Ratings based on 4,133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, clean room, clean bathroom
Cons: Overall a lovely little hotel
A little strange that my room had 2 twin beds, was OK, but an unusual arrangement...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel right in downtown

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, cleanliness. Staff was also pleasant to deal with.
Cons: Should update to air conditioning, rooms get pretty hot at night. Parking could be improved. Room service fees are very, very high.
Location: Close to a number of good restaurants, only about 10 minutes from the fishermans wharf area. About an hour or so from Sonoma.
Stayed for about 4 nights, hotel was nice, comfortable rooms. Good size rooms, clean bathrooms, comfortable bed and pillows. They have a pillow menu that you can choose from. Room service charges are pretty outrageous and the food isn't that great. But its available. No air conditioning, I woudlnt recommend a summer stay since it was pretty hot at night while being under 55 and below outside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Better than most

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Like many, this is a well located hotel in the Union Square precinct. Surrounded by middle and high end shopping and plenty of restaurants and bars. Well served by public transport. Unlike many, this value for money small hotel excels. The staff are as friendly and as helpful as could be. Always greeted with a smile at the front desk, the concierge was both helpful and knowledgeable and the happy hour barman was very happy. The room was quite large, in our opinion (we were in 1309) , contrary to some other reviews. There was ample room around the great night’s sleep comfortable big bed. A couple of big chairs gave us seating options whilst in the room (hardly ever – why would you be when you are staying in Union Square). There was a TV with heaps of channels. A walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangars, an iron and ironing board and a safe. The bathroom was plenty big enough with lots of hot water but little water pressure – our only concern – but it’s an old hotel, we were 13 floors up and the bright side was that the bathroom never got too steamy. We heard very little noise, again contrary to others, We chose to take the $7 offered for not having our room cleaned daily and spent it wisely with the very happy, happy hour barman – along, it seemed, with most of the other hotel guests. It was a great, though too short stay and we would definitely stay there again if we ever find ourselves back in San Francisco.
Cons: Little water pressure – our only concern – but it’s an old hotel, we were 13 floors up and the bright side was that the bathroom never got too steamy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albany australia

Heritage Hotel In Central Location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
What a find! The hotel is situated in the city centre and a stones throw from Union Square. For,shopping livers it is opposite Saks on Fifth Avenue and Macy's is also in view from the hotel. it is only a 5 min walk,to huge Westfield shopping centre. A very short walk takes you to the tram stop and hop on hop,off bus areas. The rooms in this boutique hotel are not large but are very comfortable, especially the bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Located right off Union Square, a few blocks from the BART station and in the heart of the tourist district of San Francisco.
The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. I have no complaints. I loved the ceiling fan and being able to open the window to let fresh air in. The bathroom was perfectly clean and beautifully tiled. Hair dryer provided. There was even a safe and an umbrella at the back of the closet - great attention to every detail a traveler might need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location near shops and dinning

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Good location but loud at night when window is open. No air conditioner in room so room got hot at times. Cable cars to busy up use, I don't recommend buying a pass.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Optimal gelegen, Mini Betten die auch noch wackeln

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Lage
Cons: Betten und Bad
Location: Lage am union square optimal und guter Ausgangspunkt für all SanFran
Perfekte Lage des Hotels, kleine enge Zimmer, sehr kleine Badezimmer, wacklige, kleine Betten und freundlicher Service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KS

Nice hotel, friendly staff, good rates

Posted Oct 16, 2016
First time to San Francisco, wish I would have stayed closer to fishermans wharf as that was where more activities/bus departures were located. Hotel was great though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Safe and good base for our explorations

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel seemed safe, and the location was central to everything.
Cons: Air conditioning would be a good addition if at all possible.
Location: Union square has great restaurants and shopping opportunities. It was easily accessible when we signed up for bus tours to pick us up at the hotel.
Air conditioning would have made this hotel a perfect experience. We were uncomfortable when we came in every night, but we ended up leaving the window open. I don't know how safe that was, but it worked!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Handy position, tiny room

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Very handy to everything in downtown San Francisco.
Great position on Powell St and handy to everything but if you're used to big hotel rooms, this is not the hotel for you. The room was clean and adequately equipped but there was way too much large furniture- 2 heavy wooden chairs and a table plus a tv cabinet, desk and desk chair. This furniture was just not necessary and made the room cramped. The 2 single beds in our rooms were very comfortable but they were very high off the ground and even at 5ft 5 I found it hard to get up onto the bed. We moved one of the chairs into the strangely oversized walk in closet. The bathroom was tiny and the door only opened half way. The bath/shower was very high and rather difficult to step into. I understand that this is an old hotel but I have stayed in another old hotel on Powell St, which had a considerably larger room. On the plus side, there was always a supply of tea, coffee, cookies, muffins and in the evenings, popcorn, in the lobby.