Ratings based on 2,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Continental breakfast would be nice.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, walking distance to so many places.
Although the staff was very nice and helpful, we were dissappointed we didn't get the kind of room we booked for months back. They tried to convince us they upgraded us to a swite. Yes, it was bigger but we wanted two beds (not a couch and a bed.) Also, the bathroom was for someone in a wheelchair and there was no lip on it so water got everywhere. The next night they put us in another room with a better bath/shower but it was a queen bed and not the 2 beds we booked for. Finally the third night we got the right room the rest of our stay was pleasant. Other than that, we loved the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value, Close to Union Square

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Union Square. Price. General cleanliness.
Cons: As above, some of the electrical outlets were loose, and so plugging and unplugging computers and chargers seemed to weaken them even more.
Location: One short block away from Union Square, and all the shopping and dining facilities available there. The hotel is in a safe neighborhood.
Stayed at the Cartwright for three nights and enjoyed the proximity to Union Square, the free-wifi, and the friendly staff. The room was a good size for myself (a single traveler). Facilities all worked properly and were in decent condition. Some slight maintenance on the electric outlets to tighten the covers would be good. Other than that I have no complaints about the room, service, location, or price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Only the location. Nothing else was likeable.
The hotel was nothing like the photos that appeared on the Expedia site. The room was pitiful, and the bed quite soft. Very disappointing considering the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good priced hotel in heart of San Francisco

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Great Price!
Cons: updated decor, etc - but that would probably raise the price
Location: Near Union Square, had a Walgreens and 7/11 across the street. Great diner (Loris) right on the corner!
Had a great experience overall. The Cartwright hotel isn't anything fancy with special amenities (nor do they try to sell themselves in that way). That said, knowing what you are paying for (a decent room, bathroom and great location) it is a great hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and it was conveniently located to everything! The staff were very helpful and courteous when I had any questions. Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in SF!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Charming and cozy hotel in heart of San Francisco

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: great location and staff
Location: in heart of San Francisco, Museums, Shopping Streets and Malls close by, also short walking distance to China Town or North Beach.
Really enjoyed stay in Cartwright Hotel. Location of hotel really great as very central. Staff was super nice and always helpful with recommendations and accommodating special requests. Room are not very spacious but enjoyed the atmosphere a lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Nice Hotel A little bit old though, the staff was nice and always help full
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

schönes kleines Hotel in San Francisco

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich sehr zentral und kommt sehr schnell zum Cabel Car (ist aber immer voll), zu Fuß in ca. 10 Minuten in China-Town
Reception sehr nette Leute, das kleine Zimmer entspricht zwar nicht den Zimmergrößen, welche man von Rest von USA kennt, aber man fühlt sich wirklich in einen Film oder Filmserie versetzt. Wir fanden es sehr schön, ist aber halt extrem klein, schätzungsweise 20 qm oder weniger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location and great staff. Very charming decor.
Cons: Bed was a bit soft and lumpy
Location: Trams, buses, BART all close by. Great shopping.
The hotel was ideally located for public transport. As I was having a short stay on my own it suited my needs. I was wanting to visit some museums and had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful and they held on to my bags for the day as I had a very late flight out of San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Great Hotel close in the middle of city

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Location, Clean, Excellent Guest Relations, Decorations
Cons: Elavator
Location: Shops, fun, restaurants, public transport,
You can reach everywhere in San Francisco by walk or public transportation if you stay here. Best price for rivals located in Union Sq. Rooms are very clean and you can find everything you need as a tourist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Cons: I suggest the hotel staff create a one page categorized list of places to eat with price points that can be handed to guests upon request
The staff was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location with quick and easy access to great food and shopping.