
Cons: No coffeemaker in the room.
Location: We chose this hotel because of the location. It is easy to get to, close to AT&T Park and an easy walk to downtown.
Staff was helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great little hotel!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: staff, free wifi, comfortable bed, close to BART station.
Cons: It's really nice for a value hotel- all the basics and more. I can't really think of anything I'd change.
Location: Only 2 blocks from the BART station and it's a mile walk to Fisherman's Warf up Market Street. BART takes you everywhere!
The staff were extraoridinarily friendly and kind. The hotel is clean, basic but very nice. It's kind of vintage, but modern where it counts- the free wifi was good, the tv was flat screen in good working order, coffee pot in top working order, bathroom was modern and clean (very clean) and the bed was super comfortable. I couldn't ask for more! I was very pleased with the room and the continental breakfast was a bonus. The location is good, but you must go toward market street to access the public transport and site see- the route up Howard street felt a little dodgy. I was fine during the day, but I strongly recommend you go toward Market and all will be well! The BART station was just a couple of blocks from the hotel and was very convenient. I even used BART to get from the airport and I WILL do that again. At $9.00 each way it was a REAL bargain and no traffic worries. I really like this little hotel- it feels like a family business and the staff treat everyone really well- I was waiting for my room to be ready (I arrived early) and so I saw that everyone received treatment like royalty. I strongly recommend this hotel for a bargain. It's not a 5-star hotel, but the staff treats you like it is! It's very clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

The review high star review was two stars off.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I'm gonna be short because my stay was just as short. We got to the hotel around 4 pm an hour after usual check in time. I decided to get comfy when I noticed the floor was wet I didn't think much of it but I included a picture which grossed me out besides the nail clippings still on the carpet. I had to double check the bed just to make sure I had clean sheets. Glad to say the sheets and restroom were clean but the carpet being dirty was disgusting. The fact that the location was two blocks away from skid row made it uneasy to walk around at leisure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LIEGE

Très bon service, personnel serviable

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Les chambres spacieuses
Cons: La prise de petit déjeuner
Location: Avec beaucoup de sans-abris, le tram vous transporte à Fisherman's
Hôtel situé à 50 m du tram de market street. De style vintage, il faut prendre les boites de déjeuner avec une vienoiserie, un yougourt, un fruit pour aller manger dans la chambre. Il faut aller chercher à plusieurs pour prendre les cafés et jus d'orange, sinon, impossible de passer la carte pour activer l'ascenseur. Le personnel est serviable mais ne comprend pas bien les chiffres. Notre fille a été malade à 2h du matin, l'équipe du housekeeping a réveillé deux chambres plus loins. Les planchers sont en bois, donc si la chambre du dessous souffre du décalage horaire, impossible de dormir. Comme partout à San Francisco, il y a beaucoup de sans-abris. La vue n'est pas terrible,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Parking in a secure environment within the hotel parking lot was an added cost, happy to pay but, should be noted for travelers the extra $40 cost.
The rooms are all based on famous singers/actors, I stayed in the Cheech Marin room, loved the old typewriter with a sheet of paper informing the guest of his personality. Sheets, bedding, bathroom, windows overlooking San Francisco, bathroom and all amenities were of a high quality. The staff was so helpful in navigating where I needed to go. Extremely and pleasantly surprised of the quality of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Bernard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rich from Campbell, Ca

Nice place

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed only one night and the room was very clean and comfortable. There is a garage attached but there is a $35 a day charge which I found EXTREMELY expensive. That was the only drawback for the Carriage Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
booked the hotel because it was fairly inexpensive and close to downtown. The neighborhood is south of Market St and therefore a little scary but the security around the hotel is in good shape. Maybe just avoid going out after dark.
4 out of 5
by Veronica from Stockholm

Fint hotellrum och trevlig personal

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Vi stannade två nätter på Carriage Inn. Området är varierande (som hela San Francisco) med många hemlösa och utsatta människor i närområdet. I och med att vi mest vara i Mission District och Hayes Valley var hotellet lite för långt ifrån de områdena (ca 30 min promenad), men om man är ute efter att bo centralt och nära Mission och Market så är läget väldigt bra. Fint hotellrum och trevlig personal, men tyvärr väldigt tråkig frukost som serverades på hotellet bredvid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr hübsches Zimmer im Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Das extrem saubere und gemütliche Zimmer und die freundlichen Leute am Empfang.
Cons: Der Safe hat nicht richtig funktioniert.
Location: Das Hotel ist ganz in der Nähe des Union Square (Shops, Restaurants). Auch eine gute Basis für Leute, die an Tagungen im Moscone Center teilnehmen.
Ich kam mitten in der Nacht, leider ohne meinen Koffer, und ziemlich gestresst an. Im Hotel wurde ich gleich von einer super freundlichen jungen Dame an der Rezeption begrüßt - die Welt war wieder in Ordnung. Das Zimmer war sehr schön und individuell eingerichtet mit Liebe zum Detail und allem was man so braucht. Das Bett war super bequem. Alles sehr sauber! Das Bad war auch sehr schön, die Badewanne/Dusche durch eine Glasschiebetür abgegrenzt. Ich habe mich richtig wie zuhause gefühlt. Die Rezeption war wirklich 24 Stunden von sehr freundlichen, kompetenten Leuten besetzt. Mein Koffer wurde am nächsten Nachmittag von der Fluggesellschaft ins Hotel gebracht und dort sicher aufbewahrt. Beim Bestätigen meines Super Shuttle Transfers von Hotel zum Flughafen haben mir zwei der Damen am Empfang sehr bei der Kommunikation mit dem Shuttle Service Unternehmen geholfen. War nicht leicht zu organisieren, denn die Straße war kurz vor der vereinbarten Abholzeit wegen der bevorstehenden Pride Parade gesperrt worden und der Shuttle musste in einer Nebenstraße auf mich warten. Alles klappte ausgezeichnet und stressfrei. Das Frühstück wurde im Best Western Hotel gegenüber serviert und war in Ordnung.