Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

nice character

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: clean and quiet. close to Market st for shopping
Cons: can't fix the location.....I would not walk around there at night.
Location: close to shopping, Market street and Union Plaza
the hotel was easy to find. Parking was easy. The night desk attendant was very pleasant and accomdating, the morning attendant not so much. The breakfast was a box of pastry and an apple...not really breakfast. Extra 35.oo for parking. Nice themes in each room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Convenient location with parking

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: Need to manage party guests
Location: South of Market, very close to Union Square, shopping, bus and BART lines
Awesome staff, large rooms, can hear walking on floors above you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central coast of California

Great hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The boxed breakfast was great. Room was clean, bed was comfortable.
Cons: No coffeemaker in the room.
Location: We chose this hotel because of the location. It is easy to get to, close to AT&T Park and an easy walk to downtown.
Staff was helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great little hotel!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: staff, free wifi, comfortable bed, close to BART station.
Cons: It's really nice for a value hotel- all the basics and more. I can't really think of anything I'd change.
Location: Only 2 blocks from the BART station and it's a mile walk to Fisherman's Warf up Market Street. BART takes you everywhere!
The staff were extraoridinarily friendly and kind. The hotel is clean, basic but very nice. It's kind of vintage, but modern where it counts- the free wifi was good, the tv was flat screen in good working order, coffee pot in top working order, bathroom was modern and clean (very clean) and the bed was super comfortable. I couldn't ask for more! I was very pleased with the room and the continental breakfast was a bonus. The location is good, but you must go toward market street to access the public transport and site see- the route up Howard street felt a little dodgy. I was fine during the day, but I strongly recommend you go toward Market and all will be well! The BART station was just a couple of blocks from the hotel and was very convenient. I even used BART to get from the airport and I WILL do that again. At $9.00 each way it was a REAL bargain and no traffic worries. I really like this little hotel- it feels like a family business and the staff treat everyone really well- I was waiting for my room to be ready (I arrived early) and so I saw that everyone received treatment like royalty. I strongly recommend this hotel for a bargain. It's not a 5-star hotel, but the staff treats you like it is! It's very clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

The review high star review was two stars off.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I'm gonna be short because my stay was just as short. We got to the hotel around 4 pm an hour after usual check in time. I decided to get comfy when I noticed the floor was wet I didn't think much of it but I included a picture which grossed me out besides the nail clippings still on the carpet. I had to double check the bed just to make sure I had clean sheets. Glad to say the sheets and restroom were clean but the carpet being dirty was disgusting. The fact that the location was two blocks away from skid row made it uneasy to walk around at leisure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Parking in a secure environment within the hotel parking lot was an added cost, happy to pay but, should be noted for travelers the extra $40 cost.
The rooms are all based on famous singers/actors, I stayed in the Cheech Marin room, loved the old typewriter with a sheet of paper informing the guest of his personality. Sheets, bedding, bathroom, windows overlooking San Francisco, bathroom and all amenities were of a high quality. The staff was so helpful in navigating where I needed to go. Extremely and pleasantly surprised of the quality of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel looks nice on photos, but is not

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location is close to conference center
Cons: Hotel needs higher quality breakfast or do not offer at all, hotel needs rennovation.
This hotel looks nice on photos, but is small cramped and on an extremely noisy street. The "breakfast" is a bunch of random slices of cheese and a pastry. The impression is that the owners go to extreme lenghts to be cheap in terms of what is provided. The hotel actually doesn't have a breakfast area, so you are supposed to take the "breakfast" and go to your room or out. I do not recommend this hotel at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: rooms very clean and spacious
Cons: just the breakfast arrangements
Location: a little bit run down area but very local for the attractions around hotel
nice hotel , just need to get breakfast sorted as you have to go across the road for it and they was a little confused as to what breakfast you was entitled to with your booking. just needs sorting a little.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to everything in downtown

Posted May 22, 2016
Nice stay in Carriage Inn very convinient location in downtown although the neighborhood much less nicer... Good apportunity to use the gym in cross the street hotel. Poor breakfast. In general clean nice hotel in convinient location in SF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel for the area at a reasonable price.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Good location for BART and other travel links. Clean room and spacious. Only major issue was the booming noise presumably from the aircon units on the roof of the building or adjoining buildings. On some nights it felt like we were at the airport with the noise levels. Breakfast is across the road at sister hotel and was adequate.