Ratings based on 2,361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel with a fair price

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Price, cleanliness, lobby
Cons: Random things in the bathroom that were broken (shower head)
Older but goodie. Very dependable, clean hotel. Quiet rooms, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Right in the Heart of All.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location!! Plus it was clean and quaint.
Cons: They are in the process of getting the Bar back up and running and that will be nice.
Location: Its location is ideal and it is close to everything.
I recently had the pleasure of staying at 'The Cartwright'. Although built in 1915, the hotel proved to be a great place to stay during our 4 days in San Fran. The property had been excellently maintained over the years and as was expected, the rooms were smaller than those of a hotel built today, however the quaint ambiance more than made up for the smaller rooms. The seating area with fire-place was warm and a great place to just sit and relax. We were out and about most all of the time anyway, and when we were at the hotel, all of the staff made us feel as very appreciated guests. The downtown location was close to all and I really enjoyed my stay and would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the city

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Cons: A simple continental breakfast would be nice!
Location: We walked the city, visited sites and met with friends!
We celebrate my husband's birthday after Christmas each year with a night in the city. The Cartwright had a reasonable rate, great location, clean and friendly. No breakfast or extras included, but perfect for a night in the city, Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Bad experience with both the hotel and expedia

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: The hotel and expedia should talk to each other on the phone after the correction and fax as follow up so guests do not need to wait in the lobby.
Location: Location is alright and the area is not that good.
The rooms were reserved with my friend's name who booked the hotels for us. For some reason, she was not able to input my name on the reservation because the expedia web site did not have that feature. When I tried to check in the hotel did not allow me. I had to wait for my friend to contact expedia who told my friend that it was taken care of by faxing the hotel in 15 minutes. But they never sent the fax to the hotel. So I sat there for half hour and called my friend again. My friend called expedia again and who found out that they did not send the fax. They finally called the hotel. All this wait is more than an hour and we had wasted by sitting in the lobby with the luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy hotel, great location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Miss Tai, the front desk attendant is amazing! The staff is super friendly and helpful. Charming hotel with a history. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but if you are looking for the authentic San Francisco stay then I highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leyv

Hotel con inmejorable ubicación e instalaciones ag

Posted Jan 1, 2016
El personal muy amable y servicial, muy recomendable en razón precio calidad, instalaciones con buen mantenimiento, recomendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

とても良い立地

Posted Dec 31, 2015
建物自体は古めでしたが、掃除がきちんと行き届いておりとても清潔感がありました。ホテルのスタッフの方もフレンドリーで、小さいホテルだからこその安心感がありました。 道の向かいにはドラッグストアがあり、ちょっとした食べ物や飲み物を買うのにとても便利。夜でも明るく、女一人での滞在でも安心して過ごせました。 おすすめします。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

アットホームなホテル

Posted Dec 31, 2015
初めてサンフランシスコを訪れるのにどのホテルがいいか分からず、ガイドブックに載っていたこのホテルにしました。 ホテルの前にはコンビニもあり、不自由なく過ごすことができます。 スタッフの皆さんはとても親切で、ホテルに戻ると温かく迎えてくださり、「ただいま」と言いたくなるようなホテルです。 ロビーは「外国の家」のような造りで、素敵な香りがし、落ち着く空間です。 部屋が寒い(窓の閉まりが悪かったようです)と言うとすぐに暖かくしてくれ、翌日から会うたびに心配してくださいました。 壊れているのか、元からなのか分かりませんがシャワーの水圧が弱く、冬なので少し寒く感じましたがシャワールームも綺麗で安心して使えます。 サンフランシスコへ行くときはまた必ずこのホテルを利用します。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Location of the hotel is convenience

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Overall it's a convenience located at Union Square. The room is clean and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. As I am not stay at hotel all time and I do not know any facility in this hotel as well, therefore I have no comment on this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

The People in this hotel is awesome!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: the staff
Cons: well, it´s an old building but the location is perfect and is very clean
Location: is the best place to stay in SFO
thank you for been so kind and nice to me on my stay