Ratings based on 4,495 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, easy to comute from there

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice hotel overall. Clean room, good furniture, hotel in a good condition. Nice to get the free coffee / tea / cookies / pop corn when you come back from a visit. The hotel is well located close to Union Square so it is easy to reach your destination from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Right on a cable car line, next to Union Sq.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The Chancellor served my purposes well - great location. It is right on a cable car line, so if the dinging of the cable car bell bothers you, it might not be the best fit for you. Convenient to restaurants, diners, a Walgreen's, and Chinatown. Though I rented a car, I spent most of my time walking the neighborhood. It's also convenient to shopping. While the room was a bit cramped, it was just fine for sleeping. The staff is fabulous, very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel central cable car just across the road.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: central position
room clean and comfortable coffee and cookies when you want. breakfast good value staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Almost perfect stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great location with friendly and helpful staff. All the little extras made this place from the pillow menu to free cookies, fruit and coffee. Rooms super clean albeit small due to older building but that's all you need in this city. We slept with windows open as no air con but had an internal facing window so noise wasn't a problem. Overall great for the price in this city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MB, Canada

Nice hotel right in the heart of Union Square

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Location was fantastic right in Union Square, within walking distance of lots of attractions. Room was smaller but clean, very nice staff, but with no air conditioning the room was hot during the day, though cools off decently at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Room is petit but extremely clean. Comfortable bed

Posted Jun 25, 2017
You can't find better location. Few steps to major transportation and shopping. Concierge is helpful for sightseeing tour booking. Comfortable beds. Extremely clean rooms and bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for a short stay.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Our room was small but well kept. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Self parking right around the corner. Located a short distance from BART and cable cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, VA

Fantastic Union Square Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Concierge was very helpful. We were able to get all over the city with ease. The hotel has great character. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Close to shopping centers

Posted Jun 23, 2017
They were very accommodating and friendly. Helpful with dining areas near by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Comfortable, reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Location / Staff
Cons: No air conditioning. Ceiling fan helped, but had to open window for fresh air (exposing yourself to voices and noise from street).
Location: Walking distance from essentially any tourist attraction if you're in good enough shape!
Incredible location (center of Union Square) with very friendly staff. Allowed us to check-in early without issue.