Ratings based on 4,694 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice hotel at Union square

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Lovely hotel. Walking distance to many sights. Fresh good coffee and cookies every morning was a very nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel, right by Union Square

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Had it's own character
Lovely hotel, very homely but central, staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with the best location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Had a wonderful week long stay at the Chancellor. Staff were awesome and the lobby coffee machine flowed 24 hours. Cable car is right outside the front door and garage parking is one block up. One and only complaint, no Air Coditioning. Not a deal breaker in SFO due to the average weather but room was still a little warm. Only ate breakfast twice but it was very good and reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT HOTEL CENTRAL TO UNION SQUARE.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
EXCELLENT HOTEL NEAR UNION SQUARE CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING IN SAN FRANCISCO. ALSO LOVED THE COMPLIMENTARY WATER AND COFFEE. ANGELO
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Lovely hotel...great location!!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location!!! Friendly staff. Reasonably priced.
Location: Great location!!! Lots of shopping and restaurants close by. Close to Union Square and the trolley cars.
We travelled from Ontario Canada to San Francisco and stayed at the Chancellor Hotel from Sept 17-22nd. All hotel staff we encountered were incredibly friendly, helpful and approachable. Special thanks to Annie & Mike, Harris, Kendal and Alicia for all of their help during our stay. It is an older hotel with lots of character and very reasonably priced. Our room was everything we needed - it was clean & spacious and had a mini fridge. We were a little concerned that there was no air conditioning but that was not an issue while we were there - the ceiling fan and opened window left the room at a comfortable temperature. The hotel offered a $7 coupon to be used at the hotel restaurant/bar for days you requested not to have housekeeping services (on those days, you could still call down to request clean towels, toiletries as needed) Since we weren't in the room much, we requested housekeeping services cancelled for 3 of the 5 days we were there. We found the location of the Chancellor to be perfect for us. It was within walking distance to many areas/attractions - close to Union Square, 20-30 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf, Little Italy, AT&T Centre etc. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for walking up steep hills everywhere you go. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend this hotel based on our experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Comfortable, quiet hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I was impressed by how quiet the room was, despite being off Powell St. The room was small, but had all that we needed and then some. Great, old San Francisco feel. Absolutely excellent location by Union Square, great shops and restaurants, Chinatown, and more, no doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Older hotel but great location

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel was older but had lots of character. Room and bath were a little small but very clean. Staff was very helpful and polite. The best thing about this hotel was the location. Cable cars were right in front and it was convenient to walk to many things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great Location to see the city.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The location. One block from Union Square. Walking distance to dining, transportation, and all modes of shopping, from Macey's to Walgreens.
Cons: Maybe remove some room furniture. The rooms are SMALL and 3 chairs, a desk, a table, two nightstands, a floor lamp, and dresser were a bit too much.
Location: You're one block room Union Sq. so shopping is unlimited. Cable car, streetcar, and buses are all within a short walk to get anywhere in the city.
This hotel had maybe the best staff I've come into contact with lately and being located right on Powell St. you can't bear the location. Their restaurant, tho somewhat small,offered a great breakfast. We had a nice view from the 12th floor but I did see other rooms that were looking at just roofs and be prepared, the rooms are somewhat small. Maybe a little too much furniture in such a limited space. NO AC and that's something to take into consideration because it meant keeping the window open which allowed a fair amount of street noise into the room. I lost count of the number of police / fire sirens I heard in three days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Very nice hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 13, 2017
I love San Francisco. The hotel is very nice. The decor is historical and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Free cookies, free fruit, free coffee, free rubber duck, iced water, lovely staff.
Cons: The A/C Label what fruit is in the iced water, the cucumber and lime are similar in appearance
Location: Cable Cars, Pier 39 (although this was less interesting than we thought) Alcatraz trips (book this in advance), China Town
Our room was on the top (15th) floor and was a good size, the bathroom was arranged in such a way that the door rubbed against the toilet on opening and closing and the A/C was basic, I wouldn't want to stay here in the summer, as it was we just slept with the window open which was fine (although the cable for the cable cars starts up at 6:30ish and is quite noisy)