Ratings based on 1,158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Pleasant surprise

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The look of the motel from the road doesn't do it justice. While the room is a little outdated the bathroom and kitchenette areas were really nicely refurbished to give a modern look. Hotel is within easy walk to the Wharf areas. Bonus is free parking in this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Loved this hotel! Perfect little place right in the midst of city living. Parking was a little tight because we have a SUV but I was so impressed they didn't charge for parking, that that's what initially drew us to this hotel. We will DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend to our friends! Little side note that doesn't affect stay at all, but Next time I'll bring my own pillow though, woke up with a bit of a kink. 😉
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Dirty, towels had hairs in the. Bed had bed bugs. Got bit several times. Fridge didn't work. Microwave worked, parking was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I'd stay here again 🙂

Posted Nov 24, 2016
My kids enjoyed their stay. I liked the price, location, free parking, and how quiet it was at night. The cleanliness was great, too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Location: The location is on a busy street hence 24/7 traffic noise
Helpful staff gave great directions so we were ensured a good stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern Illinois

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location, free parking, updated bathrooms.
Cons: "Lobby" / Front desk area was a bit claustrophobic. Continental breakfast was extremely minimal & had to be taken back to the room to eat.
Location: Walking distance to the Bay & Fisherman's Wharf.
This was a good compromise between the high-prices of most hotels this close to the action & the cheaper rates of those far away. It was clean & comfortable & safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Regensburg

Zentrales Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Die Lage, das nette Personal
Cons: Frühstücksraum
Location: Fishermann's Wharf in 15 Minuten zu Fuß. Pubs in direkter Umgebung. Cable Car und Bushaltestelle in der Nähe
Ein- und Auschecken sehr schnell und sehr freundlich. Zimmer und Frühstück typisch amerikanisch und o.k. Wir hatten Glück und Zimmer war sehr ruhig. Einkaufsmöglichkeit und Pubs in der Umgebung. Der nette Herr am Empfang gab uns sofort eine Map mit Informationen und Tickets für Stadtrundfahrt. Hatten in SF noch keinen Mietwagen da es hieß es gäbe keine Parkplätze in SF. Bei diesem Hotel wäre ein Parkplatz sicher gewesen. Für 3 Übernachtungen und Sightseeing gutes Hotel. Wir nahmen den Kaffee und Gebäck morgens mit ins Zimmer zum Frühstücken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dated room

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: It is a great location close to transportation.
The room and hotel are dated. My allergies acted up mainly due to the old carpeting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and affordable!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location, price, free parking, free breakfast, free WiFi, friendly staff, and I cannot stress location enough.
Cons: The noise when entering the hotel. LOL! There's a loud ding every time someone leaves/comes on the property. You can't hear it from your rooms, though
Location: Tons of great restaurants, bars, and stores all within walking distance. Great location, and easy for uber or to have a car in SF
Parking is free for one car, but parking can sometimes suck. However, the location is phenomenal! I'm so thankful I did not stay in Union Square as that area is a zoo and way over priced. Uber is cheaper to pick up from this hotels location, and lots of bars and restaurants on Polk St right off the hotel. Even complimentary breakfast was good, especially being free because it's expensive in general anywhere in that vicinity to eat. Staff was friendly and helpful, and hotel room was clean and very useful with fridge and microwave. Had a great time staying there and if I visit again, I'd go back to Castle Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location great price

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Perfect location with a short distance walk to great restaurants and bars. 15 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf.
Great and clean hotel for a good price with very helpful and friendly staff and place to park our car.