Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Free Parking in San Francisco!!! A plus

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Great front desk service!!! With a map of the area pinpointing to walking distance things to do such as taking the cable car and walking to chinatown... And parking...Free.... Awesome!!! Super clean spacious room with microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and iron board... Great location also...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Great Hotel for the price with a centralized locat

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Great staff, very helpful since we were new to the area
Cons: had a cheap feel to it although the price was great given the circumstances
Location: fishermans wharf was not far at all which is where we spent most of our time. Restaurants, bars were right around the corner and a cheap Uber whereve
We had a nice little stay at Castle Inn. While the room was not top of the line, they more than made up for it with the excellent staff and overall size of the room was fantastic. We were very pleased with how close everything is, we were traveling from Ohio and did not have a car so having everything so close and within walking distance that worked out nicely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good location and free parking

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Parking and location
Cons: Room needed updating and sound proofing. Door had gaps, so if anyone was walking by and talking, it was very disruptive
Location: Location was close to transportation, China town and had restaurants nearby, within walking distance
Basic hotel that had fridge and microwave, however in need of upgrading. I did notice that other rooms had been renovated, so it just could be that I was in a room that needed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice affordable hotel for low maintenance people.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Free parking right under the building, which is super convenient for a crowded city like San Fran. Receptionist was very nice. Room and bathroom was surprisingly very clean and fresh than you would expect. Easy temperature control AC unit. Lots of places to eat nearby and a laid back bar (Shanghai bar) on the adjacent street. 10 minutes walk to Chinatown where you can stuff your face for $10-15 and 15 minutes walk to Fisherman wharf. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Cons: New beds
Great place as usual and the remodel is fabulous but needs new beds...at least in room 112.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Safe and Clean Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Place, price, room, staff and breakfast
Cons: They changed Wi-Fi password without telling us. We don't how to call to staff from our room.
Location: Safe place, good restaurants, transportation within 5 minutes by walk
This hotel is in safe area and convenient to go to anyplace. Maybe the hotel has renovated, so room was clean and comfortable. Actually we didn't expect too much, but room, place, staff and breakfast...everything was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and simple

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Nice clean quiet room lots of restaurants in walking distance
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Alt aber dennoch sauber.

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Parkplaetze, WLAN
Cons: Hotel ist alt, abgewohnt, neue Handtuecher und Bettwaesche
Location: Alcatraz, Fahrraeder ausleihen, Lombard street
Wir hatten drei Naechte im Castle in gebucht und sind soweit zufrieden. Das Preis- Leistungsverhaeltnis passt. Das Hotel ist leider etwas alt, aber dafuer sauber. Ausreichend Parkplaetze vorhanden und fruehzeitiger Check- in moeglich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location is ideal

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: remodel the carpets and furniture also
Location: Polk is full of local goodies. Broadway leads to North Beach area for fancy restaurants.
One of the better locations. One you park your car at their free parking, you can walk on Polk street where there are lots of local coffee shops and restaurants. Walgreens is right there also. You can also walk on broadway to get to North beach area or China town. We stayed in room 226 which was just remodeled. Bathroom and shower were brand new. Chairs and carpet were still old, but hey this is not Vegas. SF hotels are for sleeping and showering.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location restaurants

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Location: We only stayed one night, we walked to China town. However, the hotel was centrally location, you could take the bus to other area in the bay area.
The room was newly remodel, staff was verify helpful with giving recommendations site seeing.