Ratings based on 3,704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Posted Aug 31, 2015
We were on the 2nd floor and it got a bit noisy at night, but nothing some earplugs couldn't take care of! The staff was great, room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: I like the small, quaint hotel feel.
Location: If you like to shop and eat, this is the place for you; stops and restaurants everywhere. Huge versions of mall stores, i.e. Victory Secrets, Macys.
Spent 3 nights and it was most enjoyable. Room was a little small, but it is on Union Square in an old building, so that was completely understandable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walls are very thin

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Walls are so think, you can hear everything. But the restaurant served great breakfast and lunch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Lovely old-world charm, as befitting a building dating from a more gracious era.
Cons: Any form of air conditioning
The weather was exceptionally hot, which made the room's ceiling fan inadequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Was NOT Impressed! Don't stay here!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: To be honest.. NOTHING!
Cons: The parking rates, Cleanliness of the bathroom and the smell of the bathroom, getting A/C for the rooms.
Location: Right in the heart of Union Square. Everything to do right outside the hotel doors.
We booked the hotel through Expedia for a last min one night stay in the city. I normally do my research and browse Tripadvisor before booking to see actual hotel travelers photos and reviews. Since we were rushed I went off the 4.3/5 rating that was listed on the site. When we arrived we were told each hotel room had great views. Our view was a brick wall. The room was small and hot! Almost like being in a prison cell. They have an A/C wall fixture in the room and when we called the front desk to ask how it worked they said the hotel had NO A/C and they would bring an extra fan if we liked. They brought the fan to us with the cord hanging, it was just very unprofessional. The carpet was coming up in the room and the corners had dirt, candy wrappers etc all in that area that was exposed. The bathroom smelled gross. Almost like a men's restroom/ urinal. It smelled of urine and didn't seem clean at all. We didn't even want to use the bathroom. The bed was hard and still. At least the pillows were comfortable. PARKING is about 40 bucks if you parked it yourself which is a block away. You would have to walk all the way back with your bags. We opted for valet which was about 53 bucks and because we had a truck they charged us an additional $11 on top of that. This was PER DAY charge. That's CRAZY! I would personally NEVER stay at this hotel again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Tina Keramari - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you found things unacceptable during your stay and I would like to try and see if there was anything I could do to make things better. Regarding the fixture you saw on the wall, that is actually the heating system for the hotel not an A/C unit, many of the boutique hotels in San Francisco do not have air-conditioning. I will definitely talk to housekeeping department in regards to how the fan was brought up and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. I know from personal experience, nothing is worse than something not meeting expectations. I know that the parking can seem a bit pricey but we actually are on the lower side when it comes to the prices for parking around Union Square. Once again I am terribly sorry your stay was a disappointment. Please let me know what I can do to turn your experience around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and good location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Needed a last minute hotel room in SF went online looking for central location. Reviews and price were good so we booked. The room was very clean! The bed and pillows so comfortable, it is one of the best nights sleep I have had in s hotel. Front desk staff friendly no hidden fees. I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Very Comfortable hotel. Great location.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Nice idea to have complimentary cookies, fruit and water in lobby. Tea/ coffee in evenings
Top location on Union Square. Close to good shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Convenient

Posted Aug 22, 2015
An older hotel with a terrific staff! It has been around a while, but the staff obviously cares about your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC

Posted Aug 19, 2015
the hotel is nice and the staff is very nice. The rooms don't have AC so it is very hot during the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

Great hotel in a excellent location.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Arrived hot and sweaty at 10 am after a being up since 2 am, just looking to leave our bags there till check in time. "Surprise your room is ready! This great service continued during our 4 night stay. The rooms are not that small, very clean, great bed and towels. Fridge get's really cold too. Yes the front is noisy but that comes with the great location. Had delicious egg's Benny their one morning also. This hotel is a rare combination of character, comfort and class.