Ratings based on 2,355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Great old hotel in one of the most colorful cities in America
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Old, clean hotel in convenient Union Square

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, price
Cons: update rooms
Location: convenient location in Union Square
Check in was easy. Only stayed one night and wanted a quiet room to rest and work, which is what I got. Hotel is old, room was average to small, bed was too soft (woke up with back pain the next day), but I got a good night's sleep without disruption. Internet speed was fine and shower was hot. Room was clean. Don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ろ

買い物便利

Posted Jan 26, 2016
設備が少し古いかな。少し暗いかな。スタッフの対応は良かったです。ホテルの位置は抜群のところにあり、買い物観光には最高でしたよ。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Union Square

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Concierge in lobby helped us with booking a city tour and gave a discount. Hotel itself is old and rooms are extremely small but typical for this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

ユニオンスクエアに近く市内観光に便利

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: ロケーションと古さ。アンティークな部屋。
何度が泊まりました。スタッフに日本人的サービスを期待するとガッカリするかもしれませんが、質問するとそれなりに丁寧に答えてくれます。設備は古いですが、困ったことはありません。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Great location, TINY room and bathroom.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Wonderful shower, great location, clean, decent price
Cons: One specific woman at the front desk was INCREDIBLY rude, but everyone else was nice.
Location: Near Union Square, so sky's the limit: wonderful dining (I'd avoid the neighboring diner they push you to, expensive), Westfield Mall, etc. Tons!
Upon arriving, we were met with politeness and a smile, got up to our room and were pretty shocked. The room is TINY. I'd read this in reviews, but they didn't do it justice. The room, and especially the bathroom (/closet) has barely enough room for the bed, desk, and the doors to open. That said, the bed was clean and comfortable, the view from the window was terrible (side of the neighboring building), but there was a constant fresh breeze, the bathroom was clean (certainly wasn't much room for dirt to accumulate!), the showerhead was an absolute dream, and it wasn't excessively noisy (on the fifth floor). The bottom floor has a nice lounge and "business center" (desk with a printer and 2 archaic computers) and breakfast. After dropping our luggage in the room, and being shocked by the size of the room, I loaded up Yelp to see what others said about it, and when I checked in it popped up a notice that I'd earned a free bottle of wine for checking in. Surprise! So imagine my *disgust* when I stopped by the desk on our way out to ask about it and was told by a surly (to be polite) woman that "Oh, you don't get that because you used Expedia. That's only for guests who book directly with us." Translation: you didn't pay enough for the room. Now, I didn't check in expecting a bottle of wine, and I'm not a big wine drinker so I probably wouldn't have even finished it, but she made me feel like a piece of garbage trying to beg for some booze. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel with a fair price

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Price, cleanliness, lobby
Cons: Random things in the bathroom that were broken (shower head)
Older but goodie. Very dependable, clean hotel. Quiet rooms, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Right in the Heart of All.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location!! Plus it was clean and quaint.
Cons: They are in the process of getting the Bar back up and running and that will be nice.
Location: Its location is ideal and it is close to everything.
I recently had the pleasure of staying at 'The Cartwright'. Although built in 1915, the hotel proved to be a great place to stay during our 4 days in San Fran. The property had been excellently maintained over the years and as was expected, the rooms were smaller than those of a hotel built today, however the quaint ambiance more than made up for the smaller rooms. The seating area with fire-place was warm and a great place to just sit and relax. We were out and about most all of the time anyway, and when we were at the hotel, all of the staff made us feel as very appreciated guests. The downtown location was close to all and I really enjoyed my stay and would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the city

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Cons: A simple continental breakfast would be nice!
Location: We walked the city, visited sites and met with friends!
We celebrate my husband's birthday after Christmas each year with a night in the city. The Cartwright had a reasonable rate, great location, clean and friendly. No breakfast or extras included, but perfect for a night in the city, Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Bad experience with both the hotel and expedia

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: The hotel and expedia should talk to each other on the phone after the correction and fax as follow up so guests do not need to wait in the lobby.
Location: Location is alright and the area is not that good.
The rooms were reserved with my friend's name who booked the hotels for us. For some reason, she was not able to input my name on the reservation because the expedia web site did not have that feature. When I tried to check in the hotel did not allow me. I had to wait for my friend to contact expedia who told my friend that it was taken care of by faxing the hotel in 15 minutes. But they never sent the fax to the hotel. So I sat there for half hour and called my friend again. My friend called expedia again and who found out that they did not send the fax. They finally called the hotel. All this wait is more than an hour and we had wasted by sitting in the lobby with the luggage.