Ratings based on 3,912 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, FL

Good option. Great location!!!!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
It was a cute hotel. Very clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. It was a little odd that there was no central a/c but the fan and cracking open the window kept us cool at night. Room was very small with very comfortable bed, even though it was also small. Most important part for me was that it was clean and cute. Also, you can't beat the location!!!!! Right in the heart of downtown steps away from awesome reataurants and great shopping. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

立地がよいのでフットワークも軽い♪

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: サンフランシスコは総じてホテルが高い。その中でもかなりリーズナブルなホテルなのではないか。 それでいて、立地もよく部屋も快適というコスパの高さ。
Location: とにかく立地がいい。ユニオンスクエアはすぐ目の前で、夜遅く食事や買い物をして帰っても問題なかった。 数軒隣に地ビールの飲めるスポーツバー、美味しいレストラン、アウトレット商品満載のDSWなどもあり、買い物したい人には満足できる。 もちろんケーブルカーのアクセスもいい。
古いホテルだけれど、メンテナンスも行き届き水回りも問題なく、とても快適に過ごせた。 ただ、部屋は狭い。 ケーブルカーが目の前を通るからか、部屋に耳栓が用意されていて、不安に思たけれど、一度もうるさいと感じたこともなかった。 ロビーでは常にコーヒーやお茶、スナックをいただくこともでき、それ以外にアルコールも選べるウェルカムドリンクチケットのサービスもあった。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Jättebra läge och bra rum.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Jag bodde på 14:e våningen och hörde inte ett ljud av trafiken. Rena fina rum med walkincloset. Åker gärna tillbaka!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Traditional hotel in the heart of San Fran

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Comfortable rooms, good service and a great, central location.
Cons: The bathrooms could do with an upgrade.
Location: Union Sq - shopping. Powell and Hyde St Cable Car (literally right outside the front door) and restaurants. Also very close to the BART Powell St stop
I've stayed at the Chancellor on multiple occasions over the past 15 years. We originally selected it for its central location in San Francisco - opposite Union Square and right the Cable Car line. The Chancellor is a smaller, older hotel in the Art Deco style. Since we stayed last time the rooms have been upgraded which was nice and now include WiFi and USB ports for charging. The hotel isn't big and the rooms aren't as generous as some you will find but are very comfortable and reasonably priced for such a central location. The staff were all very helpful. If you're looking for a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price in a central location you can't go wrong in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hidden Treasure

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Centrally located to attractions and great restaurants.
Did not know what to expect...but I was more than pleasantly surprised. Typically used to staying in know hotels (Hilton, Marriott, Holiday Inn etc.), but have never stayed at a boutique hotel. The Chancellor is centrally located in the heart of Union Square within easy walking distance to Chinatown, Italy-North Beach, Ferry Building and Fisherman's Wharf. Hotel is charming and the staff wonderful. Fresh morning coffee & cookies a nice touch! The one thing I did notice...if you are traveling as a family (not on business or an adult vacay), boutique hotels are probably not a good fit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from 日本

便利な立地で十分なサービス、満足度が高いです

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: 立地の良さ。
Cons: 部屋によっては空調がよくないかもしれません。私が滞在していた部屋では備え付けの空調がうまく機能せず、クローゼット内にあったオイルヒーターで暖を取りました。とはいえ、築100年のホテルですので、仕方がないと思います。
仕事でサンフランシスコに滞在した際、3泊利用しました。大変満足しており、次回また利用したいと思っています。 (1)駅から近い。BARTのPowell駅から徒歩5分程度です。上り坂ですが緩やかですので、荷物を持っての移動でもさほど苦痛ではありません。 (2)便利な立地。ホテルはケーブルカーが走っているPowell Streetに面しています。ケーブルカーに乗ればフィッシャーマンズワーフ等へ行けますので観光に便利です。ホテルの目の前がユニオンスクエアで、その周りにはデパートやお店がたくさんあります。にぎやかな場所なので、夜に駅からホテルへ戻る時も、道が明るいので安心です。食事をする場所にも全く困りません。ホテルの隣が24時間営業のスーパーWallGreenです。チョコレートやマグカップ程度のお土産ならばここで買えます。 (3)ゴージャスではないが十分なサービス。室内にミニバーはありませんが、ホテルの1階ロビーに24時間利用できる飲み物サービスがあります。コーヒー、紅茶(種類が多い)、水があり、紙コップに入れて室内に持って行って飲めます。クッキーとリンゴが常時置いてあり、朝はマフィンもあります。1階にレストランがあり、そこで食事もできます。 特別な機会にリッチな旅行を楽しみたい方には物足りないかもしれませんが、お仕事で滞在する方には十分なホテルで、リーズナブルだと思います。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great little boutique hotel close to action

Posted Jan 23, 2016
We had a great stay. Hotel staff were wonderful, very welcoming and friendly. The hotel was clean. Rooms were small, but that's what you get in a boutique hotel. Would definitely stay here again. And the apples were delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Pretty nice hotel, could have been better

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfy, cute
Ladies at the front desk weren't too smiley or friendly like I expected. I told them it was my boyfriend's birthday and anniversary weekend, nothing happened because of it, like other reviews boasted about. Bed was comfy, room was small and sweet. We slept good. Restaurant was pretty OK. The parking was really expensive which sucked. Overall, pretty good experience, but definitely had some downfalls. Payed for a cheaper hotel the next night, and it was a lot better. Eh, probably would go somewhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Great little hotel - would definitely stay here again! Really comfy bed and pillows
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Highly recommended all around, staff, food, location can't be beat